Sales & Service Data

TOTAL SALES
6,731
Since 2013
MONTHLY SALES
151
Average Monthly Sales Since 2013
REVIEWS
63
Since 2013
Overall Rating
4.63 Out of 5
Detailed Ratings
  • Customer Service Before Trip
  • Customer Service During Trip
  • Customer Service During Claim
Overall Rating

6,731
policies sold

0.0%
negative reviews

0.0% (3) negative reviews to sales
Average on Squaremouth is 0.4%

  • 5 stars
    47
  • 4 stars
    11
  • 3 stars
    2
  • 2 stars
    1
  • 1 star  
    1
Top Providers
Tin Leg
4.6/5
Arch RoamRight
4.52/5
IMG
4.46/5

GeoBlue All Reviews

Sort all reviews by Most Helpful First, Most Recent, or Star Ratings, or select “Filed Claim” to only show reviews from customers who filed a claim.


  • Overall Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Voyager Essential
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I have major medical insurance, including worldwide emergency coverage, and bought this policy primarily for the medical evacuation and repatriation benefits to cover me on a trip to Vietnam and Thailand. About 3 days before my scheduled return, while in the city of Trang Thailand, visiting my son who's been teaching there, I had a motorbike accident. I went to the emergency room and x-rays showed I had a broken collarbone, as well as being fairly bruised and battered. They admitted me overnight. The treating physician put me in a figure 8 brace (which requires assistance for removal); told me I would have to wear it for 8-12 weeks; and twice told me I could not pick up anything heavy for that period of time. The next morning, I contacted GeoBlue and told them I was requesting non-medical evacuation assistance to get from Trang to my departure airport in Bangkok. All I wanted was to have them cover my son's travel expenses to help me get from Trang to Bangkok, as I had no idea how I would otherwise manage my luggage. I explained to them that my upcoming travel involved a flight from Trang to Don Mueang airport in Bangkok; a shuttle-bus from that airport to the other Bangkok airport; and 12 hour layover at that airport - all with luggage that I could not lift. (In Trang, as with many smaller Asian airports, you have to take a bus from terminal out to the plane on the tarmac - and carry any handheld items up steps to the plane.) I told them about the doctor's advice. The customer service rep. told me to send medical records and the name of the hospital so they could verify if needed. She said their medical team would review. The hospital had provided such records and my son took an image of them and emailed them to GeoBlue. The next day I received notice that they had not approved the non-medical travel assistance. When I questioned them, they told me that it was because the doctor's medical notes had not expressly called out any limitations on my activities. I responded that I was shocked that such limitations had to be called out in light of the unquestioned fact that I had a broken collarbone. They responded that if I had any further documentation to submit, they would consider it. They made no effort to contact the hospital; they did not accept my statement regarding the doctor's advice and my physical limitations.
    In my professional life, I work for an insurance company and I was completely shocked by the outcome in my case with GeoBlue. If my company had rendered a decision like that, I would have viewed it as approximating bad faith.
    Last point - your star rating system asks for "predeparture experience." I had no predeparture experience other than buying the policy. Suggest you add an N/A option.

    Response From:
    GeoBlue
    GeoBlue:
    Gina Clawson
    Response Received:

    Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry to read about the injury you sustained while in Thailand. We did investigate your case with our Global health & Safety Team as well as our Medial Director. The primary reason that the request for a family escort was not approved is the treating physician you were working with in Thailand did not indicate that you needed assistance while traveling. Also - per the bedside visit benefit, you would have had to be admitted for at least 7 days for the coverage to take effect and you were only admitted for one night. We regret that the plan was unsatisfactory to you and wish you safe travels in the future.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    250 out of 255 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Voyager Essential
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We traveled to Sao Paulo, Brazil. My husband broke his toe and we called the 24hs service skype. We got excellent service, including recommendations of hospitals near by. Once we decided where to go, geoblue sent a certificate of payment directly to the hospital and they dealt with payments. We never had to pay anything. It couldn't be better.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    127 out of 131 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Voyager Choice
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    no claim filed, so no opinion about insurance during trip...

    Was this review helpful to you?

    5 out of 81 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Voyager Choice
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Before Trip
    I called to get more information and the rep was very helpfull. He answered all of my questions and I was able to make a choice that I was comfortable with.

    During Trip
    I thankfully did not need any assistance during the trip.

    Claim Process
    No claim was necessary.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    27 out of 84 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Voyager Choice
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    During Trip
    Did not need the carrier during my trip.

    Claim Process
    Did not make a claim

    Was this review helpful to you?

    11 out of 82 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Voyager Choice
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Before Trip
    I was very impressed with the information provided, the web site and the iPhone App

    During Trip
    I did not need to use the service during this trip

    Claim Process
    No claim

    Was this review helpful to you?

    16 out of 84 people found this review helpful

Multi-Award Winning Customer Service Team

Squaremouth’s outside-the-box approach to customer service has been recognized nationally and internationally, with 12 awards in 5 years. Customer service is part of everybody’s job at Squaremouth. Every employee spends time on the phone with customers each week.

Read more

$30,000 Contest Encourages Reading Policy Documents

To highlight the importance of reading policy documents from start to finish, Squaremouth awarded one customer $10,000 in a secret contest for being the first to read hers. Then, we gave another $10,000 to a children’s literacy charity and $5,000 each to two schools.

Read more

$1,000 Tips Shine a Light on Service

Squaremouth, a company that puts a focus on customer service, rewards 20 outstanding customer service providers in St. Petersburg, Florida with $1,000 cash tips. Then, one received an additional $10,000 as the Thank You Campaign’s grand prize winner.

Read more

One of America’s Best and Fastest-Growing Companies

Squaremouth is consistently awarded for its unique company culture and steady revenue growth. This includes national recognition from Inc. Magazine, Fortune, and Entrepreneur, and local recognition from the Tampa Bay Business Journal and Florida Trend.

Read more