John Hancock Insurance Agency, Inc.
Overall Rating 4.22 out of 5
Overall Rating 4.22 out of 5 1,155 Reviews Since 2012

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    January 31, 2023
    richard from PA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I called and spoke with John Hancock prior to filing my claim. They were very easy to get on the phone to discuss my situation (Peru political unrest) and suggested that I file.

    I filed a claim on Dec, 30th, 2022 and it has not yet completed processing. I receive emails every two weeks with a general message that they're overwhelmed with claims and need more time.

    I thought that my claim should be very easy to process so I'm not sure why the delay. I'm also not sure what length of time is considered normal processing time but I hope that it will complete soon.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    January 24, 2023
    Michael from GA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Following the instructions provided, I uploaded all the available information onto the Broadspire/Affirmity web site and received this confirmation on January 13 - Successful Upload Notification - CMS Reference: 4110250/CMS Reference: 4110249. I have not seen not heard from anyone since. The provided link only allows me to see the status of the files I uploaded and nothing else, and all the documents i uploaded have not been reviewed. Not sure where to go with this, but I am in consultation to help me determine my next course of action should this current path continue

    So basically the Front end of your service provide great service, but should we have to actually use the benefits we purchased, we have a completely different experience and I was not able to Rate this in your survey. Had I been able you would not have gotten anything higher than one start.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Gold
    Review Received:
    January 23, 2023
    Dale from MI Verified Squaremouth Customer

    So far my experience has been going well. I will be making a claim soon for a cruise we were unable to take do to Covid. I hope our experience with John Hancock Insurance goes as well as it has been so far.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    January 21, 2023
    Robert from CO Verified Squaremouth Customer

    1. Called to make a claim for canceled flight and we received claim confirmation number that we later found out did not exist. Never received an email that we were told we would receive.

    2. Later during the same trip we flew and got stuck in Houston (after a 3 1/2 hour delay) because of a missed connecting flight we called again and waited for hours never getting anyone to answer the phone.

    3. Called back multiple times after waiting for hours on hold. Finally talk to someone who told us our first claim numbers did not exist and gave us another claim number and promised more confirmation emails.

    4. One week later when we made it home we called again because we never received any correspondence with our new claim numbers. We found out that our second claim numbers did not exist either. We had to re-tell our horrible travel experience for a third time to another operator. This one was finally helpful and we received new claim numbers and correspondence that we submitted a claim.

    5. We received a confirmation email that said: "Please allow 7-10 business days for the completion of this review." After the 10 business days we called again to find out about our claim and now they are saying it won't be until mid February that we will hear back about our claim. This operator wanted us to tell him him the whole story for a fourth time. We told him there is no way we are doing this again and hung up with him. He was not helpful at all.

    This has been the worst possible experience with an insurance company that I have ever had to deal with.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    January 16, 2023
    William from UT Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Claim is in process. Would like better and more frequent communication as to the status of the claim.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Gold
    Review Received:
    January 13, 2023
    Darren from WA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We have a claim for delayed and lost baggage and will let you know how it is all worked out.
    It has yet to be resolved and we still haven't received one of our bags from our Dec 16, 2022 trip

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    January 10, 2023
    Sarah from VA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    My luggage has been lost and I called to get information on what coverage my policy offered. The customer service person was unable to tell me but said somebody would call me to explain. It has been weeks and I have not received my luggage and I am still waiting for a call back to explain the process.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    January 4, 2023
    Cynthia from FL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I called them to notify that our trip was cancelled. They provided me with a Ref # and sent details on how to apply for a claim.

    Working on that currently so hoping all will go well without issue and they will stand behind the policy.

    Cindy Hall

    Review Updated: 02/01/2023

    Ultimately, our claim was processed and reimbursement made in full. They were behind on the estimated timing provided for responses. I followed up 3 times to check status which seemed to escalate the processing a bit. When I called the customer service number I did reach a helpful agent. But didn’t actually speak with the person processing our claim. Still customer service sent a message inquiring for a status for us.

    Their website was not as user friendly as I would suspect. You could only upload one page as a pdf. We had to separate and scan two page documents to upload. For some reason my husband and I had two separate policy numbers instead of one (typical of our other insurance policies for travel) and we had to upload all documents twice. It seemed like they asked for a large number of documents.

    As a comparison to companies, my daughter was taking the same vacation as us which was cancelled due to weather shutting down the airport. She filed her claim with a different insurance firm and received approval 4 days later. We filed ours and followed up after two weeks to initiate a review of our documents and another 7-10 days to get approval. Still bottom line - they paid us in full. Glad we had travel insurance and very pleased with using Squaremouth for our selection and management.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    December 30, 2022
    John from PA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    OAT required me to buy insurance for Antarctica trip, and I did so. It was rather expensive regardless of the company. Your price seemed to be in the middle. I was satisfied with your customer service.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    December 28, 2022
    Maribel from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Was nice but the police but muy claim is delayed. They do not offer much information on the claim process.

    Review Updated: 01/25/2023

    I’m very happy with the process for my claim. It’s a bit long but is very sure. The agents are very friendly and professional. In my next travel I will take again this Insurance, Thanks Squaremounth

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful