HTH Travel Insurance
Overall Rating 4.41 Out of 5
Overall Rating 4.41 Out of 5
287 Reviews Since 2004

  • Overall Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Preferred
    Review Received:
    April 16, 2020
    Carol from WA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Iceland Air said they would refund my ticket because they cancelled the flight, but that it would take 6-8 weeks. I am hoping they follow through, but for now, I'm closing this claim.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Classic
    Review Received:
    April 4, 2020
    Sandi from MO Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We were traveling in India during the COVID-19 outbreak and needed to know what our options were for arranging travel back to the US. The phone number provided for 24-hour assistance during our trip was routed to an agent who could not help us and actually gave us incorrect information. After questioning her, I was transferred to another agent who gave us helpful information. We intend to file a claim for reimbursement (our trip was cut short and we incurred expenses related to flying back to the US early.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Economy
    Review Received:
    April 3, 2020
    TADEUSZ from CT Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We already filed claim claim number 54751

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Classic
    Review Received:
    March 30, 2020
    Simon from PA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We called HTH Travel Insurance customer service to inquire about filing a claim since our trip became impossible due to: (1) COVID-19 related government advisories, and (2) medical advice, since both my wife and I are in a very high risk category due to medical conditions and age. Was told that our situation is not covered by our trip cancellation policy, since we did not have "cancel for any reason" coverage. While this is true, it seems to us that no amount of small print legalize can excuse a travel insurance company from using common sense and recognizing that this situation was actually the exact definition of having to cancel a trip.

    Response From:
    HTH Travel Insurance
    HTH Travel Insurance:
    Gina
    Response Received:
    April 2, 2020

    Hello,

    Thank you for your review!

    The underwriter of your policy has set Administrative Guidelines in place for customers whose trips have been cancelled due to Coronavirus. Please see below. If you are eligible for a refund of premium, please send us proof that your travel supplier cancelled the trip as well as proof that your full trip cost was refunded to you. Our email address is: tripprotection@hthworldwide.com

    If you are not eligible based upon the guidelines below, you will still be able to transfer your policy to a trip in the future - even if it is not yet booked - based upon the guidelines for Trip Postponement below. We would need proof of the cancelled trip for the exception to be approved now and then when you book the new trip you would forward your new itineraries to us so we could make the changes to your policy. Any time sensitive benefits you were eligible for at the time you originally purchased the policy will remain in place. If you were not originally eligible for time sensitive benefits, you would remain ineligible. Your new trip would need to have a return home date of 18 months or earlier from the original return date on your policy.

    Premium Refunds

    1. Trip Cancellation

    If the tour operator cancels the trip completely, and provides a full refund of trip costs, Nationwide will refund the premium for the travel insurance. Nationwide will not offer a refund for travelers who voluntarily cancel their trip, even if the tour operator gives a full refund.

    2. Trip Postponement

    If a Traveler postpones their Trip due to the Coronavirus, Nationwide will allow the Traveler’s current insurance policy to extend to those new trip dates provided:
    a. The new trip dates are no more than 18 months from their original trip dates.
    b. Additional premium, if needed based on the new or postponed trip, will be collected. No refund will be considered if the premium for the new or postponed trip is less than the original trip premium.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Preferred
    Review Received:
    March 27, 2020
    Julie from MD Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Filed death claim two weeks ago (electronically). Have not heard back from them.

    Response From:
    HTH Travel Insurance
    HTH Travel Insurance:
    Gina
    Response Received:
    March 30, 2020

    Hello,

    Thank you for your review!

    Generally, we ask that you allow at least 15 business days for review. However, at this time, we are experiencing an extremely high claim volume, and our review times may vary. Rest assured, claims are reviewed in the order they are received and it is our goal to review your claim as quickly as possible. We appreciate your patience.

    If you are submitting a claim, please review your submission and make sure you are submitting all of the required documents to avoid processing delays. The claims for your plan should be submitted to team1@cbpinsure.com.

    If it is determined that additional information is needed, you will receive an email outlining the documentation needed. In most cases, our request will be communicated to you by email. Please check your email (and the spam folder of the email address provided to us).

    Again, our sincere appreciation for your patience during this time.

    Best regards,
    HTH Worldwide

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Classic
    Review Received:
    March 27, 2020
    Melissa from TX Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I have always bought travel insurance but this was my first claim. It was unexpected and heartbreaking to not get to go on my trip but HTH Travel Insurance was amazing. The claim process was so easy and the agents I spoke to were extremely helpful and kind. I appreciate this and have already purchased another policy as well as referred this company to friends and family. Thank you!

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Preferred
    Review Received:
    March 26, 2020
    AG from SC Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Got an email that my claim is under review and it may take more than two weeks to get back on it :(

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Classic
    Review Received:
    March 26, 2020
    CHRISTINE from TX Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We were not able to make our planned trip due to medical reasons. HTH Travel Insurance was great to work with on filing a claim, and paying in a timely manner. Thanks,

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Classic
    Review Received:
    February 26, 2020
    Walter from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Before the trip we talked to HTH about the Coronavirus. They told us that they would not cover any problem due to Coronavirus. They would not cover trip interruption, or quarantine or anything related to Coronavirus. So we asked if the would cover trip cancellation due to Coronavirus concerns. They said yes. But when we cancelled the trip and submitted a claim they denied it.

    Response From:
    HTH Travel Insurance
    HTH Travel Insurance:
    Gina
    Response Received:
    March 25, 2020

    Hello,

    Thank you for your review!

    We apologize for the inconvenience and confusion while answering your questions prior to your policy purchase.

    Medical expenses due to Coronavirus are covered under your policy. Because we supplied incorrect information, we are looking into whether an exception can be made for the trip cancellation coverage. Our customer service department will reach out to advise either way.

    Best regards,
    HTH Worldwide

    Was this review helpful to you?

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Classic
    Review Received:
    February 23, 2020
    JAMES from NY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    One of my traveling companions took a bad fall on 2/3/20 requiring 5 stitches to her head, but she also broke both her wrists requiring surgery a week later needless to say I notified HTH travel insurance on 2/4/20 I would not be going on the cruise by myself. I am 70 yrs old and would never take a cruise on my own. HTH agent sent me all the claim forms I would need via email. So far happy with rep and service I have been provided. I mailed my claim last week.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

Multi-Award Winning Customer Service Team

Squaremouth’s outside-the-box approach to customer service has been recognized nationally and internationally, with 13 awards in 5 years. Customer service is part of everybody’s job at Squaremouth. Every employee spends time on the phone with customers each week.

Read more

$30,000 Contest Encourages Reading Policy Documents

To highlight the importance of reading policy documents from start to finish, Squaremouth awarded one customer $10,000 in a secret contest for being the first to read hers. Then, we gave another $10,000 to a children’s literacy charity and $5,000 each to two schools.

Read more

$1,000 Tips Shine a Light on Service

Squaremouth, a company that puts a focus on customer service, rewards 20 outstanding customer service providers in St. Petersburg, Florida with $1,000 cash tips. Then, one received an additional $10,000 as the Thank You Campaign’s grand prize winner.

Read more

One of America’s Best and Fastest-Growing Companies

Squaremouth is consistently awarded for its unique company culture and steady revenue growth. This includes national recognition from Inc. Magazine, Fortune, and Entrepreneur, and local recognition from the Tampa Bay Business Journal and Florida Trend.

Read more