Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection
Overall Rating 4.35 Out of 5
Overall Rating 4.35 Out of 5
239 Reviews Since 2016

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    June 17, 2020
    Megan from OH Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I didn't have to call once purchased, but prior to purchasing I spoke with a representative who was clear, concise, professional and friendly.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    June 15, 2020
    Michael from NY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Cruise and air flights were cancelled by carriers so trip never occurred. Berkshire Hathaway provides me with full credit for future trip insurance within two years. I consider that to be very equitable. I’ll definitely use BH for future trips.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    June 8, 2020
    Duncan from MI Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I didn’t make a claim, BUT rescheduled my trip AND the insurance

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    June 8, 2020
    Gerri from FL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    My trip was cancelled due to Covid-19. I am very dissatisfied that the travel insurance companies due not cover this. I am aware that none of them do, but one of the reasons that we buy travel insurance is to cover losses from trip cancellations. None of us could have seen this coming and what it would do to our travel plans.

    Some of our expenses were refunded but no all. It would be nice if the policy covered the cancellation fees, and deposits that the providers would not refund.

    I will say the Berkshire Hathaway representative was very nice and said that they would give us a credit of this travel policy toward a new one. Hopefully we will be able to use it.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    April 11, 2020
    leslie from MI Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I have had better purchasing experiences on travel insurance with other companies. I never had any feedback or emails directly from Squaremouth which was unlike other 3rd party insurance providers. I never really felt that Squaremouth was going to be there for me as a customer. BHT customer service was not that friendly of helpful and I am talking way before the Covid-19 pandemic was even known. When I added to my policy along with the way with additional payments for our vacation rental I thought the customer service reps were aloof and as if it was a bother. I cringed over the fact that if I did not have to make a claim that it would be a big issue. If they can't even be friendly or helpful when I am paying them money than I can't imagine they would be civil if I had to make a claim.

    During our trip which was in Feb and March of this year we did run into issues with the pandemic. We were in Key West in March and was forced out of vacation rental by a county directive that cancelled all vacation rentals and hotel stay and forced everyone to leave by Mar. 22. Our provider did not provide any reimbursements of the remaining time and we thought that we would be able to collect something from the travel insurance. We soon learned that would not happen at it had to be a "named peril" in order to collect. Of course a pandemic or a governmental order was not a named peril so we could not collect. My review is not based on this issue though disappointing. I now have a better understanding of travel insurance and not sure that large amount of money we pay is really worth it considering how few events are actually covered.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare Value
    Review Received:
    April 10, 2020
    Ann from MT Verified Squaremouth Customer

    My contact with Berkshire Hathaway customer service was in mid March in an effort to receive some compensation for changing airline flights because of the Covid-19 outbreak. In spite of Embassy alerts advising travelers not to travel to certain areas, and travel alerts prohibiting entry of US citizens to the country where travel was to depart from, I was advised that CoVid -19 was not part of the policy coverage. Upon return home, I started a claim, but it was very clear on the claim form itself that there is no coverage if the claim is related to re-routing travel as a result of CoVid-19. If either of us had been hospitalized or treated by a physician and our travel was delayed, I believe coverage would have been available. In addition, the policy states that claims need to be made within 72 hours, and all receipts and travel credits need to be submitted as supporting documentation. I started cancelling and re-routing flights in mid-March and am still waiting for airline credits or refunds.

    I cannot specifically say that this is unique to Berkshire Hathaway Insurance with a basic policy. But it certainty seems that a pandemic would fit into travel re-routing the same as terrorism, etc. When I purchased the policy in September 2019, who had even heard of CoVid - 19?

    Was this review helpful to you?

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    April 7, 2020
    John from FL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    As always, Squaremouth walked me through some of the finer points. Thank you.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    April 5, 2020
    Patricia from FL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Due to the Coronavirus and we are both 66 years old we cancelled our 11 day cruise 9 days before departure.
    We were refunded our premium payment in full in a timely fashion.

    We are extremely happy with your service.
    Thank you.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    April 2, 2020
    Robert from AZ Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Trip canceled week before itinerary started. Unable to cancel the policy that covered only medical evacuation and get a refund for a trip that never happened. If I insure a car, and I sell it before the policy period expires, I get a refund for the unused service period. Discouraging that BH does not offer the same courtesy.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    April 1, 2020
    Gretchen from OR Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We spent $3500 on insurance with a name and company (Berkshire Hathaway) we trusted, only to be denied assistance when we asked for it. You asked if we filed a claim, we were ready to, but when we called them, the first thing their recorded message said was they did not honor claims pertaining to the Corona Virus.
    What the heck is insurance for? I did NOT read the umpteen pages of boilerplate that came with the policy. I did NOT expect them to honor a claim if I got a cold on board.
    But having to change flights and everything else concerned with our shortened trip - well - I expected better. The very nature of insurance is a firm taking a bet that I won't need their help. Me - in case I might - I'm willing to pay them to cover that contingency, should it arise.
    I certainly don't fault Squaremouth -- but there is something inherently wrong with an industry that accepts payment for a service, and then denies that service

    Was this review helpful to you?

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful

Multi-Award Winning Customer Service Team

Squaremouth’s outside-the-box approach to customer service has been recognized nationally and internationally, with 13 awards in 5 years. Customer service is part of everybody’s job at Squaremouth. Every employee spends time on the phone with customers each week.

Read more

$30,000 Contest Encourages Reading Policy Documents

To highlight the importance of reading policy documents from start to finish, Squaremouth awarded one customer $10,000 in a secret contest for being the first to read hers. Then, we gave another $10,000 to a children’s literacy charity and $5,000 each to two schools.

Read more

$1,000 Tips Shine a Light on Service

Squaremouth, a company that puts a focus on customer service, rewards 20 outstanding customer service providers in St. Petersburg, Florida with $1,000 cash tips. Then, one received an additional $10,000 as the Thank You Campaign’s grand prize winner.

Read more

One of America’s Best and Fastest-Growing Companies

Squaremouth is consistently awarded for its unique company culture and steady revenue growth. This includes national recognition from Inc. Magazine, Fortune, and Entrepreneur, and local recognition from the Tampa Bay Business Journal and Florida Trend.

Read more