Sales & Service Data

TOTAL SALES
10,022
Since 2004
MONTHLY SALES
59
Average Monthly Sales Since 2004
REVIEWS
244
Since 2004
Overall Rating
4.46 Out of 5
Detailed Ratings
  • Customer Service Before Trip
  • Customer Service During Trip
  • Customer Service During Claim
Overall Rating

10,022
policies sold

0.3%
negative reviews

0.3% (32) negative reviews to sales
Average on Squaremouth is 0.4%

  • 5 stars
    152
  • 4 stars
    48
  • 3 stars
    12
  • 2 stars
    5
  • 1 star  
    8
Top Providers
Tin Leg
4.59/5
IMG
4.56/5
Arch RoamRight
4.52/5

HTH Travel Insurance All Reviews

Sort all reviews by Most Helpful First, Most Recent, or Star Ratings, or select “Filed Claim” to only show reviews from customers who filed a claim.


  • Overall Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Classic
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Overall, the plan suited my pre-departure travel needs. Unfortunately, I experienced two issues during my trip which caused interruptions (A. Flight delay and B. cancellation and illness). It was an extremely arduous task to reach an operator and when I did, after several calls and transfers to various departments, most were not even knowledgeable about my plan or lacked the skills or motivation to troubleshoot. Moreover, one of my travel mishaps occurred on a weekend and during the holiday season, so one of the main departments was closed which further added to the overall cumbersome experience.

    Operators should be available around the clock to respond to customer needs as international issues due arise, which should be a major benefit of the travel insurance after all: accessibility. Also, customers should have access to a knowledgeable, trained representatives who are well versed on policy on a consistent level instead of providing information on a speculative basis.

    Overall, I am dissatisfied with the service. I do not recommendation this company.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    85 out of 85 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Classic
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Our travel insurance coverage began on the pre-scheduled first day of our 5 week trip on February 23. Unfortunately, I became ill a few days before that date and was diagnosed with bronchitis and placed on antibiotics by my physician. The physician also recommended I not travel on February 23 but did clear to me to begin the trip 2 days later on February 25. It was necessary to rebook our outbound flights on Delta which resulted in additional charges of over $500.00 for the new flights. When I called HTH to advise them that our trip would be delayed and inquired about the coverage for the additional flight charges, I was shocked to discover that there was NO coverage for a delayed trip departure due to legitimate medical reasons. I was informed that I "had CHOSEN to delay my trip" and accordingly there was no coverage for the additional fees for the rescheduled flights. I really was very upset and disappointed regarding this situation since it was my understanding that I was covered effective February 23 for a "trip delay" situation. In reading over the exact language in the plan I purchased, I see how HTH could indeed avoid covering a delay such as ours since they define a trip delay as occurring only after the trip actual began and also do not allow a medical cause for a trip delay anyway. It has been my experience with various travel insurance companies that in reality, they do not want to pay customers unless the customer can indeed meet the very specific, strict and exact language of the coverage. In this case, their definition of trip delay did not coincide with mine so I am out over $500.00 which in my opinion should have been covered. I will not use HTH again. I would not recommend HTH. I chose the policy since it APPEARED to be very comprehensive and designed to meet our travel needs. Sadly, I was sorely mistaken.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    61 out of 63 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Preferred
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Due to Terrorism in brussels, was unable to make connecting flight in brussels upon return. Have yet to receive claim form in the mail as requested. They promised to mail it since I'm back to college now. I had to purchase a new flight to get home. Will upgrade this when claim is restored, claim form received.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    39 out of 40 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Economy
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I needed to change the start date on my travel. Contacted customer service via email. they did change the date but never responded to my email. I found out only by going out to check the policy. A little extra service would go a long way. Actually in my book, it is just common curtesy.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    23 out of 24 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Classic
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We were a little disappointed that our insurance did not cover any of our hotel and other expenses when our flights were cancelled due to the weekend snowstorm. But the rep I spoke with was very respectful and pleasant when I called to inquire. As they say, the Devils in the details.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    37 out of 42 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Preferred
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Still awaiting claim resolution

    Was this review helpful to you?

    26 out of 29 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Preferred
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Before Trip
    I switched companies this year because of poor customer service with the company I have used for the last 6 years and I am glad I did. I especially like the Squaremouth system of being able to pick and choose what coverage I wanted right down to which adventure sports I wanted to be covered for. I am pleased with Squaremouth and the speedy customer service when I had a question.
    5 out of 5 Stars!

    Was this review helpful to you?

    25 out of 28 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Preferred
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    WE HAVE TO CANCELED THE TRIP DUE TO MEDICAL REASON.
    YOU AND HTH INS. CO. WERE GOOD. THEY TOOK CARE US WELL. I WILL RECOMEND.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    19 out of 21 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtect e-Saver
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    The interaction and claim filling as well there rapid response was excellent. The purchase of the policy was easy and clear. Follow up by HTH was very well done!

    Was this review helpful to you?

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Economy
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    My experience with HTH was very disappointing. Our flight was cancelled and therefore rescheduled 24 hours later and we had a lot of problems and had to incur a lot of expenses and we had expected to be able to speak to somebody from HTH and try to get somebody on the phone but it turns out that that was not possible since it was the weekend. Their 24-hour service was pretty much useless so we had to wait until we returned from our trip to even speak to somebody. I left them a message and they called me back and the number that I called was not even HTH it was some other third-party organization. When I did call them I spoke to somebody from another organization who then forwarded me back to another person from HTH. Once I did speak to somebody they told me that I could not file anything and all of the expenses that we incurred including extra transportation fees and hotel would not be covered under the policy for trip interruption or trip delay. Very disappointing since we could not speak to anybody over the weekend and that nothing was covered. Square mouth was easy to work with but I will not be working with HTH anymore

    Response From:
    HTH Travel Insurance
    HTH Travel Insurance:
    Gina Clawson
    Response Received:

    Hello and thank you for your comments. Please note that the reasons for Trip Cancellation and Trip Interruption are posted on the website and also are defined in your state specific certificate of insurance. We are sorry if there was any confusion on what was covered and you purchased a plan that ultimately did not suit your needs. While our customer service department is not 24/7 our Medical Assistance professionals are available anytime to help with urgent medical situations. We note that you cancelled your plan during your 10 day free look period and we are happy you were able to receive a 100% refund.

    Response From:
    Squaremouth:
    Kelly Calkins
    Response Received:
    September 12, 2016

    Thank you for posting a review.

    A member of our Zero Complaint team contacted you to discuss this further.

    Please contact us at 800-240-0369 if you have any questions, we are happy to help.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful

Multi-Award Winning Customer Service

Squaremouth’s out-of-the-box approach to customer service was recognized internationally in 2017, earning a Gold Stevie Award for Customer Service Department of the Year. This was Squaremouth’s first international Stevie and fourth customer service award overall.

Read more

Customer Service is Everybody’s Job

“Customer service is not a department, and Squaremouth knows it. Every employee spends time on the phone with customers.” New York Times and Wall Street Journal best-selling author, Shep Hyken, explains four core components of Squaremouth’s exceptional customer service.

Read more

$1,000 tips shine a light on service

Squaremouth, a company that puts a focus on how to treat customers, rewards 20 who do the same.

BY KATHERINE SNOW SMITH
Times Staff Writer

See what happened

One of America’s Best Workplaces

Squaremouth is consistently recognized, both locally and nationally, as one of the best places to work. Fortune Magazine named Squaremouth one of America’s Best Small Workplaces and the No. 2 Best Workplace for Women in the nation.

Read more