Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company
Overall Rating 4.03 out of 5
Overall Rating 4.03 out of 5 227 Reviews Since 2018

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    August 6, 2018
    B from FL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Terrible customer service. Rude, arrogant. Misleading information provided. Will not use this company again.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    August 4, 2018
    Leah from PA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Our trip was interrupted due to fires in train stations in France. We’ve submitted pages and pages of evidence, as requested, and are waiting for a reply from Nationwide.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    July 30, 2018
    Curt from WI Verified Squaremouth Customer

    The travel policy I purchased supposedly had up to $270,000 of evacuation insurance. I was injured in Reykjavik, Iceland, breaking my left femur and shattering my right elbow. The leg was surgically repaired in Iceland and I needed to travel back to the states for elbow surgery.

    My surgeon cleared me to fly home in an air ambulance lying down. I found Angel MedFlight to provide this service. Nationwide was contacted, asking them to provide a retainer for $68,900 and they DENIED the request, offering instead a commercial flight in business class with the assistance of two nurses, even though the policy recognized that an air ambulance was an acceptable mode of transportation for evacuation. They also mentioned that I could choose the air ambulance, but I would have to file a claim after the fact to possibly get reimbursed!

    This behavior is totally unacceptable! How many people have access to this amount of money under an emergency situation? The reason people buy this type of insurance is to be taken care of hassle free. Nationwide fell flat on their face in this regard.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    85 out of 85 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Prime
    Review Received:
    July 22, 2018
    DAVID and GILL from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Very professional when I called with questions. No hidden small print exclusions. We did not have a claim but felt we were properly covered for our big family reunion trip.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    July 8, 2018
    Miriam from NJ Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Very good insurance that met our need, a fair price, and happily, we did not need them!

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    July 3, 2018
    Susan from NY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    The representative was helpful with questions that I had before purchasing a policy, and purchasing a policy was easy.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    June 20, 2018
    Don from TX Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I did not file a claim, but I did call the company upon return from my trip to explore the possibility of filing a claim due to luggage delayed by more than 24 hours. I probably could have determined this by reading the full policy, but since I did not make any purchases for items needed due to the luggage delay, I had no basis for a claim. However, in discussing the claims process with the agent, it was apparent to me that the amount of substantiating paperwork on both the luggage delay and the purchases is significant. So much so, that I believe I would have had to spend a significant amount of time with the airline to get the documentation of the luggage delay that Nationwide Mutual required. I'm not sure they are any different than any other company on this, but I thought I had what would be required until I talked to them.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    24 out of 28 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Prime
    Review Received:
    May 21, 2018
    Dave from WA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Got coverage for a reasonable amount of money that provided some peace of mind. Being able to call and speak to someone who seemed knowledgeable was helpful.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    May 15, 2018
    Wendy from PA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I have only had one call so far with Nationwide to report that we couldn't go and ask for the claim paperwork. We had to cancel our trip due to a medical procedure I had where I cannot fly until it's all resolved. I am curious to see how this process goes and whether my claim gets paid.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    May 8, 2018
    Dennis from MI Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Tried to discuss a potential issue via the 800 number provided only to realize that the business office could only be reached during normal working hours for the eastern timezone. The people I was able to reach during the weekend were unable to assist with my questions... this caused me to worry all weekend until I could reach someone on Monday.

    Didn't really care for Nationwide after I was finally able to talk with them. I do not believe I would insure with then again.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    48 out of 49 people found this review helpful