Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection
Overall Rating 4.3 out of 5
Overall Rating 4.3 out of 5 621 Reviews Since 2016

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    September 14, 2017
    Edith from NC Verified Squaremouth Customer

    As a writer I travel a lot, the benefit of being able to take your work with you. I've always purchased travel insurance, but never had to use it until recently. A canceled flight left me footing the expenses for cabs and a hotel, meals and such. I wondered whether I would actually get my money back.
    Well let me tell you I will now seek out using Berkshire Hathaway for as many of my travel needs as they provide! The claim form was easy, with multiple ways of submitting it, the information I was asked to provide wasn't at all unreasonable and, get this, I submitted my information in the morning and by that same afternoon I'd received an email letting me know that the entire thing was approved! No haggling, no questioning, no doubtful phone calls from customer service reps asking me to recount my story. The check arrived within 2 weeks. I am so happy, they put a smile on my face after what was quite an ordeal at the end of my trip. I would do a commercial for this company:) Couldn't recommend them more highly!

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    August 2, 2017
    matias from WA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    The claim process was smooth. And quick refund. Calling for medical advice when need was subpar; took too long wait on the phone and I was sent to a clinic where my kid could not be seen.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    July 25, 2017
    Yuki from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    i haven't filed a claim yet so don't have exoerience yet

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    July 13, 2017
    Marvin from AZ Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Very satisfied

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    June 30, 2017
    Deb from MD Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I have had medical claims before but was never asked for the amount of information being requested by Berkshire Hathaway. My departing air boarding pass from a month long trip -- really? A month later? Much more medical info than my primary medical insurance calls for.
    This policy was a more expensive policy because it seemed to have better coverage. I doubt I would buy BH again.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    35 out of 37 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    June 28, 2017
    Robert from WA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We had 2 visits to hospitals in India, the second one overnight. For the first one, BHTP paid directly as I called and got a hospital name from them. That went very smoothly. The second one, we basically got off the plane in Mumbai and went straight to a hospital without calling BHTP. When I filed the claim the paid everything.

    Due to the seriousness of the illness of my wife we cut the vacation short and flew home on the next available plane. As we had booked 90% of our flights as business class, we took business class on that flight. Again, BHTP paid in full.

    After having our Travel Organizer and the Flight Organizers itemize the skipped tours and flights, BHTP paid everything in full.

    I filed on a Saturday and on Monday evening BHTP sent an email to inform us that they were paying!

    Was this review helpful to you?

    117 out of 117 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    June 18, 2017
    Tom from SC Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I needed to make a change to the date of return. It was not an easy process.

    I had to call both companies for something that was in my opinion very simple but It was an administrative challenge and required me to make the call to both 800 numbers and took quite a while

    Was this review helpful to you?

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    May 22, 2017
    Charles from NJ Verified Squaremouth Customer

    great experience...will be doing business with you again in the future

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    May 19, 2017
    S from FL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We had an unusual situation. Our tour was cancelled, due to the travel ban to Iran. Before the U.S. Court stayed the ban, Iran retaliated with the same ban against U.S. citizens visiting its country. We contacted BH to see if we could claim in a portion of the airfare change fee, and we were told that our claim would be denied. Yes, it was an unusual situation. BH didn't regard the situation to be pertinent to its lists of guidelines. So, we lost on both the insurance premiums and the airfare change/cancellation fee.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    128 out of 129 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    May 17, 2017
    Patricia K from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Very impressed! Claim settled in one day!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful