HTH Travel Insurance
Overall Rating 4.4 out of 5
Overall Rating 4.4 out of 5 299 Reviews Since 2004

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Preferred
    Review Received:
    July 19, 2021
    Alison from KS Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Wonderful experience. Even when I messed up. Thank you

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Preferred
    Review Received:
    July 10, 2021
    David from NY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Provided all necessary coverage through their website. Thankfully didn't have to use three policy at all.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Preferred
    Review Received:
    July 5, 2021
    Gregory from NY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Excellent experience! Great product, fair price and excellent customer service!

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Preferred
    Review Received:
    June 1, 2021
    Oscar from NJ Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Getting traveler’s health insurance was so easy and made my trip so much better knowing I was covered in case something happened to me. Most definitely I will use it again.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    TravelGap Voyager excl US
    Review Received:
    May 20, 2021
    Joshua from NY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I needed changes to the letter in order to be cleared for travel. I called customer service around midnight the night before my early morning flight. They changed the letter without any trouble and could not have been easier to work with.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Economy
    Review Received:
    February 9, 2021
    Bridget from MN Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Due to covid our trip to Mexico was cancelled and our travel agent schedule new trip in USA. We changed our trip 2 weeks before we were suppose to leave. We then tried to change insurance to new trip but they would not change it. First we didn't hear any responds. Then we did there first step they asked us to do. 3 days later they have a list of stuff that they wanted us to do. My sister in law had a policy from HTH Travel which they changed right away without a problem. When I brought this to who ever I was talking attention HTH Travel said that was an error. So HTH Travel sent her an email 2 or 3 day later denying the coverage they had already approved. At this time they started asking her to do a list of stuff also. We had group of 16 people with 7 different policies HTH Travel was the only one that would not change to new destination without making us jump through hoops. Never again. I do have the emails they sent out to us. People there are not trust worthy, not very helpful with all of the covid changes. The true rating for HTH Travel is ZERO. Wasted 200 dollars. Thanks

    Was this review helpful to you?

    22 out of 23 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Classic
    Review Received:
    February 3, 2021
    MA from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I had a nightmare of a time trying to contact a person to give me the correct information on how to see a doctor whilst I was visiting Maui - I was literally handed off to 5 different people, on the phone for almost an hour and then had to try the following day. In between being told that I did not have coverage for my trip. Then I asked to extend the coverage - again I could not get an answer. I WILL NEVER USE THIS COMPANY again, and Squaremouth did nothing to help when I called them to complain about the company. I have been using Squaremouth as my insurance aggregator for at least 10 years and travel at least twice a year internationally for extended trips. This was my first time with HTH and I strongly recommend that Squaremouth do not represent them. They were completely useless and I worried the whole time that I was in fact not insured properly. I will never use them again, and unless you can give me some satisfaction, I will be going with a different aggregator for my insurance searches in the future.

    Review Updated: 03/03/2021

    I still have not come back to me with any communication whatsoever

    Was this review helpful to you?

    21 out of 22 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Economy
    Review Received:
    January 28, 2021
    Ted from NY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I travel a lot and most of my trip insurances have been purchased through SquareMouth: numerous providers, very good portal (I'm in IT, I know).
    This was the first time I purchased a policy from HTH and I am very well aware that there are tickets, hotel reservations, and a bunch of other things that are non-refundable, usually spelled out right upfront. This was the first time I've encountered when a trip policy was non-refundable. I am not arguing that it was not or it should not have been, but I looked over the policy again and I couldn't find such condition. However what upset me the most, was an explanation from a customer representative: "The state of NY does not offer a review period to cancel the plan once purchased." I understand that the seller sets the rules, caveat emptor, but don't make an ignoramus out of me, like I never cancelled a trip insurance. I showed an example of such cancellation that happened 2 weeks ago, several policies purchased through SquareMouth were cancelled only recently as well. Sticking to a rule is one thing, lying is completely different.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Preferred
    Review Received:
    April 16, 2020
    Carol from WA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Iceland Air said they would refund my ticket because they cancelled the flight, but that it would take 6-8 weeks. I am hoping they follow through, but for now, I'm closing this claim.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Classic
    Review Received:
    April 4, 2020
    Sandi from MO Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We were traveling in India during the COVID-19 outbreak and needed to know what our options were for arranging travel back to the US. The phone number provided for 24-hour assistance during our trip was routed to an agent who could not help us and actually gave us incorrect information. After questioning her, I was transferred to another agent who gave us helpful information. We intend to file a claim for reimbursement (our trip was cut short and we incurred expenses related to flying back to the US early.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful