John Hancock Insurance Agency, Inc.
Overall Rating 4.32 out of 5
Overall Rating 4.32 out of 5 859 Reviews Since 2012

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    October 16, 2021
    Robyn from VA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Since we were unable to travel I couldn’t answer the question about customer service during our trip.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    October 15, 2021
    Kristin from MO Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I appreciated the customer service and help I received when purchasing our insurance, however, I have not heard back from them in any way since submitting my claim on September 26th. It would be nice to receive some feedback on where I am in the process.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Gold
    Review Received:
    October 13, 2021
    Daniel from ID Verified Squaremouth Customer

    So I called to get "cancel for any reason" insurance. The rep told me to hold off on purchasing it until I had all the accommodations purchased (presumably so we could determine the cost of the trip). No problem - that made sense.

    So because we were traveling to a country in a very different time zone, it took several weeks to get things confirmed. But I did so and called back. This time, I was told that I can no longer buy "cancel for any reason" insurance and that the first representative had given me bad information. I was very (and understandably) upset to have been given false information. So a manager (or higher up) called me to make things right? She basically told me there was nothing she could do- even in light that your company gave me inaccurate information.

    As a business owner, I make sure my customers are given correct information and in the extremely rare case when bad information is shared with customers, we make things right---every time. Clearly, we don't all run out businesses by those high standards.

    My advice to Squaremouth: Own the mistake, train personnel as needed, make it right to the customer, and move forward.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    October 9, 2021
    vivian from NV Verified Squaremouth Customer

    My husband and I traveled to Italy the end of September. Our non stop flight to London on British air was cancelled out of Las Vegas. We were notified 3 weeks before departure. That gave us enough time to arrange another departure travel plan. Our non stop flight home out of London/Las Vegas cancelled at the last minute not giving us enough time to plan another flight on our original departure day. We had to pay for accommodations for the extra night in Venice. I submitted a claim to the John Hancock Agency for reimbursement for the hotel and meal charges.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Bronze
    Review Received:
    October 5, 2021
    Ronald from PA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I called the 24 hour line and was told they are only answering service and they would have someone call me, that was 2 weeks ago. Nerver received the return call

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    October 2, 2021
    Matthew. Froncek from IN Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Was unable to go to Thailand on the dates,I've chosen. Would like to change dates to October 15 to Thailand. My phone number, 219 276 619 3. Dates I want are October 15 till December 15.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    September 29, 2021
    Kallie from PA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    My baggage was lost and wasn't sure how the process would work - the agent answered promptly and gave me all the info I needed (go purchase items, keep reciepts, file claim when I return). Was a good experience.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    September 21, 2021
    Deborah from NJ Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I asked 3 different times for a specific answer as to when exactly I would need to cancel the insurance prior to the trip in order to get a refund -- did I need to cancel 48 hrs in adavnce, or by midnight the day before, or literally just before we boarded the plane and our trip began ... and I got the most evasive unclear answers each time "before your trip". SO FRUSTRATING.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    September 20, 2021
    Naran from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    No response to claim submission yet.

    My flight was delayed beyond 3 hours, and I called John Hancock to confirm coverage for an alternate flight. All they would say was, go ahead and spend the money on another flight. Then submit a claim, and we'll see. That's a little worrisome. Perhaps they will pay the claim, and perhaps not. I would have preferred a clearer statement of what my rights were than, "go ahead and spend several hundred dollars, and we'll tell you later if you get reimbursed"

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    September 15, 2021
    Angela from KY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Efficient service and communication via email, reasonable price for coverage

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful