Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company
Overall Rating 4.08 Out of 5
Overall Rating 4.08 Out of 5
197 Reviews Since 2018

  • Overall Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    June 26, 2020
    NANCY from NY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Our cruise was cancelled by the cruise line and our flights were cancelled by the airlines. I received refunds for both and am waiting for a refund on the policy premuim. I submitted my request on April 17, 2020.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    June 14, 2020
    Leslie from OR Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Flight canceled not allowed into Spain. Hotels closed. Filed claim for just hotels that refused to refund after I contacted them ($1200)
    I called and spoke to nationwide representative before filing and at that time assured covered reason with airline cancellation
    Now my claim refused because COVID Cancellation flight not covered?
    I will be refilling trying the laid off or Maybe trip interrupted? Though I’m sure they will come up with a way around anything
    Wish I would have gone with Allianz insurance instead. They have been great in past and I’ve heard they are not excluding COVID cancellation
    Long wait, lots of paperwork, poor customer service

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    June 12, 2020
    Larry from KS Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I tried to cancel this insurance before the travel date. An automated message said to leave a message, which I did and was never contacted. I will NEVER obtain travel insurance with this company again. The reason I chose this company in the first place was because we have our auto and homeowners insurance through Nationwide, and have always been treated right...until now.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Prime
    Review Received:
    June 11, 2020
    DANIEL from MO Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I was unable to travel for several reasons, mostly related to COVID-19
    I emailed my claim request on May 26
    One Minute later, I received ONE automated email response to my claim
    I have had no updates or responses since then.

    Their email said there is a delay in processing claims so be patient

    Said they may need more documentation but gave no list of required documents
    I received NO form or webpage to complete

    May 27 I emailed them again asking for a list of documents but they haven't responded

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    June 11, 2020
    Joe from TN Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I inquires about coverage and terms and was misled.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    June 9, 2020
    Catherine from NC Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Nationwide wants so much proof of cancellation and because I booked through a third party makes if very difficult or impossible to provide all the information they want. With Covid-19 in the mix it should be much easier.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    April 10, 2020
    Mark from NY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Very poor communication from Nationwide. Only receive emails after weeks of waiting. Waiting at this time for review of my claim. They believe every claim is related to virus, which it isn't!

    Review Updated: 05/08/2020

    Satisfactory closure. Could have been done a bit sooner.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    April 9, 2020
    Ronald from MD Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I sent in the claim about on 3-19-20 in the mail. I never heard from anyone.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    April 5, 2020
    Christopher from MN Verified Squaremouth Customer

    This where I may need your help. I would really appreciate your feedback. Here are the circumstances of our trip that we never went on:

    1. Scheduled Departure Saturday March 21st MPLS MN to Cancun Mexico. Returning Saturday 3/28.

    2. US State Dept warns against travel out of US. Mexican Government does the same due to COVID 19 prior to our departure.

    3. Prior to Departure 3/19 we decide to notify both our Resort, Secret Akmul and Sun Country about our intentions NOT to travel.

    4. Our airline was Sun Country and my understanding is that they did fly to Cancun Sat 3/21. Most likely because they needed to pick up returning passengers from the week before.

    5. On Wed 2/25 Secrets Akmul closes the Resort and sends guests home.

    6. Neither the Resort or airline have cash back for this trip. However they are offering a credit towards future travel within a year. Right now travel seems to be on hold indefinitely.

    Do we have a valid claim?

    Thank you

    Chris Pyle

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    April 5, 2020
    Mary from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    My trip was postponed. Nationwide allowed me to change the dates with them too. They were courteous and it all went well.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

Multi-Award Winning Customer Service Team

Squaremouth’s outside-the-box approach to customer service has been recognized nationally and internationally, with 13 awards in 5 years. Customer service is part of everybody’s job at Squaremouth. Every employee spends time on the phone with customers each week.

Read more

$30,000 Contest Encourages Reading Policy Documents

To highlight the importance of reading policy documents from start to finish, Squaremouth awarded one customer $10,000 in a secret contest for being the first to read hers. Then, we gave another $10,000 to a children’s literacy charity and $5,000 each to two schools.

Read more

$1,000 Tips Shine a Light on Service

Squaremouth, a company that puts a focus on customer service, rewards 20 outstanding customer service providers in St. Petersburg, Florida with $1,000 cash tips. Then, one received an additional $10,000 as the Thank You Campaign’s grand prize winner.

Read more

One of America’s Best and Fastest-Growing Companies

Squaremouth is consistently awarded for its unique company culture and steady revenue growth. This includes national recognition from Inc. Magazine, Fortune, and Entrepreneur, and local recognition from the Tampa Bay Business Journal and Florida Trend.

Read more