WorldTrips
Overall Rating 4.32 out of 5
Overall Rating 4.32 out of 5 221 Reviews Since 2008

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Atlas International excl US
    Review Received:
    December 14, 2017
    Haroon from Afghanistan Verified Squaremouth Customer

    The service was excellent. The help was also superb.
    Thank you

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Atlas International excl US
    Review Received:
    September 27, 2017
    Sonja from NC Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I ordered my insurance through you with a company called world nomads. When I received my policy, it did not have their name on it. I called Squaremouth to ask why, and they told me they contracted out the medical portion of the policy with this other company. When I had to make a claim, I called World Nomad, and they said the information I was given is false, and that you are illegally using their name, and have no affiliation with them!

    Was this review helpful to you?

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Atlas International excl US
    Review Received:
    June 19, 2017
    Eva from TX Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I forgot to put a beneficiary initially and sent in a request to add one. This was done quickly and efficiently letting us relax and enjoy our vacation knowing that things would be handled if needed.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Atlas International excl US
    Review Received:
    August 26, 2016
    Alison from MA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I considered filing a fraud complaint with the state's attorney general, because these people make it virtually IMPOSSIBLE to file a claim. I needed emergency eye surgery while in Paris. HCC's emergency phone line is answered by a bank, to whom they outsource service. It took multiple international calls to get to the right person who, to be fair, did the pre-authorization quickly. To submit the claim, first I had to print out paperwork (finding a printer while in Paris.. very difficult). To file a claim for the follow-up visits, I had to print out, photocopy and mail over 12 pages of paper from Paris to the U.S. When after 3 months I had heard no reply, I made a couple more international phone calls to learn that they had lost the paperwork and it all had to be re-submitted. (I had to call Squaremouth to find a number; there is no way to reach a live human using the numbers on their website. Squaremouth, happily, provided quick and friendly service.)

    I took photos of all the paperwork, condensed the files because there were so many and emailed them all per instructions to HCC, but they rejected that set for being jpeg format and not pdf format. This was not mentioned on their website, nor did the person I talked to say a word about document format. I had to file the second set of paperwork FOUR MORE TIMES before they were satisfied, including sending one form their own instructions said to not send. This was over a month ago. I have received a check for part of the claim, but I also got an email from them a few days ago saying they were starting to process the claim. Infuriating, and incompetent to a point where I wonder if the obstacles were put in place to discourage the filing of claims.

    I would really like to speak to the insurance regulators in their home state to blow the whistle on these people. Their service is so bad, it rates as fraudulent as far as I'm concerned.

    Response From:
    Squaremouth:
    Kelly Calkins
    Response Received:
    August 26, 2016

    Thank you for posting a review.

    We apologize for your negative experience.

    A member of our Zero Complaint team contacted you to discuss your claim further.

    Please contact us at 800-240-0369 if you have any questions, we are happy to help.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    20 out of 20 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Atlas International excl US
    Review Received:
    August 7, 2016
    Lynken from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Many rules regarding pre-certification and many things not covered. Also paperwork is burdensome. I haven't filed a claim yet so my current review may not be accurate.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Atlas International excl US
    Review Received:
    July 28, 2016
    Natasha from MO Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I didn't quite like this insurance policy because I emailed someone regarding how I should visit an optometrist and how to file a claim, but no one responded. I paid for insurance that wasn't easy to use. This is why I am not renewing.

    Response From:
    Squaremouth:
    Kelly Calkins
    Response Received:
    July 28, 2016

    Thank you for posting a review.

    We apologize for your negative experience.

    A member of our Zero Complaint team contacted you with information on how to file a claim.

    Please contact us at 800-240-0369 if you have any questions, we are happy to help.

    Thank you.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Atlas International excl US
    Review Received:
    June 1, 2016
    Joan from CT Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I did not file a claim with this insurance company. I only purchased this insurance for primary medical coverage and evacuation purposes. Because my insurance carrier does not cover out of the USA medical costs, I wanted to make sure I had coverage in case the unforeseen emergency happened while traveling. It is also important to think of getting evacuation coverage in case you are traveling to third world countries where adequate medical services may not be available, and you need to be transported to another location. Through Squaremouth I was glad to find coverage which provided for both these needs.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Atlas International excl US
    Review Received:
    May 19, 2016
    Douglas from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    After I purchased the policy, there was a disclaimer about payments to residents of California. This was not indicated AT ALL in the policy description prior to purchase. I had to call customer service and the person explained that if the underwriter went bankrupt, HCC would not be liable to pay claims in CA. An unlikely event, but something that should have been disclosed in the description of the policy. I would have probably purchased a different policy had I known.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Atlas America incl US
    Review Received:
    April 4, 2016
    WANHUA from China Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We purchased the policy in last Sept. There was an accident occurred shortly after so we called HCC for pre-approval. The staff on-call adviced us to go to a nearby in-network provider, and informed us policy should cover. However, the staff failed to reveal important details: accident occurred too soon may be declined, otherwise we as a customer would try avoid X-ray-s if possible.

    Today after trip ended, we called the HCC and they told us they decline this because accident happened too soon since purchase the policy. The customer support (Jeff) just simply stressed the point that "accident happened too soon," without showing any sympathy that we could have avoided this if HCC informed us up-front at our pre-approval stage.

    This is not responsible for customer if pre-approval department and claim handling department do not talk to each other: one keeps making promises, the other rejects afterwards.

    And I searched this HCC through Squaremouth. I think I did another provider last year through Squaremouth and experience was good. It is unfortunate that Squaremouth disappoint us this time.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    57 out of 57 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Atlas International excl US
    Review Received:
    February 24, 2016
    Matthew from TX Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Mexican hospital would not accept direct-bill and had never heard of HCC, despite being listed as a direct-bill hospital. HCC has not paid claim almost 3 months after the date of service, when all docs were submitted within a week of service. HCC has indicated that they will not pay emergency claim. I would not recommend this company.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    25 out of 26 people found this review helpful