Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company
Overall Rating 4.06 Out of 5
Overall Rating 4.06 Out of 5
202 Reviews Since 2018

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    March 23, 2020
    Nancy from PA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Very easy to secure policy. Paula was very helpful when I called while travelling amd needed guidance on how to proceed with finding alternative return flights etc.

    Review Updated: 04/20/2020

    Although my claim was not able to be reimbursed due to it being due to Covid-19 pandemic they were were very informative and helpful

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    March 19, 2020
    BLAINE from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We bought trip insurance for the first time because of an International Money transfer being the only way we could pay the travel agent in Australia. We learned the conference we were going to Taiwan for was canceled 15 hours before the flight because of the Corona Virus pandemic. We therefore had no reason to go to Taiwan. Yes, the flight was still going. Yes, the bus tour was still on, but 4 full days of the trip was now open because of the conference being canceled. When we called the claims department they immediatly said we weren't covered. I understand that is the person on the front line job, say no. But after speaking to their supervisor, I got no further. No. No, they would not cover our costs of the flight, bus tour or and fee changes. No, we could not have paid more for more coverage that would cover this. No. Just no. But, yes, they would come at great expense to get us if we got sick. How does that make sense??

    In speaking with Patti at the claims department, they were flooded with people calling about the worldwide health scare. Well, tough. That's the business they got into, it's their job to deal with un-forseen problems, like a pandemic. My experience was very unsatisfactory and I will not be using them again.
    ( Taiwan is way more prepared to handle this pandemic than the US and we should have stayed there )

    Was this review helpful to you?

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    March 14, 2020
    ROGER from PA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    After about 3 weeks I received a call requesting additional information (amount of port taxes refunded; confirmation of payment to cruise agency for cancellation fee). I faxed this to them and called in a week to confirm. They claimed the fax wasn’t received. I faxed once more and waited another 3 weeks but eventually the checks arrived. Other than the slow response ( 6 weeks), I am quite satisfied with the payments
    Thank you for your concern

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    March 7, 2020
    John from SC Verified Squaremouth Customer

    My flight date was changed by the carrier which caused undue hardship on me. When trying to file a claim I find there are only 2 reasons I can file due to flight cancelations. Weather or strike and that info may be hidden in fine print, but it should be made clear when buying a policy what you're getting! Not finding out after you try to use it that it's worthless for your need.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    March 7, 2020
    Laurie from NH Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Very fast response and service.. extremely happy

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    March 7, 2020
    Sandra from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Well organized, customer focused and prompt. No complaints - only praise. My mother and my sister took out travel insurance from other companies for the same trip. My claim was paid promptly by Nationwide. Their claims are still in limbo 4 months later.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    March 4, 2020
    Edward from NM Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Called after trip interruption and was sent forms, I have been involved with a bunch on medical appointments and will be putting in the claims soon.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    February 26, 2020
    Maureen from CT Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I forgot about submitting a claim. I had two issues. They lost my suitcase for 30 hours so I had to spend $50 for an outfit for one day as I waited for suitcase to arrive. When I arrived home I noticed my suitcase front pocket was torn to shreds so it no longer closes. Can I submit a claim to you for both of these?

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    February 22, 2020
    roger from FL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Not much to sy since Idid not need to filea claim

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    February 20, 2020
    Jeffrey from NY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Original medical claim had information that was incorrectly filled out by the Physician and was corrected. Appeals Process required a corrected signed form which was sent a week and a half ago....Always interesting how rejection on technicalities are processed right away but legitimate or appeals drag on...Should be pretty straight forward..

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful

Multi-Award Winning Customer Service Team

Squaremouth’s outside-the-box approach to customer service has been recognized nationally and internationally, with 13 awards in 5 years. Customer service is part of everybody’s job at Squaremouth. Every employee spends time on the phone with customers each week.

Read more

$30,000 Contest Encourages Reading Policy Documents

To highlight the importance of reading policy documents from start to finish, Squaremouth awarded one customer $10,000 in a secret contest for being the first to read hers. Then, we gave another $10,000 to a children’s literacy charity and $5,000 each to two schools.

Read more

$1,000 Tips Shine a Light on Service

Squaremouth, a company that puts a focus on customer service, rewards 20 outstanding customer service providers in St. Petersburg, Florida with $1,000 cash tips. Then, one received an additional $10,000 as the Thank You Campaign’s grand prize winner.

Read more

One of America’s Best and Fastest-Growing Companies

Squaremouth is consistently awarded for its unique company culture and steady revenue growth. This includes national recognition from Inc. Magazine, Fortune, and Entrepreneur, and local recognition from the Tampa Bay Business Journal and Florida Trend.

Read more