Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company
Overall Rating 4.02 out of 5
Overall Rating 4.02 out of 5 576 Reviews Since 2018

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    February 11, 2024
    Olga from NY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Cruise company cancelled the sailing. I filed the claim to get money back for air tickets purchased to join said cruise. Prior to filing the claim, I called insurance to consult and was told that I need to cancel air tickets with airline company first, then submit the claim. I followed steps as advised. The claim was denied stating that my policy would only cover up to $100 fee to change air tickets. I appealed explaining that I am not in possession of tickets any longer on the advise of insurance company agent. My appeal was denied stating that agent did tell me that the compensation is not guaranteed. So, I lost the possession of air tickets all together following the advise of the insurance company agent and I did not get any compensation from insurance company for any money paid for the trip. I have been purchasing travel insurance using Squaremouth for many years. Involvement of your company in this situation on my behalf would be greatly appreciated. Sincerely, Olga Shnaidman.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Cruise Choice
    Review Received:
    February 10, 2024
    Howard from IL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    You made it easy for me to select the right policy for our needs!

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    February 9, 2024
    Suzanne from VA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Good coverage at a reasonable price, especially for pre-existing conditions.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    February 9, 2024
    Laura from NC Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We unfortunately had to cancel two days before our trip due to a positive COVID test. We were emailed the claim paperwork right away and received the full refund within about 5 weeks which, over the Christmas holidays, is pretty good. We would rather have been on our trip, but the claims process was smooth and efficient.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Prime
    Review Received:
    February 5, 2024
    Gary from CO Verified Squaremouth Customer

    The coverage did nothing to help us when our trip had to be aborted due to a malfunctioning boat charter. we lost our entire vacation.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    February 4, 2024
    kathy from FL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Filed claim. They then handled everything necessary for a safe return from a foreign destination.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    January 21, 2024
    Gale from NC Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I had to contact Squaremouth to push the claim along which they were very helpful. Squaremouth is a great company that is not afraid to step into a situation to assist. I appreciate their help.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Prime
    Review Received:
    January 17, 2024
    Merri from IN Verified Squaremouth Customer

    It's always a great experience.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    January 14, 2024
    TODD from MI Verified Squaremouth Customer

    As of all good. Will see how it goes when I get my claim sent in. Just gathering info up.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    January 14, 2024
    Gaylynn from TX Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I tried to cancel my insurance since I knew I wasn't going to take the trip well in advance of the departure but they wouldn't allow it. This is just wrong and I will not be using your insurance again!!

    Was this review helpful to you?

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful