Generali Global Assistance
Overall Rating 4.41 out of 5
Overall Rating 4.41 out of 5 3,352 Reviews Since 2004

  • Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Standard
    Review Received:
    April 17, 2020
    ronald from CT Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Because my cruise was canceled because of the pandemic, I am trying to receive a refund. Royal Caribbean refunded the cost of the cruise. I tried numerous times to contact them and of course no one answered! Also trying to get onto their website was difficult because of the weird spelling of there name. I am 82 years old and didn't see the I in the name. I finally found the correct website to file on (it wasn't Generali) Trying to get a password to work was difficult! And I finally found the correct website after much frustration and I finally was able to submit my claim. However the confirmation I received gave me no indication of when my claim will be completed.

    I take many cruises and felt I had finally found an insurance company with reasonable prices. Not I know why that is ----its can be very confusing to file a claim with them and I think they want people to think its not worth the aggravation to file a one!!!

    Response From:
    Generali Global Assistance
    Generali Global Assistance:
    Generali
    Response Received:
    April 17, 2020

    We're sorry to hear about the circumstances surrounding your experience, and for not meeting your expectations. Our goal is to provide a smooth and seamless experience for all of our customers. We're working hard at processing all claims and following up on call backs and email response requests. Unfortunately, we have been experiencing a higher than normal volume as a result of the Coronavirus escalation and we are currently experiencing a 30-40 day turn time for processing. Thank you for your continued patience.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Preferred
    Review Received:
    April 11, 2020
    GARY from CO Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Received a full refund of the policy amount even though I was a day late in filing to cancel policy. Will use again when travel resumes. They treated me fairly.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Standard
    Review Received:
    April 10, 2020
    Ross Mercer from OR Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I acquired a policy to cover expenses for a bike trip scheduled for about April 1. The trip was cancelled due to the virus, but was rescheduled for October 2020. I contacted Generali in hopes of just changing the policy coverage date; still about one week in length, just at a different time of the year. This seemed the easiest way maintain coverage without canceling the policy or making a claim. I was told that I could do that but there would be an added premium of several hundred dollars. I questioned this as the trip was in every respect unchanged from the original. I was told that the time between this request and the trip was sufficiently long to force Generali to add the premium.
    An option was to wait until July and then request the date change. I am uncertain about the likelihood of this happening and may yet simply make a claim and be reimbursed. When a simple date change on the policy would correct this, a claim seems unnecessary.
    Your thoughts?

    Response From:
    Generali Global Assistance
    Generali Global Assistance:
    Generali
    Response Received:
    April 16, 2020

    We're sorry to hear about the circumstances surrounding your experience, and for not meeting your expectations. The calculated plan cost depends on a variety of factors including days to departure. Regarding filing a claim, coverages vary by plan purchased and supporting documentation is required in order to determine coverage eligibility at the time of filing. A dedicated team member will be reaching out to you to help you better understand your options.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Preferred
    Review Received:
    April 10, 2020
    Joseph from OH Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Both squaremouth and generali addressed my concerns and outcomes in a timely manner given the adverse situation.
    Thanks to both.
    Joe

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Standard
    Review Received:
    April 9, 2020
    Susan Stecklair from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I sprained my ankle on March 6th, 2020 on a hiking trip in Wellington, New Zealand. I had xrays, and saw a doctor the following day. He confirmed the sprain. I then changed my ticket and flew back to San Francisco on the 7th. Filed my claim with receipts and documentation on March 14th. I’ve called Generalize, but am not put through to anyone. The phone menu takes my phone number, says they will call back in 48 hours, but no one calls. I’ve emailed several times, beginning March 30th, but with no responses.
    Please suggest what I should do next.

    Response From:
    Generali Global Assistance
    Generali Global Assistance:
    Joseph
    Response Received:
    April 16, 2020

    We're sorry to hear about the circumstances surrounding your experience, and for not meeting your expectations. Our goal is to provide a smooth and seamless claim experience for all of our customers. We're working hard at processing all claims and following up on call backs and email response requests. Unfortunately, we have been experiencing a higher than normal volume. Although your claim is not Coronavirus related, we are currently experiencing a 30-40 day turn time for processing as a result of the escalation. Thank you for your continued patience.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Preferred
    Review Received:
    April 9, 2020
    James from IL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We purchased health insurance and filed a claim and are just waiting for hear back from you.

