Generali Global Assistance
Overall Rating 4.41 out of 5
Overall Rating 4.41 out of 5 3,352 Reviews Since 2004

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Preferred
    Review Received:
    June 17, 2020
    Julie from WA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We tried to contact Squaremouth immediately when Europe began to close the borders and all travel was banned. We called several times and were unable to get anyone to answer. We went to their website and emailed them. Still no response.
    When we purchased from them , they assured us their service was excellent.
    Our entire trip was canceled and we still have not had any response. I am requesting a refund of their insurance premium. We stopped payment on our credit card for the trip after not being able to get any response.

    Response From:
    Generali Global Assistance
    Generali Global Assistance:
    Generali
    Response Received:
    June 24, 2020

    We're sorry to hear about the circumstances surrounding your experience, and for not meeting your expectations. Letting us know how we are doing is the best way to ensure the best possible service to all of our customers. A dedicated team member will be reaching out to you very soon in order to better assist you.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Preferred
    Review Received:
    June 17, 2020
    Charles from PA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    The denial of coverage by Generali is an insult and is being appealed. We have coverage for quarntine but they failed to honor our policy when the providers went into lock down due to Covid.. We were able to obtain refunds for most of our trip from the providers on our own, but the portion we had to prepay for guides and accommodations in Slovenia has not been covered. I am very disappointed in this insurer and would not use them again.

    Response From:
    Generali Global Assistance
    Generali Global Assistance:
    Generali
    Response Received:
    June 17, 2020

    We’re sorry the coverage didn’t meet your expectation. As stated in our policy documents, our plans only reimburse for non-refundable, pre-paid trip costs if you need to cancel your trip for a covered reason. Generali Global Assistance plans do not offer coverage if you cancel your trip due to fear of traveling due to Coronavirus, unless you added Trip Cancellation for Any Reason coverage. It is important that you review your Description of Coverage, which are available before and after your purchase. We take the claims process very seriously and want our customers to make informed choices when purchasing travel insurance.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Standard
    Review Received:
    June 15, 2020
    SR from CO Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Terrible interactions for the entire claim process which was cumbersome with no individualized review but just blanket statement about Covid & non coverage which was not the case for our claim.

    Response From:
    Generali Global Assistance
    Generali Global Assistance:
    Generali
    Response Received:
    June 16, 2020

    We’re sorry the coverage didn’t meet your expectation. As stated in our policy documents, our plans only reimburse for non-refundable, pre-paid trip costs if you need to cancel your trip for a covered reason. Generali Global Assistance plans do not offer coverage if you cancel your trip due to fear of traveling due to Coronavirus, unless you added Trip Cancellation for Any Reason coverage. It is important that you review your Description of Coverage, which are available before and after your purchase. We take the claims process very seriously and want our customers to make informed choices when purchasing travel insurance.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Preferred
    Review Received:
    June 13, 2020
    MARY from SC Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I am very disappointed in Squaremouth as well as Generali. Our trip was cancelled by Holland America and Generali would not return the money we paid for the insurance. They offered a voucher that had to be used on a trip I reserved by 12/31/2020 and traveled by 12/31/2021. My husband is not able to travel at this time so this was not acceptable. I emailed and tried to call Generali several times and was never able to speak with someone. I received the standard email response every time I tried to correspond with them.

    I called Squaremouth, their recommendation was that I send another email to Generali stating that we are no longer able to travel. I did that and have not heard from them.

    The couple we were traveling with went through Squaremouth and were sold a policy with I travel. They received a full refund several weeks ago!! Why were we sold a policy with such different standards?

    I will be very hesitant to use Squaremouth in the future and will certainly not use Generali!!

    Review Updated: 07/11/2020

    I received a full refund for a policy I no longer needed because our cruise was cancelled

    Response From:
    Generali Global Assistance
    Generali Global Assistance:
    Generali
    Response Received:
    June 16, 2020

    We're sorry to hear about the circumstances surrounding your experience, and for not meeting your expectations. Our goal is to provide a smooth and seamless experience for all of our customers. We're working hard at following up on call backs and email response requests, but unfortunately we have been experiencing a higher than normal volume as a result of the Coronavirus escalation. Your information has been forwarded to a dedicated team member that will be reaching out to you soon to further assist you. Thank you for your continued patience.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Preferred
    Review Received:
    June 11, 2020
    Joseph from WA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    When we purchased our policy it was my understanding from you that the policy would cover anything that was unkown at the time of purchase. Covid-19 existed, but travel was ongoing and Spain was open for travel. You know the story....Spain, USA went into quarantine, we in Washington went into restrictions, etc
    NON of this was known at the time of policy purchase. We filed a claim, and of course it was rejected. I have copied the response for your review.
    This is an example of how the insurance world manipulates the facts to their advantage and avoids their obvious responsibility and we lost $8000 plus the price of the policy. Feel free to contact me or help in getting this legitimate claim paid.
    Thank you. Your service was good, but it appears your explanation of coverage was quite lacking.
    JEE

    If you provide me an email I can forward you the denial letter.

    Response From:
    Generali Global Assistance
    Generali Global Assistance:
    Generali
    Response Received:
    June 12, 2020

    We’re sorry the coverage didn’t meet your expectation. As stated in our policy documents, our plans only reimburse for non-refundable, pre-paid trip costs if you need to cancel your trip for a covered reason. Generali Global Assistance plans do not offer coverage if you cancel your trip due to fear of traveling due to Coronavirus, unless you added Trip Cancellation for Any Reason coverage. It is important that you review your Description of Coverage, which are available before and after your purchase. We take the claims process very seriously and want our customers to make informed choices when purchasing travel insurance.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Standard
    Review Received:
    June 11, 2020
    DAVID from DE Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I am just waiting for Holland America to formally refund our fares and will then file a claim for a refund.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Standard
    Review Received:
    June 9, 2020
    Thomas from WA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We cancelled our trip due to carona virus and asked for insurance refund. Generali responded and noted our claim but we have heard nothing further. Thank you.

    Response From:
    Generali Global Assistance
    Generali Global Assistance:
    Generali
    Response Received:
    June 12, 2020

    We're sorry to hear about the circumstances surrounding your experience, and for not meeting your expectations. Our goal is to provide a smooth and seamless experience for all of our customers. We're working hard at processing all claims and following up on call backs and email response requests, but unfortunately we have been experiencing a higher than normal volume as a result of the Coronavirus escalation. The claims process can take some time, as our regulatory laws require a number of reviews and required documentation. Under normal circumstance, the process can take up to 30 days, however, this timeline may be extended due to the current volume we are experiencing.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Standard
    Review Received:
    June 8, 2020
    john from NY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I have e-mailed stating the cancellation of trip by provider, I have received a voucher to apply to my next trip. Wonder why I dont receive a refund?

    Response From:
    Generali Global Assistance
    Generali Global Assistance:
    Generali
    Response Received:
    June 9, 2020

    We're sorry the coverage didn't meet your expectation. Unfortunately, like other insurance plans you may have, travel insurance cannot cover every event that might cause a traveler to cancel their trip. While frustrating, we want our customers to understand their coverages and what is not included, which is one reason we provide a 10-day free look so that you have extra time to review your coverages.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Standard
    Review Received:
    May 22, 2020
    Patricia from PA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Beware of their coverage unless you have a professional read all the fine print in detail, and don't expect them to be reasonable in handling claims!
    In early Feb. 2020, I purchased travel insurance for a trip to the UK and Italy in late April. On March 6, the airline cancelled the flight into Italy, and I agreed to cancel the entire trip and get a full refund of the airfare, as the Covid situation was worsening in Italy. I was also able to get a partial refund of ground costs from the tour operator. I claimed the remaining cost of roughly $1200 from Generali (about 15% of the coverage I purchased). They refused to give me any cash compensation, on grounds that this was a "foreseeable event" when I purchased my coverage, and that they had declared no coverage for Covid-related claims on Jan. 29th (i.e. before I purchased my coverage ). However, they did not post this exclusion anywhere on on the policy I received from them, or on their website.
    In fact, as of Jan 29th, there were zero reported Covid cases in the UK and the first 2 cases were reported in Italy "between late Jan. to early Feb"., according to Statista.com. Given that Covid was barely present in the countries I planned to visit at the time I purchased the coverage, and there was nothing evident on the Generali website or policy to indicate that they had already decided to exclude Covid coverage, I think it is unreasonable that they would reject my claim for a modest amount of the total coverage I paid for.
    Squaremouth supported Generali, because there is a clause deeply buried in the fine print of the policy to say that Generali excluded coverage of epidemics/ pandemics. This exclusion was so deeply buried that I missed it, though I read the policy carefully before purchasing. If they had in fact already decided to exclude coverage of Covid as of Jan. 29th, an honest approach would have been to state this exclusion clearly upfront on their policies, not to bury a general exclusion of epidemics/pandemics in the fineprint where only professionals would see it, and then deny even a modest claim for compensation.

    Response From:
    Generali Global Assistance
    Generali Global Assistance:
    Generali
    Response Received:
    May 26, 2020

    We're sorry the coverage didn't meet your expectation. Unfortunately, like other insurance plans you may have, travel insurance cannot cover every event that might cause a traveler to cancel their trip. While frustrating, we want our customers to understand their coverages and what is not included, which is one reason we provide a 10-day free look so that you have extra time to review your coverages.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Standard
    Review Received:
    April 19, 2020
    VIRGINIA from FL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    It was impossible to be in contact with the carrier. I was on hold for many hours and never connected with a customer service rep.

    I emailed them in order to have a record and it took four weeks to get a reply email.

    I will be filing a claim.

    Response From:
    Generali Global Assistance
    Generali Global Assistance:
    Generali
    Response Received:
    April 21, 2020

    We're sorry to hear about the circumstances surrounding your experience, and for not meeting your expectations. Our goal is to provide a smooth and seamless experience for all of our customers. We're working hard at processing all claims and following up on call backs and email response requests. Unfortunately, we have been experiencing a higher than normal volume as a result of the Coronavirus escalation. Thank you for your continued patience.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful