Tin Leg
Overall Rating 4.6 out of 5
Overall Rating 4.6 out of 5 3,200 Reviews Since 2014

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    November 16, 2022
    John from VA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    This is probably the first time I’ve ever written a review, but I felt compelled to because this whole experience has made me so angry and others need to know….
    I would NOT recommend using this company. From beginning to end, the claims process has been a living ****:
    1) they don't call when they say they are going to call you
    2) they ask you to submit paperwork, sit on it for a couple of weeks, and then request additional paperwork, then sit on it more, and then ask for the same paperwork again
    3) once you think you've provided everything, they again sit on things for a couple more weeks and then they tell you that the files you’ve uploaded aren't in the correct format
    4) finally, I had to be proactive and contact the claims adjuster and it's just more of the same, but with a human ignoring you vs. dealing with a portal
    5) after months of dragging their feet, constantly asking for additional documents that have already been submitted, saying they tried to call you back, but your voicemail didn't pick up, saying they didn’t receive email attachments...then ABSOLUTELY NOTHING still happens
    6) I finally, had to do the "give me your supervisor's name and number" thing, which I hated doing
    So after 5 months of dealing with delays, dishonesty (dare of say lies?), and incompetence, I finally got my claim check. Don’t be fooled by the positive reviews because these people most likely never had to file a claim. Honestly, I think most folks just give up, but I'm meticulous, organized, and have a flexible enough schedule where I could take this "part-time" job on. What a colossal waste of time jumping through all these hoops. I couldn't imagine a company doing a worse job. They should be ashamed of themselves. Simply put they are the absolute worst and I wouldn’t wish this experience on my worst enemy.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    154 out of 156 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Gold
    Review Received:
    November 9, 2022
    Parveen from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    The trip was canceled by the operator in January. I sent in the forms and was told by my then claims agent that what I sent in was sufficient. I recieved no response for several months and called back on April 13 and got a new claims agent (Kandace Tate) She sent an email saying my claim had been forwarded to be reviewed and I would hear in 7-10 days. No response. Called on Sep 8 ans was told (by Sharice) that agent (Kandace) or her manager (Marcus) were super busy and not available and she would call me within 5 business days,
    Sep 26 - called again and talked to Sandy. She said she would reach out to Kandace and have her send me something. It is now November and I have heard nothing. In my opinion Tin Leg is garbage. I will not use them again if I have any choice in the matter.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    92 out of 97 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Gold
    Review Received:
    August 15, 2022
    Darliss from ID Verified Squaremouth Customer

    They kept asking for documentation that I already sent. It was a small claim (less than $100). I had surgery and didn't have the energy to continue trying to deal with them. I was never reimbursed.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    53 out of 53 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Gold
    Review Received:
    August 1, 2022
    VERY UNHAPPY from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Our trip was cancelled due to Covid.
    We have 3 policies with SquareMouth and all three policies received the same information.
    Our policies are for over $1000 of travel insurance for airline carriers, British Air and Finn Air.

    We submitted all of the same information for each claim.
    As mentioned in our claim, we have tried multiple times to contact Finn Air with no response. Upon finally speaking in person (extremely rude people) we also had live chat dialog that we provided with our claim. We filled out the forms required and Finn Air still remains unresponsive to our request for them to simply sign a form stating that they have NOT provided us any refund. The refund was a mere $60.
    Without this paperwork, TinLeg (through Broadspire), cancelled my claim worth over $1000 because the horrible airline has not responded and the documentation we have provided was insufficient.

    YOU cancelled our over $1000 claim because you say that you have not heard from me. We've done everything we could to obtain the required documentation from an airline who cares NOTHING about its customers....and you have TREATED US exactly the same way.
    Squaremouth/TinLeg/Broadspire, thank you for requiring me to now how to seek an attorney to deal with YOU and a horrible airline.
    Thank you for showing how worthless your product and service is.

    Response From:
    Tin Leg
    Tin Leg:
    Megan Moncrief
    Response Received:
    August 2, 2022

    Hello, thank you for notifying us of this issue. We apologize for the inconvenience and frustration you have experience as a result of having to cancel your trip. Unfortunately, it is industry standard for underwriters to require both proof of cancelation, as well as documentation confirming any applicable refunds that were accepted or denied. This is necessary in order for our claims adjusters to determine how much you are eligible to be reimbursed for. However, we have opened a Zero Complaint case to investigate your claim and determine how we can move forward. You should have received an email to schedule a time to speak to a licensed member of our team. Thank you again for taking the time to make us aware of your situation.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    133 out of 138 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Gold
    Review Received:
    June 4, 2022
    Jennifer from MI Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We purchased travel insurance specifically with Covid coverage. We tested positive outside of the country and could not return as planned. We filed a claim immediately. They said to keep all receipts. They then punted us to some third party called Broadspire. I uploaded all documents as requested upon our return. I have yet to hear anything back despite multiple attempts to contact them by phone and email. I reached out to Tin Leg who said they contacted Broadspire on my behalf, but still nothing.

    Awful experience so far, am unsure we'll ever recoup our costs (which Tin Leg said on the phone while we were out of the country would be no problem), and now feel like I wasted money on even getting the travel insurance.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    291 out of 332 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Gold
    Review Received:
    May 30, 2022
    Kristi from NY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I submitted a claim on January 26th. It is a simple claim, for a fairly inexpensive trip. I contracted COVID while I was away. Tin Leg assigned the claim responsibility to Broadspire and they keep asking me for documentation that I have already submitted an explanation for. I cannot get any answers from them. Every time I call I get the runaround. Last time, the very nice woman told me she would send an urgent email to the person in charge of my claim and his manager. Two weeks later....nothing. This type of business practice borders on being fraudulent.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    240 out of 272 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Gold
    Review Received:
    May 24, 2022
    James from GA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Horrible - Tin Leg assigned claim responsibility to Affinity and they will not respond to claim status. I cannot get any answers from Tin Leg or Affinity and Tin Leg Claims only puts you in voicemail. This type of business practice borders on being fraudulent.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    149 out of 169 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Gold
    Review Received:
    May 16, 2022
    Michael from WA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We have used Square Mouth for
    Two European river cruises.
    We first heard about SM from Travel With Alan.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    4 out of 60 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Gold
    Review Received:
    May 16, 2022
    Mark from FL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Waiting on Claim forms due to Covid

    Review Updated: 06/23/2022

    Claim was handled properly. Could have been some pro active communication from the claim rep.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    37 out of 45 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Gold
    Review Received:
    May 15, 2022
    Barbara from PA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I spent a tremendous amount of time researching trip insurance including what is included with my high-end credit card. Since I booked early, this was done about 6 months ago and I don't recall the buying experience with Squaremouth. Accordingly, I rated the experience 3* (since this form didn't allow me to leave the rating blank for this review) and I reported i interacted with Customer service which I probably did but have no true idea. Rating the buying experience closer to when I did it would make sense.

    Most of my research was painful as there's a lot of jargon, different plans cover different things so apple-to-apple comparison is impossible. I found much of the really important info is buried in .pdf documents, not on website pages.

    All that painful effort being behind me, I did purchase the Sqaremouth policy so apparently I made an informed decision to pick the best product for me.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    26 out of 60 people found this review helpful