April Travel Protection
Overall Rating 4.21 out of 5
Overall Rating 4.21 out of 5 617 Reviews Since 2013

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Choice
    Review Received:
    March 21, 2020
    Gordon from FL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Trip was cancelled by carrier and expenses paid.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Choice
    Review Received:
    March 12, 2020
    Jean from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Actually, I cancelled the policy within the 10 day window because I was traveling to China and did not think you would keep the policy open for an extended time. To make sure, I called and spoke with an understanding customer service representative. She also did not think that I could extend the policy for more than 1 year. When I re-booked my trip to China, the leave date was 14 months away. I have not purchases new travel insurance yet.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Choice
    Review Received:
    March 3, 2020
    Colleen from WA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We did submit a claim for "trip interruption" as we had to leave the tour in Murren, Switzerland due to altitude issues. We re-joined several days later, but had charges for a different hotel, etc., during that time.
    Submitted the claim in October. It is still "under review." We're assuming that they're hoping we'll get tired of waiting and give up???

    Review Updated: 04/01/2020

    After 4/5 months, April finally sent us a letter stating they will not cover the expenses. I acknowledge that the reason they gave seems valid in that we did not have a letter from a physician verifying that my husband really was having difficulty breathing at the high altitude we were at. If anything like this should ever happen again, we'll ensure that we see a doctor ... and then they can pay for that expense as well.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Choice
    Review Received:
    March 2, 2020
    Ben from NY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I uploaded the documents 5 days, I see that no one has reviewed them as of yet. However, it was only 3 business days. April's claim process can be confusing and the people who you get on the phone don't know anything about filling out the documents.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Choice
    Review Received:
    March 1, 2020
    Marcia from CT Verified Squaremouth Customer

    There was some confusion in the policy due to different laws about primary coverage in CT. The company rep had to research the answer and did a good job of getting back to me

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Choice
    Review Received:
    February 25, 2020
    Taylor from NJ Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Slow reply. Unclear reply. Not much of assistance in transit. Waiting days for email reply.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Choice
    Review Received:
    February 22, 2020
    Sandra from WA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    It was very reassuring to have this travel insurance. The premium was reasonable and signing up was easy. I would highly recommend this to anyone traveling.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Choice
    Review Received:
    February 12, 2020
    Patricia from WA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Making the arrangement to purchase the insurance was very easy and quick and very reasonable. I did not have to file a claim

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Choice
    Review Received:
    February 5, 2020
    Mark from MO Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Purchasing was fine.

    Just filed a claim so don’t know results yet.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Choice
    Review Received:
    February 2, 2020
    Private from MA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Our vacation was on a cruise ship. We missed 2 ports of call due to weather. When we returned home, I called to file a claim. I was told that my plan did not cover missed ports, however it would have if I had purchased their cruise plan. It’s frustrating because I was never given that option through Squaremouth when picking my plan. If I had been, I would have gotten a significant amount of money to cover my 2 missed ports of call. We primarily cruise, so without this option, I will not be using Squaremouth again.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful