John Hancock Insurance Agency, Inc.
Overall Rating 4.33 out of 5
Overall Rating 4.33 out of 5 834 Reviews Since 2012

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Bronze
    Review Received:
    July 31, 2021
    pamela from TX Verified Squaremouth Customer

    No comment

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Bronze
    Review Received:
    July 14, 2021
    Jane from IL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Good communication and reasonable coverage/rates.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    July 6, 2021
    Diane from HI Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I had to cancel my trip due to covid travel restrictions. John Hancock and the Seven Corners claims customer service was wonderful in walking me through what I need to provide them to make my claim under the cancel for any reason policy. Thankfully, I always keep lots of documentation for all my international trips. This is the first time I've had to make a claim on trip insurance. Glad I selected the cancel for any reason option for this trip during covid. I will choose them again.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    June 2, 2021
    Thomas from NY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Although, I had no claim(s), I was able to talk to someone in customer service immediately whenever I had questions. So I give a thumbs up, for not putting me on hold forever, like some other companies..
    Respect

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    May 22, 2021
    David from MD Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I had to change the dates and it was changed within 24 hours.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Bronze
    Review Received:
    May 22, 2021
    Lana from OR Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I cancelled my trip due to Covid. I had purchased the “cancel for any reason” coverage which pays 75%. I downloaded the form, filled it out and emailed it back with the documentation from the sailing cruise and was paid out right away. Very easy. I’m impressed. Price matters with travel insurance, but hassle free claims matter mor. Thanks John Hancock! I’ll use this insurance again!

    Was this review helpful to you?

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Gold
    Review Received:
    May 21, 2021
    Sly from VT Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I found Taniyah Green to be helpful and informative. She made my experience very pleasant. This is customer service at it's best.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    February 6, 2021
    David from MO Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Added to our coverage months after initial purchase. Easy transaction and helpful agent!

    Was this review helpful to you?

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    November 14, 2020
    J from NY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I bought a policy for a trip to Australia. Due to a fourteen day mandatory government quarantine, the trip was not possible. I submitted a claim for a Virgin Australia flight. Virgin Australia went into bankruptcy and could not honor its refund policy.

    The policy did not have an exclusion for a pandemic but did cover a quarantine and vendor bankruptcy.

    John Hancock told me if I had flown to Australia and been in quarantine at a hotel in Australia for two weeks, my much larger claim would have been valid. Since I was not quarantined, the claim was not valid. There was no definition of quarantine in the policy information.

    John Hancock definition of bankruptcy of a vendor only applied to US companies and the claim was denied. The definition was in the policy information.

    I find it hard to understand how a trip cancellation due to a mandated quarantine is not covered. I am reevaluating the value of travel insurance and will certainly avoid John Hancock in the future.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    64 out of 64 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    June 19, 2020
    JP from WI Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Purchased trip insurance Sept 2019 (before pandemic and well before any Covid related new policy T&Cs) for $6000 which covered pre-existing conditions; had to cancel trip due to MD documented 'do not travel' recommendation based on 2 medical conditions of a traveling companion. Despite her sickness being a policy medical 'covered reason' the nominal claim (only $1400) was denied from John Hancock, Starr Indemnity, Seven Corners; the Squaremouth 'zero complaint' guarantee was also not helpful to resolve the problem. There was no attempt by any involved party to make the situation 'right' in case of any interpretation of the policy by non-medical analysts. THIS WAS A CLEAR, MD DOCUMENTED MEDICAL COVERED REASON FOR A NOMINAL $ CLAIM WHICH WAS DENIED INCLUDING WITH AN ESCALATION.

    This situation also highlights the limited value of trip insurance (insurance sounds good until you need it and companies find a reason to deny a claim payment). Of course, it also did not matter at all that flights were cancelled to the destination + global health & govt organizations did not recommend international travel; even now USA travelers are not allowed into Greece and/or need a quarantine upon arrival.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    68 out of 69 people found this review helpful