April Travel Protection
Overall Rating 4.2 out of 5
Overall Rating 4.2 out of 5 621 Reviews Since 2013

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Economy Plan
    Review Received:
    January 2, 2015
    Donald Andrew from WA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    So far am not satisfied with service from April Travel Protection.Difficulty communicating with them internationally and they did not seem to understand my situation which was rather unique. Was sent information that was incorrect and confusing. They did not seem to be very professional and was transferred to various agents. Though my claim is yet to be completed I am hopeful that in the end they will prove themselves to be a reputable travel insurance company. You are free to get back with me as I took your advice in contracting with April. You gave them a very good recommendation and I trusted you.

    Response From:
    April Travel Protection
    April Travel Protection:
    Janet Garces
    Response Received:
    January 13, 2015

    We thank Donald for entrusting his travel insurance needs with April Travel Protection. We take great pride in our exceptional customer service and are truly disappointed Donald feels we were unable to meet his expectations.

    Donald reached out to April's 24 hour call center three days after he learned his cruise was cancelled. Basic information was obtained and, a case was opened. After taking the time to review all call and email communications, I can confirm that our team was courteous, professional, and competent throughout.

    While multiple organizations were engaged in the coordination efforts to return this cruise lines' guests to their home cities or their next destinations, Donald made the decision to extend his stay abroad. Throughout this period, each company was regularly communicating with Donald and one another via phone and email.

    Keeping within the terms and conditions of the policy, Donald's claim has been finalized. We were able to maximize his benefit allowances including:

    Trip Interruption - for his airfare to get to his next destination along with the applicable ground transfers which allowed him to resume his post cruise plans;

    Trip Delay - due to the interruption of his trip while getting to his next destination and;

    Missed Connection due to the cancellation of the sailing to cover accommodations and meal expenses

    We understand that Donald believes that he should receive additional compensation to, in essence, repay him for the 2-week substitute vacation he chose to take when his original cruise abroad went awry. However, travel insurance is here to repay policyholders for non-refundable items that were cancelled or unexpected expenses for travel disruptions. In this case, the cruise line naturally refunded him for the cruise that they were unable to provide. Had Donald chosen to return to the states within a timely fashion like the rest of his follow passengers had done, he most certainly would not have had additional expenses out of pocket. The fact that he chose to remain in a 5-star hotel for 2 weeks and then fly back home on his originally scheduled Business Class Ticket put him in a situation where his policy limits were reached.

    Response From:
    Squaremouth:
    Brandi Morse
    Response Received:
    January 2, 2015

    Squaremouth has contacted the customer to open a Zero Complaint Case. Squaremouth has contacted April Travel Protection to determine what has happened with this claim.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    21 out of 24 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Choice
    Review Received:
    December 16, 2014
    edna from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I had to cancel for medical reasons I mailed the claim on
    12/6/14. Did not hear from you yet.

    Edna Herrmann
    drednah@aol.com

    please let me submit review

    Was this review helpful to you?

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Trip Cancellation Plan
    Review Received:
    November 29, 2014
    Margery from NJ Verified Squaremouth Customer

    The person I spoke to was very helpful and pleasant.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Choice
    Review Received:
    November 28, 2014
    Scott from CO Verified Squaremouth Customer

    After purchase, price of trip increased, so I contacted APRIL to increase coverage. They did not get back to me until the third call, some months later, and finally did increase coverage. It was a poor experience with customer service.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    24 out of 28 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Choice
    Review Received:
    November 19, 2014
    b from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Your survey is inadequate for someone who did not access the coverage....there should be a selection for "didn't use it". Since I'm not filing a claim I really have NO opinion on your coverage. The store front help was excellent and I appreciated the range of choices. I always purchase this type of insurance when traveling international. I chose this particular insurance for the coverages....they suited my need.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Multi-Trip Plan Universal
    Review Received:
    November 5, 2014
    jj from WA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    The response to my initial email, following the incident for which I submitted a claim, was reasonably prompt. So far I don't know what the result of the claim will be, however.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Multi-Trip Plan Universal
    Review Received:
    November 5, 2014
    william from TX Verified Squaremouth Customer

    This is the best travel policy I ever had. It is very affordable, provides excellent coverage, customer service is great and reimbursement of expenses is prompt. April Travel Protection is truly a 5 Star company that I would be proud to recommend to any traveler.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Choice
    Review Received:
    October 13, 2014
    Michael from NJ Verified Squaremouth Customer

    April representatives were very helpful and understanding. Our claim
    was reviewed and a determination was made very quickly....No
    hassle at all.
    I would recommend April Travel Protection to other travelers.
    If we travel in the future, I definitely would buy the April Travel
    Protection Policy

    Was this review helpful to you?

    57 out of 65 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Multi-Trip Plan Elite
    Review Received:
    October 7, 2014
    Kath from NY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    This should be zero star, not one. Appalling. Absolutely the worst insurance policy service I have ever experienced in 50 years. The front end people were fine, but as soon as the claim was sent back to head office, they showed themselves to be incompetent, uncaring, and uninformed. I would never ever use these people again or recommend them to others. They left me open-mouthed with their inability to deal with simple, basic insurance issues and most of all with their complete and utter lack of communication.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    111 out of 120 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Choice
    Review Received:
    October 1, 2014
    Hub from WA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Quick response from customer representative and medical bill have all been reimbursed within 30 days. Will definitely use APRIL again.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    59 out of 64 people found this review helpful