Sales & Service Data

TOTAL SALES
51,097
Since 2004
MONTHLY SALES
0
Average Monthly Sales Since 2004
REVIEWS
1,778
Since 2004
Overall Rating
4.45 Out of 5
Detailed Ratings
  • Customer Service Before Trip
  • Customer Service During Trip
  • Customer Service During Claim
Overall Rating

51,097
policies sold

0.5%
negative reviews

0.5% (253) negative reviews to sales
Average on Squaremouth is 0.4%

  • 5 stars
    1009
  • 4 stars
    364
  • 3 stars
    152
  • 2 stars
    22
  • 1 star  
    28
Top Providers
Tin Leg
4.58/5
Arch RoamRight
4.53/5
HTH Travel Insurance
4.46/5

Travelex Insurance Services Reviews


  • Overall Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Basic
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Seems like we are denied on technicalities. If a flight is delayed causing us to miss our connection and insurance has technicalities of paying only in certain conditions though no fault of ours, it seems to be more scam than anything! Travelex claims that they would pay if the flight was delayed due to weather or mechanical delays but not due to Air Traffic control delaying us, which is ridiculous! Will not go with this company again!

    Our Claim was:
    Flight EI8752 from Seattle to London landed LATE the morning of 12/24/16 at Heathrow Airport. It was delayed due to "Air Traffic Control Restrictions" (according to BA).

    We had a connecting Flight EI8330 to catch which was due to leave at 8:15am the morning of 12/24/16. This flight was from London to Dublin. We MISSED this flight due to the late "arrival" of Flight EI8752. 

    The Air Lingus customer service representative booked us on a later flight from London to Dublin the morning of 12/24/16. This was Flight EI155 which was to leave Heathrow at 10:00am. We had a separate Ryan Air flight scheduled for later that day at 12:35pm from Dublin to Edinburgh. The Air Lingus service rep promised us we would make that Ryan Air flight. We did not make it as there was not enough time between the 2 flights to make it to the gate in time. 

    Original booking with Ryan Air was as follows:

    12/24/16 Flight FR816 leaving at 12:35pm out of Dublin and arriving in EDI at 13:45pm

        We MISSED this flight!

    12/28/16 Flight FR819 leaving at 20:15pm out of EDI and arriving in Dublin at 21:25pm

        This was our return flight which went as planned. 

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    REIMBURSEMENTS:

    a) We booked a separate flight with Air Lingus OUT OF POCKET. 

        Flight EI3222 Dublin to Glasgow leaving at 10:05am on 12/26/16. We could not fly out any sooner than this. From the time we arrived in Dublin on 12/24/16, there were no more flights leaving the country to Scotland until 12/26/16 due to the Christmas holiday. 
      
      Total to be refunded to us is the cost of this flight in the amount of $203.10

    b) We had to book accommodations at a local hotel, the Radisson Blu for 2 extra nights. 

      Total to be refunded to us is the cost of this hotel in the amount of $202.81 

    Response From:
    Travelex Insurance Services
    Travelex Insurance Services:
    Marcy
    Response Received:

    We wish to thank you for taking the time to put your concerns in writing and are sorry to hear of your frustration with our Claim Administrator.

    Your customer experience is very important to us at Travelex. We will personally reach out to the claims department, on your behalf, to obtain additional info regarding your claim.

    Once we are able to review your situation, we will email you directly within 2 business days.

    Response From:
    Squaremouth:
    Cheri Cummings
    Response Received:
    May 1, 2017

    Thank you for posting a review of Travelex.

    We apologize for your negative experience.

    A member of our Zero Complaint team will contact you to discuss this further.

    Please contact us at 800-240-0369 if you have any questions, we are happy to help.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Select
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    The customer service representative was very informative and we were impressed that she followed up on my husband's condition more than once.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Select
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Very accurate information given by phone. Didn't have a big claim but it was taken care of quickly and efficiently.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    TraveLite
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    TrVelex did reimburse to our satisfaction. They refused a non refundable hotel bill even though all info was included

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Flight Insure Plus - Package Plan
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I received my confirmation from Travelex very promptly after purchasing my coverage, which I appreciated. Everything seemed very straightforward.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Plus
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Before Trip
    I have no idea if they would have paid a claim. That's what matters.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Flight Insure Plus - Package Plan
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I will fill out the 4 pages of paperwork and file the claim in the next week.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Max
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I didn't need to you use you so how can I rate anything... it was easy getting the policy and the price seemed right. Thank you.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Flight Insure Plus - Package Plan
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    My luggage was broken into by baggage handlers. I contacted your organization and the amount of buerocracy and requirements were insurmountable. I specifically got the insurance incase of this type of thing, but who actually saves every receipt? How do you know if you've been robbed unless you inventory your luggage at the airport? How can you file a claim with an airline when luggage handling is outsourced and no one knows who the compamy is? When trabeling internationally there is also a language barrier.
    It was a terrible experience compounded by your unreasonable requirements.

    Response From:
    Travelex Insurance Services
    Travelex Insurance Services:
    Marcy
    Response Received:

    We thank you for taking the time to put your concerns in writing and are sorry to hear of your frustration.

    I have contacted the Claims Administrator on your behalf and have been advised, that to date, the completed claim forms have not been received by our claims department. The Claim Administrator has also advised, that to date, they have not received a phone call or any correspondence from you.

    The Claims Procedures and “how to facilitate prompt claims settlement” is outlined on page 21 of the attached Description of Coverage, which was also emailed to you on December 24, 2016 at 4:28pm, when the policy was purchased.

    We empathize with your unfortunate situation; if you haven’t already, we recommend contacting the airline responsible, by filing a claim online.

    Please note that insurance is highly regulated and in order to validate coverage, completed claim forms and documentation (including documentation from the airline) are an important part of the claim process as it relates to the specific conditions as listed in the plan purchased.

    If this information is incomplete or inaccurate, please feel free to submit the applicable claim forms and documentation to the Claims Administrator and they will gladly assess your claim.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Basic
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Thanks Travelex for providing a great service. I had a great trip to Alaska and had no need to use the insurance. If I had, I felt that you provided us with great information and that we could contact you 24 hours a day. I will be using your company again in the future.

    Response From:
    Travelex Insurance Services
    Travelex Insurance Services:
    Amber
    Response Received:

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback!

    We are so happy to hear your trip went smoothly and we look forward to doing business with you again.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

Multi-Award Winning Customer Service

Squaremouth’s out-of-the-box approach to customer service was recognized internationally in 2017, earning a Gold Stevie Award for Customer Service Department of the Year. This was Squaremouth’s first international Stevie and fourth customer service award overall.

Read more

Customer Service is Everybody’s Job

“Customer service is not a department, and Squaremouth knows it. Every employee spends time on the phone with customers.” New York Times and Wall Street Journal best-selling author, Shep Hyken, explains four core components of Squaremouth’s exceptional customer service.

Read more

$1,000 tips shine a light on service

Squaremouth, a company that puts a focus on how to treat customers, rewards 20 who do the same.

BY KATHERINE SNOW SMITH
Times Staff Writer

See what happened

One of America’s Best Workplaces

Squaremouth is consistently recognized, both locally and nationally, as one of the best places to work. Fortune Magazine named Squaremouth one of America’s Best Small Workplaces and the No. 2 Best Workplace for Women in the nation.

Read more