HTH Travel Insurance
Overall Rating 4.34 out of 5
Overall Rating 4.34 out of 5 331 Reviews Since 2004

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Preferred
    Review Received:
    October 13, 2021
    Wesley from VA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Good product with good customer service that helped with COVID travel delay benefit explanations. Hopefully, the claims process will be as smooth.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Preferred
    Review Received:
    October 8, 2021
    Mark from MI Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Long wait time on the phone. I was disconnected. Then had to call back. When answered they transferred me to another line. Then waited again. Finially after 30 min. Hung up phone

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Classic
    Review Received:
    October 5, 2021
    Kerada21 from MD Verified Squaremouth Customer

    his review is specifically for HTH Insurance. I purchased a policy for $104 in April. I filed a claim August 12th and didn't hear back about the claim until October 4th when they told me it was denied. Almost 2 months later to hear back in unacceptable because while I was filing the claim, they stated a much shorter wait time. I filed a claim because during my trip, my flight home back was cancelled due to weather and I had to come out of pocket for an extra night in a hotel plus food and additional transportation. HTH denied the claim stating that it would not cover my unexpected expenses, but would cover pre-paid expenses? What is the point of paying all this money for "trip delay"/"trip interruption" if basic and common things like this are not covered? I am very disappointed and would never purchase this policy or recommend it to anyone, ever.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Preferred
    Review Received:
    October 2, 2021
    Lynn from GA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    HTH did a terrific job in handling our travel insurance. When we had to cancel because of Covid, they requested documentation that was easy to provide. They were extremely prompt in handling our claim.
    They were professional, pleasant and easy to work with. Based on our experience, I would definitely use them again.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Classic
    Review Received:
    October 2, 2021
    Martin from MA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We rebooked a tour from 2021 to 2022 because of fires and smoke in California and HTH transferred our trip insurance to the new date.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Preferred
    Review Received:
    September 30, 2021
    Ursula-Patricia from HI Verified Squaremouth Customer

    4 stars for the interaction with HTH because I was on hold for quite a while until a representative answered my call. the representative was very friendly, spoke clearly and was knowledgable and answered all my questions satisfactorily.

    5 stars for square mouth for answering my call quickly and providing me with clear and knowledgable answers.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Economy
    Review Received:
    September 28, 2021
    Patricia from VT Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I had to cancel my trip due to Covid restriction changes a month before leaving. I tried to cancel my insurance policy and they would not allow it. They did tell me that I could transfer the insurance to another trip but I had to prove that the other trip was already booked, and show airline reservations and hotel reservations. However the airlines and Airbnb would not allow scheduling further ahead than eight months and I needed to go in the fall, September 2022 specifically, which would have been 13 months from the date I canceled the original trip. Because I could not produce reservations for the trip, you would not credit me my policy premium for use on the later trip. I understood not refunding the premium because I had to cancel the trip due to Covid, barely, but I understood. What I didn’t understand was not being willing to move the insurance to September 2022 when I made it very clear, and it’s an easy thing to check online, that none of the airlines nor Airbnb were booking any further ahead than eight months. I was very disappointed to lose that $200 on top of my others losses from having to cancel my trip. I had to cancel because the countries I was going to visit instituted a quarantine of up to two weeks and I only had a two week vacation to begin with. Nobody flies to Europe to sit in a hotel room for two weeks. You should have allowed me some kind of voucher for this insurance policy that I could’ve used within the 18 months that did NOT require airline and hotel reservations that were simply impossible for me to produce. Thanks for listening, Patricia Crawford

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Preferred
    Review Received:
    September 25, 2021
    patricia from AK Verified Squaremouth Customer

    My trip was cancelled due to COVID in some countries the cruise was supposed to go through. I filed a claim for the cost of air transportation, as all other expenses were refunded.
    That was denied even though I had purchased a policy with COVID coverage. I appealed three weeks ago, but have heard nothing more. The initial claim examiner said COVID coverage did not cover COVID at the destination.
    I find the decision hard to understand. The trip was cancelled due to COVID. The cruise could not go. That was covered by the policy.
    At the current time I would not recommend this policy or company. I have forwarded the emails concerning this to AHI, who handles Smithsonian cruises and to a travel writer for the local Anchorage newspaper.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Preferred
    Review Received:
    September 21, 2021
    Clem from IA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I called the phone number provided to me and was transferred four times then hung up on. I called back and was give a phone number to call that is out of service. I’m not happy with the customer service at all…

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    TripProtector Preferred
    Review Received:
    September 19, 2021
    Yvonne from FL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    everything was dealt with through web site, did not inter act with anyone.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful