Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company
Overall Rating 4.06 Out of 5
Overall Rating 4.06 Out of 5
202 Reviews Since 2018

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    June 9, 2020
    Catherine from NC Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Nationwide wants so much proof of cancellation and because I booked through a third party makes if very difficult or impossible to provide all the information they want. With Covid-19 in the mix it should be much easier.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    April 10, 2020
    Mark from NY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Very poor communication from Nationwide. Only receive emails after weeks of waiting. Waiting at this time for review of my claim. They believe every claim is related to virus, which it isn't!

    Review Updated: 05/08/2020

    Satisfactory closure. Could have been done a bit sooner.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    April 9, 2020
    Ronald from MD Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I sent in the claim about on 3-19-20 in the mail. I never heard from anyone.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    April 5, 2020
    Christopher from MN Verified Squaremouth Customer

    This where I may need your help. I would really appreciate your feedback. Here are the circumstances of our trip that we never went on:

    1. Scheduled Departure Saturday March 21st MPLS MN to Cancun Mexico. Returning Saturday 3/28.

    2. US State Dept warns against travel out of US. Mexican Government does the same due to COVID 19 prior to our departure.

    3. Prior to Departure 3/19 we decide to notify both our Resort, Secret Akmul and Sun Country about our intentions NOT to travel.

    4. Our airline was Sun Country and my understanding is that they did fly to Cancun Sat 3/21. Most likely because they needed to pick up returning passengers from the week before.

    5. On Wed 2/25 Secrets Akmul closes the Resort and sends guests home.

    6. Neither the Resort or airline have cash back for this trip. However they are offering a credit towards future travel within a year. Right now travel seems to be on hold indefinitely.

    Do we have a valid claim?

    Thank you

    Chris Pyle

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    April 5, 2020
    Mary from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    My trip was postponed. Nationwide allowed me to change the dates with them too. They were courteous and it all went well.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    April 4, 2020
    Leanne from CO Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I contacted customer service by email to ask if I could switch the dates and destination of my policy, as I had to rebook my trip. They responded promptly, asked for more information, but now it's been quite awhile and I haven't heard back from them. I understand they are no doubt quite busy, but that is why I couldn't rate them higher.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    April 3, 2020
    Diana from MD Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Three weeks prior to our trip, we decided to cancel due to COVIS19. The resort and airlines we awesome and provided us with a full refund/credit. That was not the case our travel insurance. I contacted them as well as Nationwide's customer service and the response (these are all third party contractors to Nationwide) was that we had to cancel within 30 days of signing up for the insurance. We cancelled our trip for our health and safety due to the COVID19 out break which I explained to each person that I talked to and they all said that there was nothing that they could do. With this sort of response, I doubt that we will use you in the future.
    Diana Strohecker & Doug Purcell

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    April 3, 2020
    Mary from SC Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Even tough our cruise was cancelled with less than 24 hors notice, it seems there is little or no coverage for hotel, etc.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    March 29, 2020
    Susan from FL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Our cruise was cancelled due to the Coronavirus pandemic. We received a credit for the cruise. Nationwide is transferring our policy if we take a cruise within 18 mos from time of original purchase. I think this is very fair and I appreciate their flexibility.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    March 25, 2020
    Melissa from WY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    canceled policy as they refused to cover expenses associated with covid-19.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

Multi-Award Winning Customer Service Team

Squaremouth’s outside-the-box approach to customer service has been recognized nationally and internationally, with 13 awards in 5 years. Customer service is part of everybody’s job at Squaremouth. Every employee spends time on the phone with customers each week.

Read more

$30,000 Contest Encourages Reading Policy Documents

To highlight the importance of reading policy documents from start to finish, Squaremouth awarded one customer $10,000 in a secret contest for being the first to read hers. Then, we gave another $10,000 to a children’s literacy charity and $5,000 each to two schools.

Read more

$1,000 Tips Shine a Light on Service

Squaremouth, a company that puts a focus on customer service, rewards 20 outstanding customer service providers in St. Petersburg, Florida with $1,000 cash tips. Then, one received an additional $10,000 as the Thank You Campaign’s grand prize winner.

Read more

One of America’s Best and Fastest-Growing Companies

Squaremouth is consistently awarded for its unique company culture and steady revenue growth. This includes national recognition from Inc. Magazine, Fortune, and Entrepreneur, and local recognition from the Tampa Bay Business Journal and Florida Trend.

Read more