John Hancock Insurance Agency, Inc.
Overall Rating 4.22 out of 5
Overall Rating 4.22 out of 5 1,207 Reviews Since 2012

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    May 27, 2023
    Tommy from OK Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Easy transaction. Excellent service when I called to revise coverage dates. No hassles!

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    May 23, 2023
    Francis from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Everything went well. We felt very comfortable traveling.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    May 20, 2023
    Stewart from SC Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I did call to make sure the policy I was purchasing was the best for this trip. The agent confirmed that it covered what I needed very well.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    May 16, 2023
    Arthur from GA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We had to cancel our trip because of an injury that required surgery and rehab. We were able to take care of our refund request all on line. We submitted all the paperwork with our request. We submitted it on Saturday which was approved after a few days. Received a check a week after that. It was a surprisingly easy process. We will use John Hancock as a travel insurance provider in the future.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    May 16, 2023
    GILBERT from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Very helpful and professional.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    May 14, 2023
    Bella from MN Verified Squaremouth Customer

    The information coming is too confusing as to who we are to work with. John Hancock, Squaremouth, Starr Indemnity & Liability Company, and Broadspire Services, Inc. If that's the intent, that's not very nice. The forms sent to fill out are very difficult to read. This new way of using the smallest fonts in a light gray isn't nice either. This causes migraines in a very short time making everything take longer to read and fill out. Life is hard enough without this.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    May 7, 2023
    CONRAD from AZ Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Our cruise was cancelled by the operator. The operator made good my out-of-pocket costs. John Hancock transferred my insurance policy from the April cruise to the rescheduled September cruise, at no cost.

    Well done!

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Bronze
    Review Received:
    May 6, 2023
    Heather from NH Verified Squaremouth Customer

    The agent that responded to an inquiry we had before purchasing was extremely helpful and informative. We were trying to figure out the best way to purchase insurance as it was to cover a vacation rental a few families would be staying in and wanted to be covered for the whole trip as well as insure we could recover a portion if one family could no longer make the trip. We didn't need to use the policy as we were all able to go, but having trip insurance gives you peace of mind that if plans do need to change fairly last minute, you're covered.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    May 1, 2023
    KMJT from NC Verified Squaremouth Customer

    So far we have used John Hancock Travel insurance twice this year and fortunately we haven't had to make any claims as both holidays went off with only a minor glitch or two, strikes in France and train cancelations, etc..,. When shopping for travel insusrance using the comparison tool we found it to be quick and easy and most things are right at your finger tips. I spoke with one or two agents during our search and they were great to work with, couritious, profressional and knowldegeable. Quotes were written qucik and easy. I will end with saying insurannce is great until it comes time to actually needing it and weaving through the claim process. Truth be told I have no 1st hand expereience with John Hancock in this regard.

    Here is an idea for your marketing team. How about incentivizing customers who do not file claims with a Welcome back from your successful trip rebate of say ~10% and offer the customer the option to send a photo or two of their travel in addidition to their survey.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    April 24, 2023
    Steven from NJ Verified Squaremouth Customer

    John Hancock's claims are handled by Broadspire. There is no way to contact a person. I have submitted all the documents they asked for and they keep telling me it's incomplete. The issue is that we did not go on a tour booked through an operator. We booked the plane, rental cars, hotel stays, and activities ourselves. Broadspire keeps asking for a letter from the tour operator. We're stuck in a loop, and apparently only robots work there. I finally went back to the original policy and found a number for John Hancock Customer Service, and when they answered the phone, it was Broadspire again (confusing!). They were a bit snippy and informed me that OF COURSE I had an adjuster and OF COURSE he could be reached. So they gave me his number. But first they told me that he probably wasn't in, they didn't know when he would be, and that I should allow several business days for a response. I ignored that and called the number right away and he picked up.

    Then I was on the phone with him for at least 30 minutes, if not an hour. He told me his headset did not work, so his voice was very muffled and hard to understand and there was background noise - very unprofessional. I had to walk him through all the submitted documents - he wasn't familiar with them. Then he had to read John Hancock's policy manuals to see what to do while I waited. He concluded that I should be reimbursed for my canoe safari, but not for my airfare change. I disagree, but at least I got most of my money back. There are details below in case you want to review his decision. I'm not going to waste this kind of time for an additional $120 or so.

    However, I will never use John Hancock again. If this was the kind of non-service, non-insurance that I get and I was only claiming $750, what kind of service would I get if more was at stake? In the past, I used Travelex, and they were great, so I'm going back to them.

    Details of the claim: We changed our reservations less than 2 weeks before the scheduled date, thereby incurring a few cancellation and change fees. The reason was Cyclone Gabrielle, which caused New Zealand to declare only their third ever national emergency. There was massive flooding, roads were out (and still are), emergency workers were having a hard time in the area. We could not even get confirmation from one of the VRBOs that they were still open. We were able to cancel and rebook our reservations to a different part of the country and continue with the vacation. We have asked to be reimbursed only for about $750, representing the cancellation fees we had to pay.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful