Generali Global Assistance
Overall Rating 4.41 Out of 5
Overall Rating 4.41 Out of 5
3,349 Reviews Since 2004

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Premium
    Review Received:
    November 16, 2020
    James from IN Verified Squaremouth Customer

    The cruise line cancelled our cruise and gave us a full refund. We asked Generali to refund our premium because we would not be going on the cruise. Initially, Generali would only offer to keep our premium for a future cruise. They put time restrictions on this offer. We asked them how they knew we would be able to cruise in their arbitrary time period. Next thing we knew they agreed with us, cancelled the policy and refunded our entire premium.
    We would use them again should we ever be able to travel again.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Standard
    Review Received:
    July 27, 2020
    Kenneth from FL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER, COULD NOT GET THROUGH ON PHONE.

    Response From:
    Generali Global Assistance
    Generali Global Assistance:
    Generali
    Response Received:
    July 29, 2020

    We're sorry to hear about the circumstances surrounding your experience, and for not meeting your expectations. We appreciate your feedback as our goal is to provide smooth and seamless transactions for all of our customers while we continue to experience increased call volumes. We are having a customer service supervisor contact you in order to provide you further assistance.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Standard
    Review Received:
    June 18, 2020
    Russell Rienecker from WA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Trip cancelled by Seabourne. Been waiting a couple months for promised full refund. It's nearly $13,000. and getting very impatient.

    Response From:
    Generali Global Assistance
    Generali Global Assistance:
    Generali
    Response Received:
    June 24, 2020

    We're sorry to hear you had to reschedule your trip. Our records show that you qualified for our voucher program and that you have applied it to your new travel dates in 2021. Should you have additional questions or need further assistance please contact (800) 348-9505 or csa@csatravelprotection.com.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Standard
    Review Received:
    June 18, 2020
    Jack from TX Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I was originally seeking a cash payment of $78.00 for reimbursement of my cancelled round trip air flight of ANA from USA to Philippines. In addition, reimbursement of cancelled reservation of my stay within a hotel in Manila. I received instead a voucher that was due to expire on December 31, 2020. My voucher received now will be extended until May 31, 2020 which gives me a better opportunity for me to use this voucher.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Standard
    Review Received:
    June 18, 2020
    Diana from FL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I did send 2 comments/questions through their website that were not answered. A week, or so, later, I received a letter through e-mail from the company. It stated they had been working with travelers who had February, March, & April departures. Since I wasn't due to leave until May, I waited for their next communication. That came a couple of weeks later and offered me the opportunity to use my coverage for a future trip (that must be scheduled by 12/2020 but needn't be taken until 2022.) I felt this was a generous accommodation to the horrible situation.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Preferred
    Review Received:
    June 17, 2020
    Richard from MD Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Our Galapagos Islands cruise was cancelled by the cruise line more than a month before scheduled departure due to the pandemic. I contacted Generali Global to request a partial refund since the medical coverage of the policy would never be activated. I sent an initial request via email and waited several weeks without receiving a response. I then sent a follow-up email and received a text response after a few days stating that I could apply for a voucher that had to be used for a vacation booked before the end of 2020. I received the voucher but depending on vaccine development timing that may not be possible since we would not be able to travel as we are both in a higher risk category so it is very likely we could not recover our premium. I don't feel that Generali Global provided an acceptable solution .

    Response From:
    Generali Global Assistance
    Generali Global Assistance:
    Generali
    Response Received:
    June 24, 2020

    We're sorry to hear about the circumstances surrounding your experience, and for not meeting your expectations. Letting us know how we are doing is the best way to ensure the best possible service to all of our customers. A dedicated team member will be reaching out to you very soon in order to better assist you.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Preferred
    Review Received:
    June 17, 2020
    Jerry from WA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We did not travel because of COVID 19 cancellations. I did get a voucher back for use on a future trip but just an e-mail note with a value, not a formal statement or number to use later. We hope it is sufficient.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Preferred
    Review Received:
    June 17, 2020
    Julie from WA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We tried to contact Squaremouth immediately when Europe began to close the borders and all travel was banned. We called several times and were unable to get anyone to answer. We went to their website and emailed them. Still no response.
    When we purchased from them , they assured us their service was excellent.
    Our entire trip was canceled and we still have not had any response. I am requesting a refund of their insurance premium. We stopped payment on our credit card for the trip after not being able to get any response.

    Response From:
    Generali Global Assistance
    Generali Global Assistance:
    Generali
    Response Received:
    June 24, 2020

    We're sorry to hear about the circumstances surrounding your experience, and for not meeting your expectations. Letting us know how we are doing is the best way to ensure the best possible service to all of our customers. A dedicated team member will be reaching out to you very soon in order to better assist you.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Preferred
    Review Received:
    June 17, 2020
    Charles from PA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    The denial of coverage by Generali is an insult and is being appealed. We have coverage for quarntine but they failed to honor our policy when the providers went into lock down due to Covid.. We were able to obtain refunds for most of our trip from the providers on our own, but the portion we had to prepay for guides and accommodations in Slovenia has not been covered. I am very disappointed in this insurer and would not use them again.

    Response From:
    Generali Global Assistance
    Generali Global Assistance:
    Generali
    Response Received:
    June 17, 2020

    We’re sorry the coverage didn’t meet your expectation. As stated in our policy documents, our plans only reimburse for non-refundable, pre-paid trip costs if you need to cancel your trip for a covered reason. Generali Global Assistance plans do not offer coverage if you cancel your trip due to fear of traveling due to Coronavirus, unless you added Trip Cancellation for Any Reason coverage. It is important that you review your Description of Coverage, which are available before and after your purchase. We take the claims process very seriously and want our customers to make informed choices when purchasing travel insurance.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Standard
    Review Received:
    June 15, 2020
    SR from CO Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Terrible interactions for the entire claim process which was cumbersome with no individualized review but just blanket statement about Covid & non coverage which was not the case for our claim.

    Response From:
    Generali Global Assistance
    Generali Global Assistance:
    Generali
    Response Received:
    June 16, 2020

    We’re sorry the coverage didn’t meet your expectation. As stated in our policy documents, our plans only reimburse for non-refundable, pre-paid trip costs if you need to cancel your trip for a covered reason. Generali Global Assistance plans do not offer coverage if you cancel your trip due to fear of traveling due to Coronavirus, unless you added Trip Cancellation for Any Reason coverage. It is important that you review your Description of Coverage, which are available before and after your purchase. We take the claims process very seriously and want our customers to make informed choices when purchasing travel insurance.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

Multi-Award Winning Customer Service Team

Squaremouth’s outside-the-box approach to customer service has been recognized nationally and internationally, with 16 awards in 6 years. Customer service is part of everybody’s job at Squaremouth. Every employee spends time on the phone with customers each week.

Read more

$30,000 Contest Encourages Reading Policy Documents

To highlight the importance of reading policy documents from start to finish, Squaremouth awarded one customer $10,000 in a secret contest for being the first to read hers. Then, we gave another $10,000 to a children’s literacy charity and $5,000 each to two schools.

Read more

$1,000 Tips Shine a Light on Service

Squaremouth, a company that puts a focus on customer service, rewards 20 outstanding customer service providers in St. Petersburg, Florida with $1,000 cash tips. Then, one received an additional $10,000 as the Thank You Campaign’s grand prize winner.

Read more

One of America’s Best and Fastest-Growing Companies

Squaremouth is consistently awarded for its unique company culture and steady revenue growth. This includes national recognition from Inc. Magazine, Fortune, and Entrepreneur, and local recognition from the Tampa Bay Business Journal and Florida Trend.

Read more