Detour Insurance
Overall Rating 4.55 out of 5
Overall Rating 4.55 out of 5 84 Reviews Since November 2023

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    @the edge
    Review Received:
    May 17, 2024
    Karen from NJ Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Everything was fast & easy in addition to being low cost. Will definitely purchase from them again.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    @the edge plus
    Review Received:
    May 16, 2024
    ella from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Hi, I was trying to file a claim for the lost backpack. When I tried to access claim form on-line, I couldn't file a claim without a police report, So I sent an email a week ago, explaining my situation. I haven't heard a word back.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    @the edge plus
    Review Received:
    May 13, 2024
    Linda from WA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Kind and courteous.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    @the edge
    Review Received:
    May 12, 2024
    Deborah from NY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I find it very helpful to be able to speak with an agent and find the best travel insurance for the trip. I did unfortunately have a trip interuption and need to file a claim due to the airlines. Although I had to file a lot of paperwork to get the claim, I found the reimbursement was adequate.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    @the edge plus
    Review Received:
    May 4, 2024
    Julie from KS Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We had to cancel our trip due to a back injury my husband sustained the week before our departure. I have filed the claim and am awaiting information.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    @the edge plus
    Review Received:
    May 3, 2024
    George from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    My trip was cancelled due to a health issue. I am still gathering information for that claim.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    @the edge plus
    Review Received:
    May 3, 2024
    Pamela from VA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    My husband had a medical emergency in Rome requiring hospitilization. We opened a claim with On Call International, the contractor designated with our insurance, The private hospital, Rome American recommended by On Call International, did not have an ER, so we ended up at a public one where he spent 4 1/2 days being treated in an ER ward with Spartan accomodations. No one spoke English, the staff were dismissive and the medical treatment, though appropriate, was administered with alarmingly poor skills and dismissiveness.. I was able to visit 45 minutes each day, no possibility to call to check on his status, relying on our cell phones. I asked On Call, with whom I spoken daily rarely with the same caseworker, to arrange transfer to a private hospital which they said, after deliberation, they would seek. I had taken On Call's advice at every turn and all agents except the last, were kind and seemed clear on the process. My husband improved and was due to be discharged on day 5 .
    I had managed to fill out all required paperwork for On Call, except the medical forms which the hospital needed to provide at discharge. They are in English ; the 12 page discharge papers containing all tests, treatments and notes were in Italian, including a statement from the physician
    indicating that my husband was not contagious and able to fly home to the USA. The night before his discharge I spoke with On Call agent John who told me they could not accept those papers; they could not accept the doctors recommendation so I would need to send him photographs of the papers, he would have them translated and then their medical team would review and make a determination. This would potentially require us to stay in Rome several more days. Out of frustration I closed the case. Nowhere in the policy did I find these terms articulated. This lack of disclosure and the failure of the various caseworkers I contacted to explain this potential snag make for inexcusably poor practice.I should have been told that a medical board would rule on the clear to fly component, that they would not accept the word of the doctor in our circumstances. I was informed that the local contacts On Call retained were trying to communicate (in fact someone had spoken with my husband's doctor at the public hospital) but they were having difficulty getting information and communicating with Rome America. This became my/our problem it seemed. We flew home late, have no intention of filing a claim for medical expenses, but fully intend to file for trip interruption expenses. Having already sent an email when he was admitted to the requesting a 5 day extension due to an emergency medical situation, there was only an automatic response saying I may not receive a reply confirmation for 5 business days. Long past that now.
    I will never go to this company again. With an umbrella of Nationwide I anticipated a better experience.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    @the edge
    Review Received:
    May 2, 2024
    Josephine from CO Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Overall, good experience. Good price. On return, I called asking if my prescription sunglasses, that I lost on my trip, would be covered by insurance. No coverage. Disappointed. Otherwise had no problems.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    @the edge
    Review Received:
    April 30, 2024
    John from OR Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Incredible price, almost too good to be true.
    However, they covered everything I claimed, including airfare that had to be cancelled for credits.

    I hope I can find this policy again for my next trip.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    @the edge
    Review Received:
    April 29, 2024
    Jamie from IL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Great attention to my request and reasonable premiums.

    Response From:
    Detour Insurance
    Detour Insurance:
    Detour
    Response Received:
    April 29, 2024

    Dear Jamie,
    We are always happy to assist. Thanks for taking time to share your positive experience.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful