Tin Leg
Overall Rating 4.61 Out of 5
Overall Rating 4.61 Out of 5
2,622 Reviews Since 2014

  • Overall Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Economy
    Review Received:
    June 15, 2020
    Laurie from VA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Our trip was cancelled due to the airline cancelling our flight. We were able to get almost all of our money back from everything. I claimed about $600 for hotel reservations that was not refunded. I was told that because it had to do with COVID-19 they would not reimburse me. My husband said we would not ever use this company again for travel insurance. By the way we rebooked our vacation for July and guess which company we will NOT be using for travel insurance!

    Response From:
    Tin Leg
    Tin Leg:
    Steven
    Response Received:
    June 16, 2020

    Hi Laurie

    I apologize that your claim did not have a more favorable outcome. I have spoken with our Claims Team and reviewed your claim. Unfortunately, a travel supplier canceling your flight is not covered within your policy. In order for a cancellation claim to be paid, it must fall within your policy’s specific list of covered reasons.

    
If you have any additional questions about your policy or claim, please contact our Claims Team at 844-240-1233. We are available from 8am to 4pm ET, Monday through Friday, and are delighted to help!

    Was this review helpful to you?

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    June 9, 2020
    Shirley from WA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I did not take the planned trip. Tin Leg gave me a voucher for the cost of the insurance, good for a trip scheduled within the next twelve months.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    May 1, 2020
    Diane from NY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Buying the policy was easy and all staff were helpful. But the important part of a policy is if it pays out if I have a claim. Fortunately I had no claim, but without that experience I can't really rate you.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Economy
    Review Received:
    April 24, 2020
    Anni from PA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Having to wait for a phone interview (haven't had that with previous insurance providers) was a little annoying, especially as it was like a 2 week wait for the next appointment. Also having to do a runaround of contacting my health insurance first for the claim, which rejected it anyway. Good aspects were the travel insurance was a good rate, and after all the back and forth, it was easy to fill out the online form and provide info there, and was a quick response and confirmation after that - if only your process was to go straight to that it would be much better! Also a tip to the phone interviewers - if someone misses your call, please try calling back every few minutes later until you reach them. This happened both to my husband and I, where the phone only rang 3 or 4 times, and then received a message saying we need to organise a new phone interview time. Luckily we called back staight away and made sure to get the interview done that day.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    April 16, 2020
    Maureen from NY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    No comment at this time since I am not finished with the process

    Review Updated: 05/14/2020

    I was pleased how easy it was to file a claim. After I submitted my documents I receive the reimbursement quickly. I had all my questions answered with politeness and informative details.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    April 14, 2020
    Dannie from WA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I was on a cruise ship that got caught in the coronavirus disruptions. I emailed Tin Leg for information and got a return email within 1 hour. My roommate emailed her insurance folks and never did get a response. I was very pleased with the clear explanations of the procedure for filing claims and theeased of filing the claim. I always use Tin Leg when I travel outside the country

    Was this review helpful to you?

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    April 14, 2020
    Marianne from IL from IL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    The entire process could not have been easier for. The website is intuitive, easy to navigate. Has extremely helpful information: to help me compare policies and to help me finalize my decision. The claims process was the easiest, most friendly I've ever experienced.

    I'm sure to go with Tin Leg next time I travel overseas.

    Thank you for asking my feedback.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    April 7, 2020
    Cynthia from FL from FL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    The "coronavirus epidemic exclusion" is ridiculous . People purchase insurance for the "unknown possible future events". That is the reasoning for insurance.
    I am VERY dissatisfied that my claim was turned down. NO EXCUSES
    Cynthia from FL

    Was this review helpful to you?

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    April 7, 2020
    Robert from MO Verified Squaremouth Customer

    My experience with Tin Leg customer service before our trip started was excellent.
    Our trip was disrupted (shortened) due to coronovirus outbreak-related travel restrictions issued by the host country, so we had to return early.
    We did get a refund on our unused travel expense by the tour operator, but Tin Leg's travel insurance does not provide any compensation, i.e. refund, for insurance coverage of pre-paid travel costs that were not used (refunded).
    Tin Leg's rejection of any financial liability in this case seems to be inconsistent with customer-friendly business policies that we would expect for a situation that we had no control over and happened after we left the United States.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    April 7, 2020
    C J from MO Verified Squaremouth Customer

    They were extremely helpful and understanding when we had to interrupt our trip due to illness. We were able cancel payment for the second of two months and even get a refund of two days of the first month when we had to leave early.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

Multi-Award Winning Customer Service Team

Squaremouth’s outside-the-box approach to customer service has been recognized nationally and internationally, with 13 awards in 5 years. Customer service is part of everybody’s job at Squaremouth. Every employee spends time on the phone with customers each week.

Read more

$30,000 Contest Encourages Reading Policy Documents

To highlight the importance of reading policy documents from start to finish, Squaremouth awarded one customer $10,000 in a secret contest for being the first to read hers. Then, we gave another $10,000 to a children’s literacy charity and $5,000 each to two schools.

Read more

$1,000 Tips Shine a Light on Service

Squaremouth, a company that puts a focus on customer service, rewards 20 outstanding customer service providers in St. Petersburg, Florida with $1,000 cash tips. Then, one received an additional $10,000 as the Thank You Campaign’s grand prize winner.

Read more

One of America’s Best and Fastest-Growing Companies

Squaremouth is consistently awarded for its unique company culture and steady revenue growth. This includes national recognition from Inc. Magazine, Fortune, and Entrepreneur, and local recognition from the Tampa Bay Business Journal and Florida Trend.

Read more