    Review Updated: 05/07/2020

    I know it took a long time but due to the coronavirus we can understand that. Hopefully we submitted everything we needed to do for both claims with Yvette. One with the fractured foot and the other with the gastro infection. If there is anything else needed or if you don't understand any of the paper work we sent please contact us. I know some of it is in Spanish but my wife speaks Spanish and can help you out with that if you don't understand anything we turned in. Our home phone number is 224 585 6088 Yvette's cell is 773 908 2264 and James Sutera cell 312 485 0257. Thank you

    Response From:
    Generali Global Assistance
    Generali Global Assistance:
    Generali
    Response Received:
    April 15, 2020

    We're sorry to hear about the circumstances surrounding your experience, and for not meeting your expectations. Our goal is to provide a smooth and seamless experience for all of our customers. We're working hard at processing all claims and following up on call backs and email response requests. Unfortunately, we have been experiencing a higher than normal volume as a result of the Coronavirus escalation and we are currently experiencing a 30-40 day turn time for processing. Thank you for your continued patience.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Preferred
    Review Received:
    April 8, 2020
    Rosemary from MA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I spoke with Danielle at Generali Global Assistance on March 9th. She was going to email us 2 forms which we never received! At that time I informed them we wanted to file a claim and as of today there has been no follow up from them.

    Response From:
    Generali Global Assistance
    Generali Global Assistance:
    Generali
    Response Received:
    April 13, 2020

    We're sorry to hear about the circumstances surrounding your experience, and for not meeting your expectations. Our goal is to provide a smooth and seamless claim experience for all of our customers. We're working hard at taking calls and following up on all call back requests. Unfortunately, we have been experiencing a higher than normal volume as a result of the Coronavirus escalation. We have escalated this to a customer service team supervisor and they will be contacting you to further assist you. Thank you for your continued patience and understanding.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Standard
    Review Received:
    April 7, 2020
    Kristina from MD Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I had to cancel my trip regardless of the Corona Virus - I just go sick all by myself. I filled out the application (I sent it 2x - the first time it was incomplete, and my mistake, but the second time I had everything in it) so far I have not received even a note saying they got it. I tried to call, right away that day but did not find a number to call to. So I wrote to them yesterday if I should send a paper copy to the address in California, but no response. I guess I have to wait till the virus goes away and then I go to a lawyer?

    Response From:
    Generali Global Assistance
    Generali Global Assistance:
    Generali
    Response Received:
    April 8, 2020

    We're sorry to hear about the circumstances surrounding your experience, and for not meeting your expectations. Our goal is to provide a smooth and seamless claim experience for all of our customers. Unfortunately, we have been experiencing a higher than normal volume as a result of the Coronavirus escalation and we are currently experiencing a 30-40 day turn time for processing. We have reached out to our customer service team and you will be receiving their response soon. Thank you for your continued patience and understanding.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Standard
    Review Received:
    April 7, 2020
    Howard from IL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I submitted a claim but haven't heard back from them.

    Response From:
    Generali Global Assistance
    Generali Global Assistance:
    Generali
    Response Received:
    April 8, 2020

    We're sorry to hear about the circumstances surrounding your experience, and for not meeting your expectations. Our goal is to provide a smooth and seamless claim experience for all of our customers. Unfortunately, we have been experiencing a higher than normal call volume as a result of the Coronavirus escalation and we are currently experiencing a 30-40 day turn time for processing. We have reached out to our customer service team and you will be receiving their response soon. Thank you for your continued patience and understanding.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Standard
    Review Received:
    April 6, 2020
    Kara Davis from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Due to the corona virus, I did not take the trip. The tour group had not cancelled the tour yet and I reached out to Generali Global Assistance to get clear what my benefits covered in light of the virus being called a pandemic. The agent was helpful and kind in our discussion. She did not have all the answers herself, said the claims reviewer would have to make the final determination. She immediately followed through and emailed a link to the claims submittal info.

    In the end, the tour group did cancel the tour at the last minute and are holding the money in a voucher for future travel. I will likely use Generali Global Assistance again for travel in the future.

    Thank you,

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful