Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company
Overall Rating 4.01 out of 5
Overall Rating 4.01 out of 5 595 Reviews Since 2018

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Cruise Choice
    Review Received:
    July 1, 2024
    Kathryn from KS Verified Squaremouth Customer

    When I realized that my policy was for more than I had paid for my trip, I notified the provider, and they quickly adjusted my policy and refunded my over-payment. Excellent customer service!

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Prime
    Review Received:
    June 13, 2024
    Zax from TN Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Too many steps to file a claim. Automated responses asking for items that had nothing to do with my claim. No ability to talk directly to a person.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Prime
    Review Received:
    June 5, 2024
    Peter from MA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I was told that I could file a claim for my cancellation trip for any reason. My 86 year old father fell and hit his head. He was seriously injured. He subsequently had a stroke and required surgery on his brain. This all happened one week before my trip to visit my sister in Colorado. Naturally, my sister came to visit me and my father in Boston, so there was no need for a trip. And my father is still in the rehab hospital. I went to file a claim and The Trip Insurance Company demanded Medical Records about my father which I believe was inappropriate and completely unacceptable!! What a ripoff!!! What a scam!! What a waste of money!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    May 29, 2024
    Patricia from MD Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Our claim was denied based on the reason for our flight delay, which caused us to lose our first night’s hotel stay ($300). What concerned me is that the “covered” reasons for flight delay and flight interruption were not clearly stated when I purchased. I had to dig deep into their policy pages after my claim was denied to see that they only state was is covered rather than what is not covered.
    They would sell a lot less policies if it was clearly stated that a flight delay for mechanical reasons is not a covered benefit.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Prime
    Review Received:
    May 25, 2024
    Kenneth from NJ Verified Squaremouth Customer

    My wife required medical attention while we were still in port. The medical attention she received aboard ship was great. She was in the medical center for about 5 hours. By this time we were out of port and taken to our cabin.
    The following day we were given all the paperwork from the medical center.
    We were in contact by e mail from the ship with Nationwide, initially there was some confusion if the policy was for primary coverage or secondary.
    As soon as we got home we called Squaremouth and confirmed it was a policy for Primary coverage. We then contacted Nationwide Mutual and they agreed it was primary coverage and told us to send in all the paperwork.
    That was the only two phone calls made and three and half weeks later we received a check from Nationwide Mutual for the full amount of the costs.
    Very pleased with the service from Squaremouth and Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company
    Thank You

    Was this review helpful to you?

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    May 24, 2024
    Kathy from CT Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Squaremouth provided good comparisons with a variety on companies. I chose Nationwide. I needed a date changed on the policy and called customer service. They were courteous and fixed the issue. The change was made and the corrected policy was emailed to me quickly. The policy price was reasonable for what I needed.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    May 14, 2024
    Nicole from PA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I had to cancel my trip a week before departure because my husband ended up in the er and then the hospital for an emergency procedure. I called to to advise nationwide and they will not refund my money back. They said to send an email back that I didn't use the policy and can transfer it to another later date. My mother is not in the hospital and I don't know when the lateendate will be. I never used the policy and stull haven't heard back from them. I justvkeep getting how was your trip emails and surveys like this.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    May 9, 2024
    Laurie from NC Verified Squaremouth Customer

    While traveling in Spain and Portugal we reached out via the toll free international number for assistance with an illness. The response was rapid and helpful. We are planning to file a claim for costs incurred while away. I will purchase this insurance again.
    Thank you

    Was this review helpful to you?

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    April 22, 2024
    A Ski Club Traveler from FL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Nationwide made it very difficult to collect on my policy claim. Most of the way through the process it felt like they were doing everything they could to win a war of attrition by wearing me down and avoid paying out.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    April 18, 2024
    Ann from FL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Service reps were great to work with, patiently explaining policy coverage and do’s and don’t’s in the event a claim would be needed.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful