John Hancock Insurance Agency, Inc.
Overall Rating 4.23 out of 5
Overall Rating 4.23 out of 5 1,129 Reviews Since 2012

  • Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    November 1, 2022
    Anita from NY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    The online process for submitting a claim was very poor quality and I would actually rate it a 0. It was time consuming and the online form was not well designed. I spent over 2 hours submitting information and receipts; the first time I submitted my claim the system crashed, the second time I received a message to say that all of the relevant information had been submitted, but I was not provided with a claim number so I had no idea if the claim had actually been submitted. The form also does not allow for multiple attachments/receipts to be uploaded - this is problematic for the user and also for your business, as you are receiving incomplete information which I assume your staff will need to spend time following up.
    Following all of this, I also spoke with one of your claims agents, and she was very helpful. Whilst she wasn't able to check to see if the online claim had been successfully submitted, she was able to help me make a claim and obtain a claim #. She wasn't however able to receive the supporting receipts/documents and explained that a follow-up email would take about 3 weeks, which is when I assume I will need to provide more details. So overall the experience could be massively improved, for both your staff and clients.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    October 26, 2022
    Antonia from NY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Everything went smoothly. All questions answered.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Gold
    Review Received:
    October 26, 2022
    Mary from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Last time we purchased travel insurance from Squaremouth, I was able to see the breakdown of coverage plus I was able to text in our primary "Beneficiaries". John Hancock did not make this available to us. When I called John Hancock directly, they said we were required to have a 'notarized letter" stating who our primary beneficiaries were and mail it to them. This is unacceptable. We will not use any travel insurance that requires us to find a notary, write a letter, pay for the notary, keep a copy, as well as mail it to them. Please take this in consideration when your company offers travel insurance.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Gold
    Review Received:
    October 21, 2022
    Virginia from WA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    My cruise was canceled by Holland America (not by me) due to Covid issues with Japan. John Hancock treated the cancellation as if I had canceled myself and therefore decided I had no claim. I am extremely disappointed. I selected John Hancock believing I was protected for Covid reasons but was told I was not.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    October 20, 2022
    Daniel from SC Verified Squaremouth Customer

    The two questions left unanswered above are TBD. I spoke with a kind John Hancock representative who took down the claim information, provided a claim number, then sent an email containing the options of a click-on link and a copy and paste link. I've tried both for several days and get a "Sorry, something went wrong" message.

    I was hoping that due to high reviews they would not be a typical stall and make things difficult insurance company. This is disappointing. I"d like your help in dealing with them.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    October 17, 2022
    Gerald from OR Verified Squaremouth Customer

    John Hancock has been extremely slow getting back to me about my claim.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    October 17, 2022
    M.E. from VA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    you say it’s 24 hour customer service, but the claims dept. is not. 24hrs.
    It was easy to purchase the insurance to squaremouth though, but putting claim was confusing.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    October 15, 2022
    Kimberly from PA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I just started a claim as we did not travel due to covid. So far, the only person I have spoke to after holding for close to 25 minutes, was very kind and helpful.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    October 15, 2022
    Biagina from OR Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Excellent service.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Bronze
    Review Received:
    October 12, 2022
    Kirk from TX Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Easy enough and your team was very helpful in adjusting departure dates. Thanks

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful