HTH Travel Insurance
Overall Rating 4.38 out of 5
Overall Rating 4.38 out of 5 291 Reviews Since 2004

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Economy
    Review Received:
    February 9, 2021
    Bridget from MN Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Due to covid our trip to Mexico was cancelled and our travel agent schedule new trip in USA. We changed our trip 2 weeks before we were suppose to leave. We then tried to change insurance to new trip but they would not change it. First we didn't hear any responds. Then we did there first step they asked us to do. 3 days later they have a list of stuff that they wanted us to do. My sister in law had a policy from HTH Travel which they changed right away without a problem. When I brought this to who ever I was talking attention HTH Travel said that was an error. So HTH Travel sent her an email 2 or 3 day later denying the coverage they had already approved. At this time they started asking her to do a list of stuff also. We had group of 16 people with 7 different policies HTH Travel was the only one that would not change to new destination without making us jump through hoops. Never again. I do have the emails they sent out to us. People there are not trust worthy, not very helpful with all of the covid changes. The true rating for HTH Travel is ZERO. Wasted 200 dollars. Thanks

    Was this review helpful to you?

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Classic
    Review Received:
    February 3, 2021
    MA from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I had a nightmare of a time trying to contact a person to give me the correct information on how to see a doctor whilst I was visiting Maui - I was literally handed off to 5 different people, on the phone for almost an hour and then had to try the following day. In between being told that I did not have coverage for my trip. Then I asked to extend the coverage - again I could not get an answer. I WILL NEVER USE THIS COMPANY again, and Squaremouth did nothing to help when I called them to complain about the company. I have been using Squaremouth as my insurance aggregator for at least 10 years and travel at least twice a year internationally for extended trips. This was my first time with HTH and I strongly recommend that Squaremouth do not represent them. They were completely useless and I worried the whole time that I was in fact not insured properly. I will never use them again, and unless you can give me some satisfaction, I will be going with a different aggregator for my insurance searches in the future.

    Review Updated: 03/03/2021

    I still have not come back to me with any communication whatsoever

    Was this review helpful to you?

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Economy
    Review Received:
    January 28, 2021
    Ted from NY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I travel a lot and most of my trip insurances have been purchased through SquareMouth: numerous providers, very good portal (I'm in IT, I know).
    This was the first time I purchased a policy from HTH and I am very well aware that there are tickets, hotel reservations, and a bunch of other things that are non-refundable, usually spelled out right upfront. This was the first time I've encountered when a trip policy was non-refundable. I am not arguing that it was not or it should not have been, but I looked over the policy again and I couldn't find such condition. However what upset me the most, was an explanation from a customer representative: "The state of NY does not offer a review period to cancel the plan once purchased." I understand that the seller sets the rules, caveat emptor, but don't make an ignoramus out of me, like I never cancelled a trip insurance. I showed an example of such cancellation that happened 2 weeks ago, several policies purchased through SquareMouth were cancelled only recently as well. Sticking to a rule is one thing, lying is completely different.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Preferred
    Review Received:
    April 16, 2020
    Carol from WA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Iceland Air said they would refund my ticket because they cancelled the flight, but that it would take 6-8 weeks. I am hoping they follow through, but for now, I'm closing this claim.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Classic
    Review Received:
    April 4, 2020
    Sandi from MO Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We were traveling in India during the COVID-19 outbreak and needed to know what our options were for arranging travel back to the US. The phone number provided for 24-hour assistance during our trip was routed to an agent who could not help us and actually gave us incorrect information. After questioning her, I was transferred to another agent who gave us helpful information. We intend to file a claim for reimbursement (our trip was cut short and we incurred expenses related to flying back to the US early.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Economy
    Review Received:
    April 3, 2020
    TADEUSZ from CT Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We already filed claim claim number 54751

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Classic
    Review Received:
    March 30, 2020
    Simon from PA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We called HTH Travel Insurance customer service to inquire about filing a claim since our trip became impossible due to: (1) COVID-19 related government advisories, and (2) medical advice, since both my wife and I are in a very high risk category due to medical conditions and age. Was told that our situation is not covered by our trip cancellation policy, since we did not have "cancel for any reason" coverage. While this is true, it seems to us that no amount of small print legalize can excuse a travel insurance company from using common sense and recognizing that this situation was actually the exact definition of having to cancel a trip.

