How to Get a Quote

What is a Schengen visa?

Last Updated:

Short Answer

Schengen visas allow non-US citizens to travel throughout 26 countries in Europe and requires at least 30,000 Euros of Emergency Medical and Medical Evacuation coverage.

More Detail

Not all travelers need a visa in order to travel within the Schengen territory. US citizens can travel up to 90 days within a six-month period without the visa. However, non-US citizens may be required to obtain a Schengen visa before they are able to enter Schengen countries.

The Schengen territory is comprised of the following European countries: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

We recommend contacting the embassy of your destination country(s) in order to determine if a Schengen visa is necessary.

This information may vary based on the travel insurance policy. If you have questions about a specific policy, please contact us directly at 800-240-0369. Our customer service representatives are available from 8am to 10pm ET seven days a week and are delighted to help!