Generali Global Assistance
Overall Rating 4.41 Out of 5
Overall Rating 4.41 Out of 5
3,345 Reviews Since 2004

  • Overall Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Standard
    Review Received:
    June 18, 2020
    Russell Rienecker from WA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Trip cancelled by Seabourne. Been waiting a couple months for promised full refund. It's nearly $13,000. and getting very impatient.

    Response From:
    Generali Global Assistance
    Generali Global Assistance:
    Generali
    Response Received:
    June 24, 2020

    We're sorry to hear you had to reschedule your trip. Our records show that you qualified for our voucher program and that you have applied it to your new travel dates in 2021. Should you have additional questions or need further assistance please contact (800) 348-9505 or csa@csatravelprotection.com.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Standard
    Review Received:
    June 18, 2020
    Diana from FL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I did send 2 comments/questions through their website that were not answered. A week, or so, later, I received a letter through e-mail from the company. It stated they had been working with travelers who had February, March, & April departures. Since I wasn't due to leave until May, I waited for their next communication. That came a couple of weeks later and offered me the opportunity to use my coverage for a future trip (that must be scheduled by 12/2020 but needn't be taken until 2022.) I felt this was a generous accommodation to the horrible situation.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Preferred
    Review Received:
    June 17, 2020
    Richard from MD Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Our Galapagos Islands cruise was cancelled by the cruise line more than a month before scheduled departure due to the pandemic. I contacted Generali Global to request a partial refund since the medical coverage of the policy would never be activated. I sent an initial request via email and waited several weeks without receiving a response. I then sent a follow-up email and received a text response after a few days stating that I could apply for a voucher that had to be used for a vacation booked before the end of 2020. I received the voucher but depending on vaccine development timing that may not be possible since we would not be able to travel as we are both in a higher risk category so it is very likely we could not recover our premium. I don't feel that Generali Global provided an acceptable solution .

    Response From:
    Generali Global Assistance
    Generali Global Assistance:
    Generali
    Response Received:
    June 24, 2020

    We're sorry to hear about the circumstances surrounding your experience, and for not meeting your expectations. Letting us know how we are doing is the best way to ensure the best possible service to all of our customers. A dedicated team member will be reaching out to you very soon in order to better assist you.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Preferred
    Review Received:
    June 17, 2020
    Jerry from WA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We did not travel because of COVID 19 cancellations. I did get a voucher back for use on a future trip but just an e-mail note with a value, not a formal statement or number to use later. We hope it is sufficient.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Preferred
    Review Received:
    June 17, 2020
    Julie from WA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We tried to contact Squaremouth immediately when Europe began to close the borders and all travel was banned. We called several times and were unable to get anyone to answer. We went to their website and emailed them. Still no response.
    When we purchased from them , they assured us their service was excellent.
    Our entire trip was canceled and we still have not had any response. I am requesting a refund of their insurance premium. We stopped payment on our credit card for the trip after not being able to get any response.

    Response From:
    Generali Global Assistance
    Generali Global Assistance:
    Generali
    Response Received:
    June 24, 2020

    We're sorry to hear about the circumstances surrounding your experience, and for not meeting your expectations. Letting us know how we are doing is the best way to ensure the best possible service to all of our customers. A dedicated team member will be reaching out to you very soon in order to better assist you.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Preferred
    Review Received:
    June 17, 2020
    Charles from PA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    The denial of coverage by Generali is an insult and is being appealed. We have coverage for quarntine but they failed to honor our policy when the providers went into lock down due to Covid.. We were able to obtain refunds for most of our trip from the providers on our own, but the portion we had to prepay for guides and accommodations in Slovenia has not been covered. I am very disappointed in this insurer and would not use them again.

    Response From:
    Generali Global Assistance
    Generali Global Assistance:
    Generali
    Response Received:
    June 17, 2020

    We’re sorry the coverage didn’t meet your expectation. As stated in our policy documents, our plans only reimburse for non-refundable, pre-paid trip costs if you need to cancel your trip for a covered reason. Generali Global Assistance plans do not offer coverage if you cancel your trip due to fear of traveling due to Coronavirus, unless you added Trip Cancellation for Any Reason coverage. It is important that you review your Description of Coverage, which are available before and after your purchase. We take the claims process very seriously and want our customers to make informed choices when purchasing travel insurance.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Standard
    Review Received:
    June 15, 2020
    SR from CO Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Terrible interactions for the entire claim process which was cumbersome with no individualized review but just blanket statement about Covid & non coverage which was not the case for our claim.

    Response From:
    Generali Global Assistance
    Generali Global Assistance:
    Generali
    Response Received:
    June 16, 2020

    We’re sorry the coverage didn’t meet your expectation. As stated in our policy documents, our plans only reimburse for non-refundable, pre-paid trip costs if you need to cancel your trip for a covered reason. Generali Global Assistance plans do not offer coverage if you cancel your trip due to fear of traveling due to Coronavirus, unless you added Trip Cancellation for Any Reason coverage. It is important that you review your Description of Coverage, which are available before and after your purchase. We take the claims process very seriously and want our customers to make informed choices when purchasing travel insurance.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Preferred
    Review Received:
    June 13, 2020
    MARY from SC Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I am very disappointed in Squaremouth as well as Generali. Our trip was cancelled by Holland America and Generali would not return the money we paid for the insurance. They offered a voucher that had to be used on a trip I reserved by 12/31/2020 and traveled by 12/31/2021. My husband is not able to travel at this time so this was not acceptable. I emailed and tried to call Generali several times and was never able to speak with someone. I received the standard email response every time I tried to correspond with them.

    I called Squaremouth, their recommendation was that I send another email to Generali stating that we are no longer able to travel. I did that and have not heard from them.

    The couple we were traveling with went through Squaremouth and were sold a policy with I travel. They received a full refund several weeks ago!! Why were we sold a policy with such different standards?

    I will be very hesitant to use Squaremouth in the future and will certainly not use Generali!!

    Review Updated: 07/11/2020

    I received a full refund for a policy I no longer needed because our cruise was cancelled

    Response From:
    Generali Global Assistance
    Generali Global Assistance:
    Generali
    Response Received:
    June 16, 2020

    We're sorry to hear about the circumstances surrounding your experience, and for not meeting your expectations. Our goal is to provide a smooth and seamless experience for all of our customers. We're working hard at following up on call backs and email response requests, but unfortunately we have been experiencing a higher than normal volume as a result of the Coronavirus escalation. Your information has been forwarded to a dedicated team member that will be reaching out to you soon to further assist you. Thank you for your continued patience.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Preferred
    Review Received:
    June 11, 2020
    Joseph from WA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    When we purchased our policy it was my understanding from you that the policy would cover anything that was unkown at the time of purchase. Covid-19 existed, but travel was ongoing and Spain was open for travel. You know the story....Spain, USA went into quarantine, we in Washington went into restrictions, etc
    NON of this was known at the time of policy purchase. We filed a claim, and of course it was rejected. I have copied the response for your review.
    This is an example of how the insurance world manipulates the facts to their advantage and avoids their obvious responsibility and we lost $8000 plus the price of the policy. Feel free to contact me or help in getting this legitimate claim paid.
    Thank you. Your service was good, but it appears your explanation of coverage was quite lacking.
    JEE

    If you provide me an email I can forward you the denial letter.

    Response From:
    Generali Global Assistance
    Generali Global Assistance:
    Generali
    Response Received:
    June 12, 2020

    We’re sorry the coverage didn’t meet your expectation. As stated in our policy documents, our plans only reimburse for non-refundable, pre-paid trip costs if you need to cancel your trip for a covered reason. Generali Global Assistance plans do not offer coverage if you cancel your trip due to fear of traveling due to Coronavirus, unless you added Trip Cancellation for Any Reason coverage. It is important that you review your Description of Coverage, which are available before and after your purchase. We take the claims process very seriously and want our customers to make informed choices when purchasing travel insurance.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Standard
    Review Received:
    June 11, 2020
    DAVID from DE Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I am just waiting for Holland America to formally refund our fares and will then file a claim for a refund.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

Multi-Award Winning Customer Service Team

Squaremouth’s outside-the-box approach to customer service has been recognized nationally and internationally, with 13 awards in 5 years. Customer service is part of everybody’s job at Squaremouth. Every employee spends time on the phone with customers each week.

Read more

$30,000 Contest Encourages Reading Policy Documents

To highlight the importance of reading policy documents from start to finish, Squaremouth awarded one customer $10,000 in a secret contest for being the first to read hers. Then, we gave another $10,000 to a children’s literacy charity and $5,000 each to two schools.

Read more

$1,000 Tips Shine a Light on Service

Squaremouth, a company that puts a focus on customer service, rewards 20 outstanding customer service providers in St. Petersburg, Florida with $1,000 cash tips. Then, one received an additional $10,000 as the Thank You Campaign’s grand prize winner.

Read more

One of America’s Best and Fastest-Growing Companies

Squaremouth is consistently awarded for its unique company culture and steady revenue growth. This includes national recognition from Inc. Magazine, Fortune, and Entrepreneur, and local recognition from the Tampa Bay Business Journal and Florida Trend.

Read more