    Response From:
    HTH Travel Insurance
    HTH Travel Insurance:
    Gina
    Response Received:
    April 2, 2020

    Hello,

    Thank you for your review!

    The underwriter of your policy has set Administrative Guidelines in place for customers whose trips have been cancelled due to Coronavirus. Please see below. If you are eligible for a refund of premium, please send us proof that your travel supplier cancelled the trip as well as proof that your full trip cost was refunded to you. Our email address is: tripprotection@hthworldwide.com

    If you are not eligible based upon the guidelines below, you will still be able to transfer your policy to a trip in the future - even if it is not yet booked - based upon the guidelines for Trip Postponement below. We would need proof of the cancelled trip for the exception to be approved now and then when you book the new trip you would forward your new itineraries to us so we could make the changes to your policy. Any time sensitive benefits you were eligible for at the time you originally purchased the policy will remain in place. If you were not originally eligible for time sensitive benefits, you would remain ineligible. Your new trip would need to have a return home date of 18 months or earlier from the original return date on your policy.

    Premium Refunds

    1. Trip Cancellation

    If the tour operator cancels the trip completely, and provides a full refund of trip costs, Nationwide will refund the premium for the travel insurance. Nationwide will not offer a refund for travelers who voluntarily cancel their trip, even if the tour operator gives a full refund.

    2. Trip Postponement

    If a Traveler postpones their Trip due to the Coronavirus, Nationwide will allow the Traveler’s current insurance policy to extend to those new trip dates provided:
    a. The new trip dates are no more than 18 months from their original trip dates.
    b. Additional premium, if needed based on the new or postponed trip, will be collected. No refund will be considered if the premium for the new or postponed trip is less than the original trip premium.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Preferred
    Review Received:
    March 27, 2020
    Julie from MD Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Filed death claim two weeks ago (electronically). Have not heard back from them.

    Response From:
    HTH Travel Insurance
    HTH Travel Insurance:
    Gina
    Response Received:
    March 30, 2020

    Hello,

    Thank you for your review!

    Generally, we ask that you allow at least 15 business days for review. However, at this time, we are experiencing an extremely high claim volume, and our review times may vary. Rest assured, claims are reviewed in the order they are received and it is our goal to review your claim as quickly as possible. We appreciate your patience.

    If you are submitting a claim, please review your submission and make sure you are submitting all of the required documents to avoid processing delays. The claims for your plan should be submitted to team1@cbpinsure.com.

    If it is determined that additional information is needed, you will receive an email outlining the documentation needed. In most cases, our request will be communicated to you by email. Please check your email (and the spam folder of the email address provided to us).

    Again, our sincere appreciation for your patience during this time.

    Best regards,
    HTH Worldwide

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Classic
    Review Received:
    March 27, 2020
    Melissa from TX Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I have always bought travel insurance but this was my first claim. It was unexpected and heartbreaking to not get to go on my trip but HTH Travel Insurance was amazing. The claim process was so easy and the agents I spoke to were extremely helpful and kind. I appreciate this and have already purchased another policy as well as referred this company to friends and family. Thank you!

    Was this review helpful to you?

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Preferred
    Review Received:
    March 26, 2020
    AG from SC Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Got an email that my claim is under review and it may take more than two weeks to get back on it :(

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful

Multi-Award Winning Customer Service Team

Squaremouth’s outside-the-box approach to customer service has been recognized nationally and internationally, with 16 awards in 6 years. Customer service is part of everybody’s job at Squaremouth. Every employee spends time on the phone with customers each week.

Read more

$30,000 Contest Encourages Reading Policy Documents

To highlight the importance of reading policy documents from start to finish, Squaremouth awarded one customer $10,000 in a secret contest for being the first to read hers. Then, we gave another $10,000 to a children’s literacy charity and $5,000 each to two schools.

Read more

$1,000 Tips Shine a Light on Service

Squaremouth, a company that puts a focus on customer service, rewards 20 outstanding customer service providers in St. Petersburg, Florida with $1,000 cash tips. Then, one received an additional $10,000 as the Thank You Campaign’s grand prize winner.

Read more

One of America’s Best and Fastest-Growing Companies

Squaremouth is consistently awarded for its unique company culture and steady revenue growth. This includes national recognition from Inc. Magazine, Fortune, and Entrepreneur, and local recognition from the Tampa Bay Business Journal and Florida Trend.

Read more