Sales & Service Data

TOTAL SALES
69,224
Since 2012
MONTHLY SALES
1433
Average Monthly Sales Since 2012
REVIEWS
1,805
Since 2012
Overall Rating
4.53 Out of 5
Detailed Ratings
  • Customer Service Before Trip
  • Customer Service During Trip
  • Customer Service During Claim
Overall Rating

69,224
policies sold

0.1%
negative reviews

0.1% (92) negative reviews to sales
Average on Squaremouth is 0.4%

  • 5 stars
    1233
  • 4 stars
    380
  • 3 stars
    100
  • 2 stars
    19
  • 1 star  
    38
Top Providers
Tin Leg
4.57/5
RoamRight
4.53/5
HTH Travel Insurance
4.46/5

RoamRight Reviews


  • Overall Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Preferred
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    The trip was cancelled. My son was diagnosed with cancer a few days after I bought the insurance. He did have surgery before I bought the insurance and RoamRight denied the claim on that basis.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Preferred
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Took almost 6 months to give me a decision. Then I was told claim would not be paid

    Was this review helpful to you?

    33 out of 40 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    They were unable to help us with emergency transport from rural Cambridgeshire to London, UK. We were able to arrange it on our own. If the National Health Service bills us and our regular insurance does not cover it, we may file a claim.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I called to ask about coverage for moving to a different hotel after I found a heroin needle in the dresser drawer of the one I was staying at with my two year old daughter. The representative coldly told me that the situation wasn't covered, end of story.

    Response From:
    RoamRight
    RoamRight:
    The RoamRight Team
    Response Received:

    That is indeed a terrible experience. Travel insurance is designed to cover lost expenses due to trip cancellation or interruption for a variety of covered reasons. At this time, it does not cover changing hotels for situations such as the one you experienced; we are held to the policy as it is written in the Description of Coverage you received at the time of purchase.

    However, we do encourage you to approach the hotel directly for a refund and compensation. If it was a chain hotel, we further recommend that you notify their parent company about your situation.

    We will also review your communication with us to remind our representatives the importance of empathy. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention as it can help us enhance our customer experience.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Had to canal due to husband being in hospital. Even had note from dr saying not to travel.. I filed a completely legitimate claim and. It been. 30 days and still no resolution. I think they are just giving me the runaround to delay having to pay a legit claim. I will never use them again and will recommend same to friends.

    Response From:
    RoamRight
    RoamRight:
    The RoamRight Team
    Response Received:

    Thank you for taking the time to reach out. Currently, due to the volume of claims, we are asking claimants to expect a turnaround time of 30 days.

    Since your claim was filed on 11/27/17, it has only been roughly two weeks since we have received your claim.

    We appreciate your patience as we work towards thoroughly and accurately reviewing your claim. If you have any questions, feel free to contact our claims department at claims@roamright.com or by phone at 855-762-6252.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Preferred
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We also purchased a policy last year for our trip to Italy. We had to file a claim for trip interruption due to weather. We were totally reimbursed for our losses. We chose Roam Right again because they were so easy to work with last year. This year we unfortunately have to file a claim for medical costs. Hopefully, we will have anther good experience.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Preferred
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I have not heard a word about my claim - not a yes, no or I need more information. It would be nice if there would be some form of communication - it was received, it is process, it was denied. Am I asking to much?

    Was this review helpful to you?

    21 out of 26 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Preferred
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    After my flight home was cancelled with both baggage and flight postponed 24 hrs I called yr agent from Charlotte Airport and explained my situation. I was told to keep any receipts, no problem. After arriving home without luggage as it was "still in St Thomas " I explained to yr agent that I would need to purchase a few items such as a hair brush and undergarments. Much to my surprise your coverage does not apply to flights home unless my bags are never recovered. This info was not printed on my coverage selection page I had in my hand and Im sure it was not outlined as important for me to know when I purchased the policy or when I called from Charlotte. As I still would have purchased trip cancellation insurance from some provider who probably has the same deceptive marketing techniques, I can tell you it wont be your company in the future. Lack of transparency and accountability in this world is so annoying and you obviously care only about your bottom line not how you achieve it. Guess I'll have to purchase trip insurance from the number 2 carrier next trip.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I filed around August 9th and I still have not received a penny from Roam Right

    Review Updated: 10/17/2017

    They never got tired of asking for more info. To the point that even though the travel company showed my total payments and what my penalty was for canceling, they now wanted credit card receipts. All just a game to see if you would just give up. I will never use them again

    Response From:
    RoamRight
    RoamRight:
    The RoamRight Team
    Response Received:

    In order to thoroughly and accurately review your claim, your claims administrator needs more documentation. She sent an email requesting these documents on August 24, but she will be in contact with you again shortly.

    If you have any questions, please contact our claims team at 855-762-6252 Monday-Friday from 9AM to 5PM, or by email at claims@roamright.com.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Preferred
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    The claim was settled for less than the amount claimed, due to lack of receipts. It was a small amount that I didn't have time and desire to fight back which is what happens in most of the insurance claims.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful

Multi-Award Winning Customer Service

Squaremouth’s out-of-the-box approach to customer service was recognized internationally in 2017, earning a Gold Stevie Award for Customer Service Department of the Year. This was Squaremouth’s first international Stevie and fourth customer service award overall.

Read more

Customer Service is Everybody’s Job

“Customer service is not a department, and Squaremouth knows it. Every employee spends time on the phone with customers.” New York Times and Wall Street Journal best-selling author, Shep Hyken, explains four core components of Squaremouth’s exceptional customer service.

Read more

$1,000 tips shine a light on service

Squaremouth, a company that puts a focus on how to treat customers, rewards 20 who do the same.

BY KATHERINE SNOW SMITH
Times Staff Writer

See what happened

One of America’s Best Workplaces

Squaremouth is consistently recognized, both locally and nationally, as one of the best places to work. Fortune Magazine named Squaremouth one of America’s Best Small Workplaces and the No. 2 Best Workplace for Women in the nation.

Read more