John Hancock Insurance Agency, Inc.
Overall Rating 4.33 Out of 5
Overall Rating 4.33 Out of 5
815 Reviews Since 2012

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    June 19, 2020
    JP from WI Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Purchased trip insurance Sept 2019 (before pandemic and well before any Covid related new policy T&Cs) for $6000 which covered pre-existing conditions; had to cancel trip due to MD documented 'do not travel' recommendation based on 2 medical conditions of a traveling companion. Despite her sickness being a policy medical 'covered reason' the nominal claim (only $1400) was denied from John Hancock, Starr Indemnity, Seven Corners; the Squaremouth 'zero complaint' guarantee was also not helpful to resolve the problem. There was no attempt by any involved party to make the situation 'right' in case of any interpretation of the policy by non-medical analysts. THIS WAS A CLEAR, MD DOCUMENTED MEDICAL COVERED REASON FOR A NOMINAL $ CLAIM WHICH WAS DENIED INCLUDING WITH AN ESCALATION.

    This situation also highlights the limited value of trip insurance (insurance sounds good until you need it and companies find a reason to deny a claim payment). Of course, it also did not matter at all that flights were cancelled to the destination + global health & govt organizations did not recommend international travel; even now USA travelers are not allowed into Greece and/or need a quarantine upon arrival.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Bronze
    Review Received:
    June 10, 2020
    Marlene from WA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Hello,

    I was given your information by someone who does a considerable amount of travel. So I trusted both her and you company.

    At the time of my purchase, I was directed by the webpage to select the "Cancel For Any Reason" (the most expensive insurance) so that the Corona Virus could be covered.

    My student study abroad was canceled and I started submitting my claim in March. I have personally spent hours on the phone and via email to discuss the requirements for submitting a claim. After following their direction, I have received several email requesting more information which resulted in more delays.
    The insurance company seems to think that I received a refund, which I didn't because I canceled my flight prior to the airlines providing reimbursement assistance.

    I have also submitted more documentation showing that I had the operation, and that I would not be able to take the flight.

    I have had numerous email with the representatives and I still haven't received my money for the cancel trip. I'm an ex Air Force Intelligence officer and I take great care providing detail information. So, I'm frustrated by this whole claim scenario. I'm not sure I would recommend this company to other travelers.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Bronze
    Review Received:
    April 8, 2020
    Stephen from FL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I filed a claim on 3/19/20. Today is 4/7/20 and I haven't heard back from them.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    April 7, 2020
    walter taylor from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Your claims process is a joke. It was obvious that you were intent on denying the claim prior to reviewing the evidence. Your position that the mere existence of Corona virus in late January meant that it was foreseeable that it would result in the cancellation of flights and therefore coverage was denied, is absurd, arbitrary and capricious. I will never utilize your services again.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    April 6, 2020
    Alan from VA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    My third purchase of travel insurance with squaremouth, very easy to get a policy. Unfortunately a claim this trip - hopefully all works out.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Bronze
    Review Received:
    April 1, 2020
    raymond from IL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Very disappointed, purchased John Hancock insurance tip policy to make sure I was covered. Had serious issues on trip, filed a detailed claim with receipts and explanations, only to find I was insured with some company called seven Corners who has ignored my claim and after a month have not been able to get in touch or have calls returned. Don’t expect to ever hear i
    It resolve this issue. I paid top dollar and got zero with a unknown sub company. Insurance is the last thing I got.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    March 31, 2020
    Maria from NJ Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Purchased cancel for any reason insurance. Still working with John Hancock to provide them with everything they need to honor the claim.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Bronze
    Review Received:
    March 29, 2020
    Tou from MN Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Good job and thanks!!

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Gold
    Review Received:
    March 28, 2020
    Monica from WA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    During the coronavirus crisis, I was in Mexico. I was trying to contact John Hancock to get some information about my policy. If I had been quarantined in Mexico, would my policy still be in effect? If I chose to stay in Mexico past my Return date, would I have coverage? Could I buy more coverage to extend my coverage? I called the customer service line, and a recording said there would be a long wait but I could get a call back. I never received a call back I was greatly unhappy with their customer service. In a crisis, I needed my questions answered. That is why IPurchased insurance.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Bronze
    Review Received:
    March 27, 2020
    Jeffrey from KS Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I was confused regarding what number to call/whom to contact IF a problem should arise. Squaremouth? JH ? Starr? All of these had their hands in acquiring the policy. I called JH and they helped me right away.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

Multi-Award Winning Customer Service Team

Squaremouth’s outside-the-box approach to customer service has been recognized nationally and internationally, with 13 awards in 5 years. Customer service is part of everybody’s job at Squaremouth. Every employee spends time on the phone with customers each week.

Read more

$30,000 Contest Encourages Reading Policy Documents

To highlight the importance of reading policy documents from start to finish, Squaremouth awarded one customer $10,000 in a secret contest for being the first to read hers. Then, we gave another $10,000 to a children’s literacy charity and $5,000 each to two schools.

Read more

$1,000 Tips Shine a Light on Service

Squaremouth, a company that puts a focus on customer service, rewards 20 outstanding customer service providers in St. Petersburg, Florida with $1,000 cash tips. Then, one received an additional $10,000 as the Thank You Campaign’s grand prize winner.

Read more

One of America’s Best and Fastest-Growing Companies

Squaremouth is consistently awarded for its unique company culture and steady revenue growth. This includes national recognition from Inc. Magazine, Fortune, and Entrepreneur, and local recognition from the Tampa Bay Business Journal and Florida Trend.

Read more