Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company
Overall Rating 4.06 Out of 5
Overall Rating 4.06 Out of 5
202 Reviews Since 2018

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    July 30, 2020
    Rosemarie from NY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    The trip was cancelled due to Covid. I contacted customer service to discuss the refund that will be issued because of the cancelation. I placed rating of 1 for the pre-departure because there was no experience. There should be a N/A choice.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    July 30, 2020
    Denise from NY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    They were great to deal with. Kathy was wonderful X284

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    July 28, 2020
    John from NJ Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Due to COVID we canceled our trip this year and Grand Canyon Expeditions allowed us to move it to next year. I sent a request to you to cover this rebooked trip, I have not received any confirmation of this being completed. It said this would take a couple of months to get this processed. I look forward to confirmation of this request.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    July 28, 2020
    ross from MD Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Hotel was closed due to covid 19, I could not physically stay there. The policy covered non of that so it was useless. Will not be using travel insurance any more.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    July 27, 2020
    Kenneth from WI Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Trip Scheduled 7/10/20 cancelled by travel company due to financial collapse. Claim submitted to Nationwide approx 7/20/20. Waiting for response. So far no comments on service.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    June 26, 2020
    NANCY from NY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Our cruise was cancelled by the cruise line and our flights were cancelled by the airlines. I received refunds for both and am waiting for a refund on the policy premuim. I submitted my request on April 17, 2020.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    June 14, 2020
    Leslie from OR Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Flight canceled not allowed into Spain. Hotels closed. Filed claim for just hotels that refused to refund after I contacted them ($1200)
    I called and spoke to nationwide representative before filing and at that time assured covered reason with airline cancellation
    Now my claim refused because COVID Cancellation flight not covered?
    I will be refilling trying the laid off or Maybe trip interrupted? Though I’m sure they will come up with a way around anything
    Wish I would have gone with Allianz insurance instead. They have been great in past and I’ve heard they are not excluding COVID cancellation
    Long wait, lots of paperwork, poor customer service

    Was this review helpful to you?

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    June 12, 2020
    Larry from KS Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I tried to cancel this insurance before the travel date. An automated message said to leave a message, which I did and was never contacted. I will NEVER obtain travel insurance with this company again. The reason I chose this company in the first place was because we have our auto and homeowners insurance through Nationwide, and have always been treated right...until now.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Prime
    Review Received:
    June 11, 2020
    DANIEL from MO Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I was unable to travel for several reasons, mostly related to COVID-19
    I emailed my claim request on May 26
    One Minute later, I received ONE automated email response to my claim
    I have had no updates or responses since then.

    Their email said there is a delay in processing claims so be patient

    Said they may need more documentation but gave no list of required documents
    I received NO form or webpage to complete

    May 27 I emailed them again asking for a list of documents but they haven't responded

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    June 11, 2020
    Joe from TN Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I inquires about coverage and terms and was misled.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful

Multi-Award Winning Customer Service Team

Squaremouth’s outside-the-box approach to customer service has been recognized nationally and internationally, with 16 awards in 6 years. Customer service is part of everybody’s job at Squaremouth. Every employee spends time on the phone with customers each week.

Read more

$30,000 Contest Encourages Reading Policy Documents

To highlight the importance of reading policy documents from start to finish, Squaremouth awarded one customer $10,000 in a secret contest for being the first to read hers. Then, we gave another $10,000 to a children’s literacy charity and $5,000 each to two schools.

Read more

$1,000 Tips Shine a Light on Service

Squaremouth, a company that puts a focus on customer service, rewards 20 outstanding customer service providers in St. Petersburg, Florida with $1,000 cash tips. Then, one received an additional $10,000 as the Thank You Campaign’s grand prize winner.

Read more

One of America’s Best and Fastest-Growing Companies

Squaremouth is consistently awarded for its unique company culture and steady revenue growth. This includes national recognition from Inc. Magazine, Fortune, and Entrepreneur, and local recognition from the Tampa Bay Business Journal and Florida Trend.

Read more