Generali Global Assistance
Overall Rating 4.41 Out of 5
Overall Rating 4.41 Out of 5
3,348 Reviews Since 2004

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Preferred
    Review Received:
    June 11, 2020
    Joseph from WA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    When we purchased our policy it was my understanding from you that the policy would cover anything that was unkown at the time of purchase. Covid-19 existed, but travel was ongoing and Spain was open for travel. You know the story....Spain, USA went into quarantine, we in Washington went into restrictions, etc
    NON of this was known at the time of policy purchase. We filed a claim, and of course it was rejected. I have copied the response for your review.
    This is an example of how the insurance world manipulates the facts to their advantage and avoids their obvious responsibility and we lost $8000 plus the price of the policy. Feel free to contact me or help in getting this legitimate claim paid.
    Thank you. Your service was good, but it appears your explanation of coverage was quite lacking.
    JEE

    If you provide me an email I can forward you the denial letter.

    Response From:
    Generali Global Assistance
    Generali Global Assistance:
    Generali
    Response Received:
    June 12, 2020

    We’re sorry the coverage didn’t meet your expectation. As stated in our policy documents, our plans only reimburse for non-refundable, pre-paid trip costs if you need to cancel your trip for a covered reason. Generali Global Assistance plans do not offer coverage if you cancel your trip due to fear of traveling due to Coronavirus, unless you added Trip Cancellation for Any Reason coverage. It is important that you review your Description of Coverage, which are available before and after your purchase. We take the claims process very seriously and want our customers to make informed choices when purchasing travel insurance.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Standard
    Review Received:
    June 11, 2020
    DAVID from DE Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I am just waiting for Holland America to formally refund our fares and will then file a claim for a refund.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Standard
    Review Received:
    June 9, 2020
    Thomas from WA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We cancelled our trip due to carona virus and asked for insurance refund. Generali responded and noted our claim but we have heard nothing further. Thank you.

    Response From:
    Generali Global Assistance
    Generali Global Assistance:
    Generali
    Response Received:
    June 12, 2020

    We're sorry to hear about the circumstances surrounding your experience, and for not meeting your expectations. Our goal is to provide a smooth and seamless experience for all of our customers. We're working hard at processing all claims and following up on call backs and email response requests, but unfortunately we have been experiencing a higher than normal volume as a result of the Coronavirus escalation. The claims process can take some time, as our regulatory laws require a number of reviews and required documentation. Under normal circumstance, the process can take up to 30 days, however, this timeline may be extended due to the current volume we are experiencing.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Standard
    Review Received:
    June 8, 2020
    john from NY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I have e-mailed stating the cancellation of trip by provider, I have received a voucher to apply to my next trip. Wonder why I dont receive a refund?

    Response From:
    Generali Global Assistance
    Generali Global Assistance:
    Generali
    Response Received:
    June 9, 2020

    We're sorry the coverage didn't meet your expectation. Unfortunately, like other insurance plans you may have, travel insurance cannot cover every event that might cause a traveler to cancel their trip. While frustrating, we want our customers to understand their coverages and what is not included, which is one reason we provide a 10-day free look so that you have extra time to review your coverages.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Standard
    Review Received:
    May 22, 2020
    Patricia from PA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Beware of their coverage unless you have a professional read all the fine print in detail, and don't expect them to be reasonable in handling claims!
    In early Feb. 2020, I purchased travel insurance for a trip to the UK and Italy in late April. On March 6, the airline cancelled the flight into Italy, and I agreed to cancel the entire trip and get a full refund of the airfare, as the Covid situation was worsening in Italy. I was also able to get a partial refund of ground costs from the tour operator. I claimed the remaining cost of roughly $1200 from Generali (about 15% of the coverage I purchased). They refused to give me any cash compensation, on grounds that this was a "foreseeable event" when I purchased my coverage, and that they had declared no coverage for Covid-related claims on Jan. 29th (i.e. before I purchased my coverage ). However, they did not post this exclusion anywhere on on the policy I received from them, or on their website.
    In fact, as of Jan 29th, there were zero reported Covid cases in the UK and the first 2 cases were reported in Italy "between late Jan. to early Feb"., according to Statista.com. Given that Covid was barely present in the countries I planned to visit at the time I purchased the coverage, and there was nothing evident on the Generali website or policy to indicate that they had already decided to exclude Covid coverage, I think it is unreasonable that they would reject my claim for a modest amount of the total coverage I paid for.
    Squaremouth supported Generali, because there is a clause deeply buried in the fine print of the policy to say that Generali excluded coverage of epidemics/ pandemics. This exclusion was so deeply buried that I missed it, though I read the policy carefully before purchasing. If they had in fact already decided to exclude coverage of Covid as of Jan. 29th, an honest approach would have been to state this exclusion clearly upfront on their policies, not to bury a general exclusion of epidemics/pandemics in the fineprint where only professionals would see it, and then deny even a modest claim for compensation.

    Response From:
    Generali Global Assistance
    Generali Global Assistance:
    Generali
    Response Received:
    May 26, 2020

    We're sorry the coverage didn't meet your expectation. Unfortunately, like other insurance plans you may have, travel insurance cannot cover every event that might cause a traveler to cancel their trip. While frustrating, we want our customers to understand their coverages and what is not included, which is one reason we provide a 10-day free look so that you have extra time to review your coverages.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Standard
    Review Received:
    April 19, 2020
    VIRGINIA from FL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    It was impossible to be in contact with the carrier. I was on hold for many hours and never connected with a customer service rep.

    I emailed them in order to have a record and it took four weeks to get a reply email.

    I will be filing a claim.

    Response From:
    Generali Global Assistance
    Generali Global Assistance:
    Generali
    Response Received:
    April 21, 2020

    We're sorry to hear about the circumstances surrounding your experience, and for not meeting your expectations. Our goal is to provide a smooth and seamless experience for all of our customers. We're working hard at processing all claims and following up on call backs and email response requests. Unfortunately, we have been experiencing a higher than normal volume as a result of the Coronavirus escalation. Thank you for your continued patience.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Standard
    Review Received:
    April 17, 2020
    ronald from CT Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Because my cruise was canceled because of the pandemic, I am trying to receive a refund. Royal Caribbean refunded the cost of the cruise. I tried numerous times to contact them and of course no one answered! Also trying to get onto their website was difficult because of the weird spelling of there name. I am 82 years old and didn't see the I in the name. I finally found the correct website to file on (it wasn't Generali) Trying to get a password to work was difficult! And I finally found the correct website after much frustration and I finally was able to submit my claim. However the confirmation I received gave me no indication of when my claim will be completed.

    I take many cruises and felt I had finally found an insurance company with reasonable prices. Not I know why that is ----its can be very confusing to file a claim with them and I think they want people to think its not worth the aggravation to file a one!!!

    Response From:
    Generali Global Assistance
    Generali Global Assistance:
    Generali
    Response Received:
    April 17, 2020

    We're sorry to hear about the circumstances surrounding your experience, and for not meeting your expectations. Our goal is to provide a smooth and seamless experience for all of our customers. We're working hard at processing all claims and following up on call backs and email response requests. Unfortunately, we have been experiencing a higher than normal volume as a result of the Coronavirus escalation and we are currently experiencing a 30-40 day turn time for processing. Thank you for your continued patience.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Preferred
    Review Received:
    April 11, 2020
    GARY from CO Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Received a full refund of the policy amount even though I was a day late in filing to cancel policy. Will use again when travel resumes. They treated me fairly.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Standard
    Review Received:
    April 10, 2020
    Ross Mercer from OR Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I acquired a policy to cover expenses for a bike trip scheduled for about April 1. The trip was cancelled due to the virus, but was rescheduled for October 2020. I contacted Generali in hopes of just changing the policy coverage date; still about one week in length, just at a different time of the year. This seemed the easiest way maintain coverage without canceling the policy or making a claim. I was told that I could do that but there would be an added premium of several hundred dollars. I questioned this as the trip was in every respect unchanged from the original. I was told that the time between this request and the trip was sufficiently long to force Generali to add the premium.
    An option was to wait until July and then request the date change. I am uncertain about the likelihood of this happening and may yet simply make a claim and be reimbursed. When a simple date change on the policy would correct this, a claim seems unnecessary.
    Your thoughts?

    Response From:
    Generali Global Assistance
    Generali Global Assistance:
    Generali
    Response Received:
    April 16, 2020

    We're sorry to hear about the circumstances surrounding your experience, and for not meeting your expectations. The calculated plan cost depends on a variety of factors including days to departure. Regarding filing a claim, coverages vary by plan purchased and supporting documentation is required in order to determine coverage eligibility at the time of filing. A dedicated team member will be reaching out to you to help you better understand your options.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Preferred
    Review Received:
    April 10, 2020
    Joseph from OH Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Both squaremouth and generali addressed my concerns and outcomes in a timely manner given the adverse situation.
    Thanks to both.
    Joe

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

Multi-Award Winning Customer Service Team

Squaremouth’s outside-the-box approach to customer service has been recognized nationally and internationally, with 13 awards in 5 years. Customer service is part of everybody’s job at Squaremouth. Every employee spends time on the phone with customers each week.

Read more

$30,000 Contest Encourages Reading Policy Documents

To highlight the importance of reading policy documents from start to finish, Squaremouth awarded one customer $10,000 in a secret contest for being the first to read hers. Then, we gave another $10,000 to a children’s literacy charity and $5,000 each to two schools.

Read more

$1,000 Tips Shine a Light on Service

Squaremouth, a company that puts a focus on customer service, rewards 20 outstanding customer service providers in St. Petersburg, Florida with $1,000 cash tips. Then, one received an additional $10,000 as the Thank You Campaign’s grand prize winner.

Read more

One of America’s Best and Fastest-Growing Companies

Squaremouth is consistently awarded for its unique company culture and steady revenue growth. This includes national recognition from Inc. Magazine, Fortune, and Entrepreneur, and local recognition from the Tampa Bay Business Journal and Florida Trend.

Read more