Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection
Overall Rating 4.29 out of 5
Overall Rating 4.29 out of 5 447 Reviews Since 2016

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    July 4, 2022
    Anonymous from PA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    4-6 weeks to process a claim is too long; 24-48 hours more appropriate

    Was this review helpful to you?

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    May 28, 2022
    JM from WA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We made two claims with BHTP associated with travel to Africa. The two claims gave us widely varying experiences with BHTP.

    The first claim was satisfactory - our luggage was delayed 48 hours, and after providing receipts for the replacement clothes we needed to acquire, BHTP efficiently reimbursed the expenses.

    The second claim was a very disappointing experience. My wife, who was 4 months pregnant at the time, suffered a fall and was taken to the emergency room. The ER staff assessed her and recommended that she undergo an ultrasound to ensure that the baby was unharmed by the fall. The ER gave us an all-up bill that we submitted to BHTP. The claim was rejected because the bill did not, in BHTP's opinion, provide enough detail for BHTP's liking as to the medical necessity of the ultrasound. BHTP then expected us to track down the specific OBGYN who conducted the ultrasound to have him write a detailed account as to the medical necessity of the procedure. We were unable to do so, and BHTP rejected the claim despite us otherwise providing overall documentation and billing from the ER itself. We appealed, and the appeal was also rejected, several weeks later.

    BHTP should not be in the business of providing insurance for international travel if they expect things to work everywhere like they do in the United States. If you do business in developing countries, you need to be flexible that sometimes the paperwork might not be to the same level as we might expect in the United States. Frankly, if you expect otherwise, you're in the wrong business. Beyond that, the "medical necessity" questioning (regarding obtaining an ultrasound at an ER for a pregnant woman following a fall) belies logic. Does BHTP seriously think that a mother would travel all the way to Africa for a recreational ultrasound? Do they think that we enjoyed getting an ultrasound in the middle of our vacation? This lack of logical reasoning by the claims adjusters is insane.

    I write this review from the point of view of someone who travels internationally extensively, having visited 115 countries -- as a seasoned international traveler, I will never obtain insurance from BHTP again and I would encourage any other serious traveler to similarly steer clear of this clueless operation.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    82 out of 82 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    May 3, 2022
    Susan from MT Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I contacted Berkshire Hathaway via email on 2/23 this year in regard to a doctor's appointment I had in Samara, Costa Rica and the associated medications I purchased there and have had no response. I was traveling for almost five months and decided to follow up when I returned. It wasnt a great deal of money I paid but I am disappointed that I was not contacted for further information.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    38 out of 39 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    April 30, 2022
    Sarah from MA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    They answered my questions via online chat and were responsive and gave clear answers.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare Value
    Review Received:
    April 17, 2022
    Bill from NJ Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I needed to get specific information about my policy in writing. The answer that I received back from the insurer simply stated if it's not in the list of excluded items it's included. I did not feel that answer was sufficient. It would only have taken a moment or two or the insurer to write a letter stating I had that specific coverage.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    18 out of 21 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare Value
    Review Received:
    April 8, 2022
    Hoovmark from IL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Good protection Policy for the cost.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    LuxuryCare
    Review Received:
    March 12, 2022
    Scott from FL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I did not file the claim myself. The 'Hospitel' medical staff in Bangkok made out the claim and submitted it directly, after I approved it.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    12 out of 18 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    March 1, 2022
    Mitchell from PA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I was barred from travelling by the CDC due to a positive COVID test result of my daughter. However, Berkshire Hathaway has stalled on processing my claim. They got back to me AFTER the 15 day window AND when I sent them the requested paperwork, they have not responded for over a month.
    I am on the verge of contacting you to file a complaint.
    Thanks, Mitchell Orenstein.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    58 out of 59 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    LuxuryCare
    Review Received:
    February 24, 2022
    Patricia from OH Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Filed my claim after my entire trip was canceled. Still waiting to hear the outcome of that claim.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    25 out of 30 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare Value
    Review Received:
    February 15, 2022
    Diana from TX Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Customer service was promptly responsive when I requested proof that my coverage included covid-related medical issues.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful