Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection
Overall Rating 4.36 out of 5
Overall Rating 4.36 out of 5 299 Reviews Since 2016

  • Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    October 9, 2017
    Gene from NY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I have bought Travel insurance. My trip has been interrupted due to hurricane IRMA.
    I supposed to fly to Ft. Lauderdale on 9/17/17 and stay in Florida till 9/17. I was able to get there on 9/16 and stayed till 9/21.
    I have contacted BHPT but the response was Trip Interruption covers for up to 150% of the trip cost, however there was $0.00 chosen as the trip cost."
    I clearly do not understand why would I buy insurance with not covering trip at all. I do remember that I have specified cost of air tickets.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    October 9, 2017
    Selena from CO Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Great process.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    October 4, 2017
    Cassandra from WA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I am amazed at Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection's response to my claim. I purchased the travel insurance when my husband and I took a cruise from Montreal to Boston. Since we are both on Medicare and Medicare does not cover us outside of the U.S., I felt that we needed some type of coverage while we were out of the country. Even though both of us are in good health, one can never be sure when some health calamity will strike. I had a previous experience on a cruise when I fainted (I think from eating too much and wearing tight clothes) and knew that going to to a cruise ship's medical infirmary was not cheap. I had also heard another horror story about someone who had fallen off the Great Wall of China and had to be medivacked to a hospital. So, I was sure we needed travel insurance. I chose Berkshire because they had a reasonable rate for our trip. During our trip, we did not lose luggage or have any kind of trip interruption. However, on day 5 of the cruise, I began feeling ill and thought I was running a temp. Sure enough, I went to the ship's infirmary early the next morning and was running a 103.3 F temperature. After swabbing my nose, the ship's doctor determined I had Influenza A and prescribed Tamiflu. That little exam with prescriptions turned out to be $360.10. We came home from the trip, both of us had to recover and when I was well enough, I agonized over submitting the claim to Berkshire. The forms were simple enough and I had all the documentation from the cruise. However, in my mind, I could think of all the minutia that Berkshire could require in addition to the cruise information. I am a worrier. I finally decided that I would submit the information from the cruise and forced myself to complete the information. I was delighted that I could fill out the PDF form online. So, that was one hurdle. I hate handwriting forms since I'm always sure that my handwriting will be illegible and will require additional information. I compiled all the information and faxed it on a Sunday afternoon. THE VERY NEXT DAY, Monday, I received an email that the full amount of my request had been transferred to my PayPal account. Did you get that? THE VERY NEXT DAY! I can't say enough good things about this experience. I highly recommend Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection and will use them again in the future.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    September 27, 2017
    vladimir from WA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I filed a claim three days ago - nothing happened yet

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    September 19, 2017
    Mark from AZ Verified Squaremouth Customer

    The only road between Sedona where we live and the Phoenix Sky Harbor is I 17. The drive is 2 hours at most. We left by van service at 245PM on 8/8/17 for a 730PM British Air flight to London that, at the time we left for the airport, had already been delayed to 10PM. While southbound on I 17 in the van a propane tanker truck had a blowout and caught fire ahead of us. The road was closed for 11 hours. We missed the flight. We called British Air before the flight took off to rebook (we were flying business class). They charged us $17,238 to rebook 2 people Phoenix>London>Johannesburg. On the morning of 8/9 I called BHTP claims. I was told I could submit a claim but it didn't look good...no coverage for events beyond your control that prevent you from getting to the airport, at best $500 IF the van service was a "common carrier." Not likely on that score. One would think this is exactly what would be covered. Guess not.

    Separately, there were two other "travel delay" claims during the trip. The claims forms ask for all sorts of arcane **** like "airline policies re delays," "how much did you spend on food during the delay?' Aren't they just going to pay the $500? Don't they have access to airline policies? You can be sure I will never, ever get another policy from BHTP. They are causing me to jump through needlessly difficult hoops. Even if they pay $500 on each of 3 claims it's still only half my premium. They came out ahead anyway.

    And I will not recommend them.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    71 out of 72 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    September 14, 2017
    Edith from NC Verified Squaremouth Customer

    As a writer I travel a lot, the benefit of being able to take your work with you. I've always purchased travel insurance, but never had to use it until recently. A canceled flight left me footing the expenses for cabs and a hotel, meals and such. I wondered whether I would actually get my money back.
    Well let me tell you I will now seek out using Berkshire Hathaway for as many of my travel needs as they provide! The claim form was easy, with multiple ways of submitting it, the information I was asked to provide wasn't at all unreasonable and, get this, I submitted my information in the morning and by that same afternoon I'd received an email letting me know that the entire thing was approved! No haggling, no questioning, no doubtful phone calls from customer service reps asking me to recount my story. The check arrived within 2 weeks. I am so happy, they put a smile on my face after what was quite an ordeal at the end of my trip. I would do a commercial for this company:) Couldn't recommend them more highly!

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    August 2, 2017
    matias from WA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    The claim process was smooth. And quick refund. Calling for medical advice when need was subpar; took too long wait on the phone and I was sent to a clinic where my kid could not be seen.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    July 25, 2017
    Yuki from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    i haven't filed a claim yet so don't have exoerience yet

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    July 13, 2017
    Marvin from AZ Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Very satisfied

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    June 30, 2017
    Deb from MD Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I have had medical claims before but was never asked for the amount of information being requested by Berkshire Hathaway. My departing air boarding pass from a month long trip -- really? A month later? Much more medical info than my primary medical insurance calls for.
    This policy was a more expensive policy because it seemed to have better coverage. I doubt I would buy BH again.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    35 out of 37 people found this review helpful