Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company
Overall Rating 4.0 out of 5
Overall Rating 4.0 out of 5 345 Reviews Since 2018

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    August 31, 2022
    Catherine from WI Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Not sure what to say. We had two flight cancellations, four flight delays and lost baggage. I submitted my claims on July 5, 2022 and as of Aug 30 I have heard nothing except an email saying they received my claims and will get to them in the order they were received.
    When I called customer service when our first flight was cancelled she told me to go ahead and make a claim but it would probably not be covered because I should have expected flight cancelations since airlines cancel all the time. Therefore it was not an unexpected event. What?
    So we will see if they ever cover anything. If they do not, then what is the point of purchasing insurance?

    Was this review helpful to you?

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Cruise Choice
    Review Received:
    August 28, 2022
    Diane from MD Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I had to extend the coverage of our trip by several days and add the cost of the flight which hadn't been booked at the time I bought the insurance. Easy to accomplish.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    August 18, 2022
    ARastogi from NJ Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Due to sickness of my non travelling spouse and Covid to me I had to cancel my trip. Filed a claim with Nationwide Mutual but they have not responded yet.
    I am not sure what is going on with the claim.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Cruise Choice
    Review Received:
    August 11, 2022
    Cynthia from NY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Excellent Company.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    August 11, 2022
    thomas from OH Verified Squaremouth Customer

    great website with a clean easy to use application. Getting thru to customer service at Squaremouth was not happening, & leaving a callback number resulted in 2-3 days for return call ??

    Was this review helpful to you?

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    August 10, 2022
    Flash from UT Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Thank goodness I did not have to file a claim but I did try to interact with customerservice. They were impossible to reach by phone and it took approximately 6 to 8 weeks to get a response via email. I would never use this company again.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    August 10, 2022
    Jeffrey from UT Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Virtually impossible to reach via phone or email. Terrible customer service. Understaffed. I would not use them again. What good is travel insurance if you can’t reach your insurance company?

    Was this review helpful to you?

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    August 7, 2022
    Margaret from NC Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I contacted Nationwide regarding my insurance for cancelled flights and trips as SAS airline went banrupt 12 hours before my schedualed take off. They were vauge and said I had to file a claim which I did. I had to order and self pay for an expensive flights and am awaiting my trip insurance insurance claim refund money.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    August 5, 2022
    Luna from NY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I lodged a claim with Nationwide 30 days ago, and they refuse to even assess my claim. Despite my repeated queries about the status of the claim, they keep sending me messages saying they're very busy so haven't been able to look at my claim. I find this wholly unacceptable. If Nationwide has a lot of claims to assess, then they need to hire more staff.

    Would not recommend this insurer to others.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    August 2, 2022
    Joanne from MA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    II.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful