Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company
Overall Rating 4.03 out of 5
Overall Rating 4.03 out of 5 223 Reviews Since 2018

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Prime
    Review Received:
    June 11, 2020
    DANIEL from MO Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I was unable to travel for several reasons, mostly related to COVID-19
    I emailed my claim request on May 26
    One Minute later, I received ONE automated email response to my claim
    I have had no updates or responses since then.

    Their email said there is a delay in processing claims so be patient

    Said they may need more documentation but gave no list of required documents
    I received NO form or webpage to complete

    May 27 I emailed them again asking for a list of documents but they haven't responded

    Was this review helpful to you?

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    June 11, 2020
    Joe from TN Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I inquires about coverage and terms and was misled.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    June 9, 2020
    Catherine from NC Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Nationwide wants so much proof of cancellation and because I booked through a third party makes if very difficult or impossible to provide all the information they want. With Covid-19 in the mix it should be much easier.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    April 10, 2020
    Mark from NY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Very poor communication from Nationwide. Only receive emails after weeks of waiting. Waiting at this time for review of my claim. They believe every claim is related to virus, which it isn't!

    Review Updated: 05/08/2020

    Satisfactory closure. Could have been done a bit sooner.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    April 9, 2020
    Ronald from MD Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I sent in the claim about on 3-19-20 in the mail. I never heard from anyone.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    April 5, 2020
    Christopher from MN Verified Squaremouth Customer

    This where I may need your help. I would really appreciate your feedback. Here are the circumstances of our trip that we never went on:

    1. Scheduled Departure Saturday March 21st MPLS MN to Cancun Mexico. Returning Saturday 3/28.

    2. US State Dept warns against travel out of US. Mexican Government does the same due to COVID 19 prior to our departure.

    3. Prior to Departure 3/19 we decide to notify both our Resort, Secret Akmul and Sun Country about our intentions NOT to travel.

    4. Our airline was Sun Country and my understanding is that they did fly to Cancun Sat 3/21. Most likely because they needed to pick up returning passengers from the week before.

    5. On Wed 2/25 Secrets Akmul closes the Resort and sends guests home.

    6. Neither the Resort or airline have cash back for this trip. However they are offering a credit towards future travel within a year. Right now travel seems to be on hold indefinitely.

    Do we have a valid claim?

    Thank you

    Chris Pyle

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    April 5, 2020
    Mary from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    My trip was postponed. Nationwide allowed me to change the dates with them too. They were courteous and it all went well.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    April 4, 2020
    Leanne from CO Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I contacted customer service by email to ask if I could switch the dates and destination of my policy, as I had to rebook my trip. They responded promptly, asked for more information, but now it's been quite awhile and I haven't heard back from them. I understand they are no doubt quite busy, but that is why I couldn't rate them higher.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    April 3, 2020
    Diana from MD Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Three weeks prior to our trip, we decided to cancel due to COVIS19. The resort and airlines we awesome and provided us with a full refund/credit. That was not the case our travel insurance. I contacted them as well as Nationwide's customer service and the response (these are all third party contractors to Nationwide) was that we had to cancel within 30 days of signing up for the insurance. We cancelled our trip for our health and safety due to the COVID19 out break which I explained to each person that I talked to and they all said that there was nothing that they could do. With this sort of response, I doubt that we will use you in the future.
    Diana Strohecker & Doug Purcell

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    April 3, 2020
    Mary from SC Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Even tough our cruise was cancelled with less than 24 hors notice, it seems there is little or no coverage for hotel, etc.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful