John Hancock Insurance Agency, Inc.
Overall Rating 4.28 out of 5
Overall Rating 4.28 out of 5 988 Reviews Since 2012

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    May 16, 2022
    Ritika from NY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Terrible experience with John Hancock. I filed a claim for our flight being canceled in Dec 2021 during the Omicron surge when Delta did not have adequate crew and there were no alternative flights for 48 hours. First of all, they took over 3 months to even process my claim with absolutely no communication. I had to email and call several times just to get them to process the claim. Then they denied my claim because the flight cancellation didn't exactly fit one of the very narrow specifications they have that is not clearly listed in their policy forms. I lost a lot of money on my VRBO which I could not get refunded which is exacly why I bought trip insurance in the first place. I will never again use this company. They had horrible customer service and it was a complete waste of my money.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Bronze
    Review Received:
    May 14, 2022
    David from FL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Filed claim. They said about 50 days to get to it. Had to contact them to be sure claim was received. Still within 50 days so waiting.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Bronze
    Review Received:
    May 12, 2022
    Mark from FL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    So far okay...have filed claim for delayed luggage that cost me over $300

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    May 12, 2022
    Charles from IL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Claimed filed 3/23/22. Contacted them 5/12/2022 for an updated, and was advised it would take 100 days to process the claim. Ridiculous.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    May 12, 2022
    Tony from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Changed trip Romania to Germany because of the war and cancellation of a planned tour. It took me over two weeks to make contact with John Hancock’s agent to change destination countries. Many messages left and several emails sent and morning of the trip someone called and I was able to change trip destination. They had me on hold for a long time. There was no additional premium as Germany was a country, a shorter trip time wise and less total cost but no refund offered. Squaremouth’s only help was to call Hancock with no success either and send an email to John Hancock’s agent (called Seven something) asking that I be contacted. Very frustrating experience. The representative that did finally call me was very helpful but trying to have someone respond to messages and emails was very difficult.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    May 4, 2022
    Ellen from CT Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We believe we have filed a complaint but we are unsure of next steps. Will an adjuster be assigned to review our claim, collect receipts, etc?

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Bronze
    Review Received:
    May 4, 2022
    Rebecca from CO Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Needed more specific information about Covid coverage. ie. would they cover lodging and meals in case of a positive test result and a need to quarantine. Also if they allowed coverage when traveling to a level 4 country. All of these things were covered but it was not specific in the policy.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    May 3, 2022
    Patricia from NJ Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We had multiple weather delays on our trip going to our destination, so I called Customer Service en route to find out what documentation I would need to submit a claim. The Customer Service woman was very helpful in letting me know what I would need and all the travel documents I needed to keep. As it turned out, amazingly the resort did not charge us for the first night that we missed & the small airline made an extra flight to get us where we needed to go. Therefore there was no need to submit a claim, but knowing what I would need was reassuring during a very uncertain couple of days.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    May 2, 2022
    Catherine from MA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Waiting to hear back on claim that was filed. There has not been much follow up, despite an email from me checking on status of claim i'm afraid..hoping for a positive outcome.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    May 1, 2022
    Cristobal from TX Verified Squaremouth Customer

    The period spoke with hped me with filing the forms

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful