Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection
Overall Rating 4.35 Out of 5
Overall Rating 4.35 Out of 5
239 Reviews Since 2016

  • Overall Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    February 5, 2020
    Helene from NV Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Unfortunately my claim was refused due to the fact that I did not see a Doctor after not boarding the flight due to severe vomiting and stomach cramps. I just went home. I guess the moral of the story is, see a Doctor if you do not board your flight. I actually was at the airport, in the boarding line at my Gate when I felt extremely ill so i did have all intentions of taking my flight.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare Value
    Review Received:
    February 5, 2020
    Kathleen from WI Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Very efficient and helpful experience!

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    February 5, 2020
    Mehmood from IL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    -

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    February 2, 2020
    Boaz from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    This claim is taking a very long time, and looks like they’re trying to weasel out of it.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    January 29, 2020
    carol from NY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Do to an injury I was unable to travel the claim process was fast efficient and seamless. It took less than three weeks from the original contact requesting a claim form to full payment

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare Value
    Review Received:
    January 25, 2020
    Robert from WA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Traveling companion became seriously ill while on trip to Mexico. The BHTP-provided documents listed USA/Canada and international phone numbers to call for "Travel and Medical Assistance". The same document/same page also advised insureds to call BHTP assistance team (but no other phone number provided) to guide insureds to appropriate medical facility if necessary if on trip if require medical attention. In accordance with BHTP documents, I did call their international number to report the illness before contacting or engaging any medical professional. BHTP rep who answered phone was rather dismissive to our plight, advised that I only should have called that number if an insured needed to return to US (this was not obvious in their docs). At that time I did not know if that action would be necessary, since I had not yet engaged any medical professionals. She then advised me to simply engage local medical services, and to retain all copies of invoices, bills, receipts, etc associated with event for future claim submission purposes. She also advised me to call international number again if USA return became necessary before normal trip conclusion date. Bottomline: BHTP docs should be more precise regarding communication protocols regarding medical assistance and travel assistance. Rep I spoke with should be more professional and respectful.

    Review Updated: 02/22/2020

    Received claim settlement quicker than expected.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare Value
    Review Received:
    January 22, 2020
    Jill from NY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    clear coverage, did what I needed and at a reasonable cost

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare Value
    Review Received:
    January 14, 2020
    Robbie from ID Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I could not in good conscience recommend Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection to anyone purchasing travel insurance. I have used other companies based on Squaremouth's selection process and been delighted. In the case of Berkshire Hathaway, it was the least expensive option for our needs. My college-age daughter tore her ACL skiing before our trip and our entire trip had to be cancelled because of her surgery. I filed a claim immediately and called twice with questions. The paperwork to file a claim is extensive. I was required to prove I intended to take the trip even though I had the receipt demonstrating I had paid for it. The service representatives on the phone were not helpful. I have also sent email messages and received form answers. I am to hear about next steps on January 15. This is not the service I expect from a major company. I do have other comparisons. My daughter tore her other ACL in high school. We had two trips pending, one international. I had checks from another company within a week of filing my claim and lovely conversations with the individual handing my claim . I also picked that insurer using Squaremouth. Clearly your evaluation of the quality of companies has declined.

    Review Updated: 02/11/2020

    I received a refund in a timely fashion for a trip I did not take because of an injury my daughter sustained skiing. I felt the Berkshire Hathaway claim forms were onerous and that their help line was not of much assistance. But ultimately, they did pay the claim.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    December 15, 2019
    Chetan from MA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Submitting a claim for a travel delay requires a lot of paperwork. I don't think I'll be buying travel insurance in the future - I didn't realize I'd have to spend hours assembling documents for a $200 claim!

    Review Updated: 01/12/2020

    They reimbursed quickly but the form itself was cumbersome to submit. If they had a UI/UX expert take a look at the form design, it could be made easier for all future claimants. For example, there were numerous form fields that were not relevant to my claim. I had to call to clarify, and they said to ignore those fields. Again, that's fine - but it would be easier if the forms were well designed.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    December 14, 2019
    Ernest from TX Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Claim was eventually processed ok, but no feed back after I completed the online form, until I emailed, and they advised it was being reviewed.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful

Multi-Award Winning Customer Service Team

Squaremouth’s outside-the-box approach to customer service has been recognized nationally and internationally, with 13 awards in 5 years. Customer service is part of everybody’s job at Squaremouth. Every employee spends time on the phone with customers each week.

Read more

$30,000 Contest Encourages Reading Policy Documents

To highlight the importance of reading policy documents from start to finish, Squaremouth awarded one customer $10,000 in a secret contest for being the first to read hers. Then, we gave another $10,000 to a children’s literacy charity and $5,000 each to two schools.

Read more

$1,000 Tips Shine a Light on Service

Squaremouth, a company that puts a focus on customer service, rewards 20 outstanding customer service providers in St. Petersburg, Florida with $1,000 cash tips. Then, one received an additional $10,000 as the Thank You Campaign’s grand prize winner.

Read more

One of America’s Best and Fastest-Growing Companies

Squaremouth is consistently awarded for its unique company culture and steady revenue growth. This includes national recognition from Inc. Magazine, Fortune, and Entrepreneur, and local recognition from the Tampa Bay Business Journal and Florida Trend.

Read more