Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company
Overall Rating 4.06 out of 5
Overall Rating 4.06 out of 5 206 Reviews Since 2018

  • Overall Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Prime
    Review Received:
    April 30, 2021
    C May from TX Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We contacted them immediately when we were stranded in Israel after our tour got cancelled because they would be quarantined the whole time (We purchased our flight separately so got there a few days before tour). They were no help at that time with our 'situation' but did give us a travel claim number. After getting back to the U.S. they gave us the runaround with how to claim the loss. After submitting everything they asked for they have denied the claim!
    Awful company!!

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    January 10, 2021
    Jeffrey from OH Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Great value for piece of mind.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    July 30, 2020
    Rosemarie from NY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    The trip was cancelled due to Covid. I contacted customer service to discuss the refund that will be issued because of the cancelation. I placed rating of 1 for the pre-departure because there was no experience. There should be a N/A choice.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    8 out of 37 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    July 30, 2020
    Denise from NY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    They were great to deal with. Kathy was wonderful X284

    Was this review helpful to you?

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    July 28, 2020
    John from NJ Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Due to COVID we canceled our trip this year and Grand Canyon Expeditions allowed us to move it to next year. I sent a request to you to cover this rebooked trip, I have not received any confirmation of this being completed. It said this would take a couple of months to get this processed. I look forward to confirmation of this request.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    July 28, 2020
    ross from MD Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Hotel was closed due to covid 19, I could not physically stay there. The policy covered non of that so it was useless. Will not be using travel insurance any more.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    July 27, 2020
    Kenneth from WI Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Trip Scheduled 7/10/20 cancelled by travel company due to financial collapse. Claim submitted to Nationwide approx 7/20/20. Waiting for response. So far no comments on service.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    June 26, 2020
    NANCY from NY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Our cruise was cancelled by the cruise line and our flights were cancelled by the airlines. I received refunds for both and am waiting for a refund on the policy premuim. I submitted my request on April 17, 2020.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    June 14, 2020
    Leslie from OR Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Flight canceled not allowed into Spain. Hotels closed. Filed claim for just hotels that refused to refund after I contacted them ($1200)
    I called and spoke to nationwide representative before filing and at that time assured covered reason with airline cancellation
    Now my claim refused because COVID Cancellation flight not covered?
    I will be refilling trying the laid off or Maybe trip interrupted? Though I’m sure they will come up with a way around anything
    Wish I would have gone with Allianz insurance instead. They have been great in past and I’ve heard they are not excluding COVID cancellation
    Long wait, lots of paperwork, poor customer service

    Was this review helpful to you?

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    June 12, 2020
    Larry from KS Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I tried to cancel this insurance before the travel date. An automated message said to leave a message, which I did and was never contacted. I will NEVER obtain travel insurance with this company again. The reason I chose this company in the first place was because we have our auto and homeowners insurance through Nationwide, and have always been treated right...until now.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful