Sales & Service Data

TOTAL SALES
4,833
Since 2013
MONTHLY SALES
213
Average Monthly Sales Since 2013
REVIEWS
46
Since 2013
Overall Rating
4.65 Out of 5
Detailed Ratings
  • Customer Service Before Trip
  • Customer Service During Trip
  • Customer Service During Claim
Overall Rating

4,833
policies sold

0.0%
negative reviews

0.0% (2) negative reviews to sales
Average on Squaremouth is 0.4%

  • 5 stars
    32
  • 4 stars
    11
  • 3 stars
    1
  • 2 stars
    1
  • 1 star  
    0
Top Providers
Tin Leg
4.58/5
IMG
4.54/5
Arch RoamRight
4.52/5

GeoBlue All Reviews

Sort all reviews by Most Helpful First, Most Recent, or Star Ratings, or select “Filed Claim” to only show reviews from customers who filed a claim.


  • Overall Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Voyager Essential
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I have major medical insurance, including worldwide emergency coverage, and bought this policy primarily for the medical evacuation and repatriation benefits to cover me on a trip to Vietnam and Thailand. About 3 days before my scheduled return, while in the city of Trang Thailand, visiting my son who's been teaching there, I had a motorbike accident. I went to the emergency room and x-rays showed I had a broken collarbone, as well as being fairly bruised and battered. They admitted me overnight. The treating physician put me in a figure 8 brace (which requires assistance for removal); told me I would have to wear it for 8-12 weeks; and twice told me I could not pick up anything heavy for that period of time. The next morning, I contacted GeoBlue and told them I was requesting non-medical evacuation assistance to get from Trang to my departure airport in Bangkok. All I wanted was to have them cover my son's travel expenses to help me get from Trang to Bangkok, as I had no idea how I would otherwise manage my luggage. I explained to them that my upcoming travel involved a flight from Trang to Don Mueang airport in Bangkok; a shuttle-bus from that airport to the other Bangkok airport; and 12 hour layover at that airport - all with luggage that I could not lift. (In Trang, as with many smaller Asian airports, you have to take a bus from terminal out to the plane on the tarmac - and carry any handheld items up steps to the plane.) I told them about the doctor's advice. The customer service rep. told me to send medical records and the name of the hospital so they could verify if needed. She said their medical team would review. The hospital had provided such records and my son took an image of them and emailed them to GeoBlue. The next day I received notice that they had not approved the non-medical travel assistance. When I questioned them, they told me that it was because the doctor's medical notes had not expressly called out any limitations on my activities. I responded that I was shocked that such limitations had to be called out in light of the unquestioned fact that I had a broken collarbone. They responded that if I had any further documentation to submit, they would consider it. They made no effort to contact the hospital; they did not accept my statement regarding the doctor's advice and my physical limitations.
    In my professional life, I work for an insurance company and I was completely shocked by the outcome in my case with GeoBlue. If my company had rendered a decision like that, I would have viewed it as approximating bad faith.
    Last point - your star rating system asks for "predeparture experience." I had no predeparture experience other than buying the policy. Suggest you add an N/A option.

    Response From:
    GeoBlue
    GeoBlue:
    Gina Clawson
    Response Received:

    Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry to read about the injury you sustained while in Thailand. We did investigate your case with our Global health & Safety Team as well as our Medial Director. The primary reason that the request for a family escort was not approved is the treating physician you were working with in Thailand did not indicate that you needed assistance while traveling. Also - per the bedside visit benefit, you would have had to be admitted for at least 7 days for the coverage to take effect and you were only admitted for one night. We regret that the plan was unsatisfactory to you and wish you safe travels in the future.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    212 out of 217 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Voyager Essential
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We traveled to Sao Paulo, Brazil. My husband broke his toe and we called the 24hs service skype. We got excellent service, including recommendations of hospitals near by. Once we decided where to go, geoblue sent a certificate of payment directly to the hospital and they dealt with payments. We never had to pay anything. It couldn't be better.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    104 out of 108 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Voyager Essential
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I was very pleased with all aspects of my GeoBlue experience, except one. I purchased, first, the GeoBlue Voyager insurance, and then found out it did not cover pre-existing conditions. When I called a GeoBlue rep to ask about plans that cover pre-existing conditions, he said I don't qualify. Unfortunately, he didn't tell me that if I have Medicare A, B, and C, which I do have, I would qualify for the GeoBlue Choice plan, covering PE conditions. After looking at the GeoBlue site more on my own, I saw that I certainly did qualify. I called back, spoke with someone in the Sales Dept., and obtained the Choice coverage for my trip. I wish the first rep had asked if I had Medicare A, B, and C in the first call. However, all turned out well, and I felt very glad to have the Choice coverage on my trip. I will certainly use GeoBlue again, whenever I travel internationally.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Voyager Choice
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I had some trouble understanding departure and return dates since we planned to be away from home domestically for a few weeks before and after the international trip. . Customer Service graciously explained my error to me and arranged for the corrected dates and a fat rebate. A really good customer interface and, obviously, a good customer experience.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Voyager Choice
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    My husband had a sinus infection which worsened quite a bit during our air travel out of the country. During a layover, I called GeoBlue and the response was quick and courteous. I was provided a list of MDs, which they sent to me via email. I asked if there was an urgent care facility but the rep had no info on this, just individual MD name. I think this type of info would be a good addition to have. We purchased the insurance to cover major issues as a secondary policy so I don't think this is a fault but it did prevent me from giving 5 stars

    I ended up finding an urgent care center on my own and my husband was taken care of and got a prescription. It was under our deductible so I will not file a claim.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Voyager Choice
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Was disappointed that I had to pay out of pocket instead of GeoBlue paying direct. Waiting on reimbursement

    Was this review helpful to you?

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Voyager Choice
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I rated this service a 4 star because after securing the insurance through Squaremouth, I didn't receive the insurance information and insurance card I usually receive when I purchase directly from the carrier. I went online to Geo Blue and put in my policy number and got a card to carry with me. I submitted a question to Geo Blue online (prior to purchase) and it did take a few days to answer and I had already obtained the insurance by that time. I wasn't familiar with Squaremouth and how it worked. But it did make the selection easy.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Voyager Choice
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Before Trip
    I called to get more information and the rep was very helpfull. He answered all of my questions and I was able to make a choice that I was comfortable with.

    During Trip
    I thankfully did not need any assistance during the trip.

    Claim Process
    No claim was necessary.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    25 out of 80 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Voyager Essential
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I found GeoBlue presents a very easily-navigated website, with very helpful staff when called. I think my policy was a big "bang for my buck."

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Voyager Choice
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Before Trip
    I was very impressed with the information provided, the web site and the iPhone App

    During Trip
    I did not need to use the service during this trip

    Claim Process
    No claim

    Was this review helpful to you?

    16 out of 80 people found this review helpful

Multi-Award Winning Customer Service

Squaremouth’s out-of-the-box approach to customer service was recognized internationally in 2017, earning a Gold Stevie Award for Customer Service Department of the Year. This was Squaremouth’s first international Stevie and fourth customer service award overall.

Read more

Customer Service is Everybody’s Job

“Customer service is not a department, and Squaremouth knows it. Every employee spends time on the phone with customers.” New York Times and Wall Street Journal best-selling author, Shep Hyken, explains four core components of Squaremouth’s exceptional customer service.

Read more

$1,000 tips shine a light on service

Squaremouth, a company that puts a focus on how to treat customers, rewards 20 who do the same.

BY KATHERINE SNOW SMITH
Times Staff Writer

See what happened

One of America’s Best Workplaces

Squaremouth is consistently recognized, both locally and nationally, as one of the best places to work. Fortune Magazine named Squaremouth one of America’s Best Small Workplaces and the No. 2 Best Workplace for Women in the nation.

Read more