Sales & Service Data

TOTAL SALES
22,860
Since 2014
MONTHLY SALES
380
Average Monthly Sales Since 2014
REVIEWS
1,073
Since 2014
Overall Rating
4.4 Out of 5
Detailed Ratings
  • Customer Service Before Trip
  • Customer Service During Trip
  • Customer Service During Claim
Overall Rating

22,860
policies sold

0.3%
negative reviews

0.3% (69) negative reviews to sales
Average on Squaremouth is 0.6%

  • 5 stars
    720
  • 4 stars
    189
  • 3 stars
    95
  • 2 stars
    38
  • 1 stars
    31
Top Providers
HTH Travel Insurance
4.57/5
RoamRight
4.52/5
InsureandGo USA
4.51/5

Tin Leg Reviews


  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    They were very helpful

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Standard
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    In the end we were satisfied that the claim was paid unde the cancel for any reason provision of the policy. Claim agents were helpful.

    Two issues:
    1. Regular customer service hours are too limited--just business hours on weekdays. We had some specific questions about coverage over the weekend and had to wait for a definitive answer until Monday morning. We did try the 24 hour emergency number but were provided only limited and vague answers about coverage details. (We specifically needed to know exactly how the 3 day deadline for cancel for any reason was defined, since it is not clear in the policy language.)
    2. Claim form we were provided by email was not the correct form, but the company accepted it anyway. We later found a more appropriate form on-line but did not submit that since the other one was already under way.

    Overall it was a good experience and we recommend Tin Leg. Their prices are good and they have a 75% cancel for any reason option--many other insurers only provide a 50% policy.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Standard
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Filed claim 9-11-15. Followed up 9-30-15 when did not get notification that it had been received. Spoke to Amanda and was told claim was there and in review should hear in 2-3 weeks. It is now almost 4 weeks later and have not heard from anyone except for this request to review the quality of your service. Irma Mottley

    Response From:
    Tin Leg
    Tin Leg:
    Kelly Caulkins
    Response Received:

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

    I am sorry for your negative experience.

    Typically, the claims department will contact you within 5 -7 business days of receiving your documentation.

    I apologize we did not contact you in a timely manner.

    I confirmed with our administrative department that the travel dates on the policy were changed. We were contacted on 6/1/2015 with this request.

    Unfortunately, the claim that was submitted did not occur within the policy’s updated travel dates. A letter with further explanation will be mailed out by the end of the week. Please allow 7-10 business days for this to arrive in the mail.

    Please contact us directly at 866-887-7108 if you have any questions. We are delighted to help.

    Again, please accept my sincerest apologies for the delay in processing your claim and we appreciate your feedback.

    Response From:
    Squaremouth
    Kasey Krueger
    Response Received:
    November 2, 2015

    Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for making us aware of your complaint with Tin Leg.

    A member of our Zero Complaint Team will follow-up with you by the end of the business day tomorrow to discuss your claim further.

    Alternatively, you may reach us at 800-240-0369.

    Thank you.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Economy
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We had our baggage lost for six days going and 1 piece lost for 1 day returning. We went to Papua New Guinea and had to travel 4+ hours to retrieve our luggage on not very nice conditions and all they reimbursed us was $19.02 the actual money outlaid to travel to get our luggage. Not any reimbursement for doing without our things for 6 days or the time it took to retrieve them.
    I was very dissapointed and would not use this insurance company again or recommend them to anyone else!!!!!

    Response From:
    Tin Leg
    Tin Leg:
    Kelly Calkins
    Response Received:

    Thank you for taking the time to submit a response.

    I apologize for the frustration this caused you.

    The $19.02 payment was for the expenses that were incurred to obtain your luggage. I understand you spent hours traveling to retrieve your luggage. Unfortunately, the baggage delay benefit does not provide coverage for loss of time.

    The baggage delay benefit is designed to provide reimbursement for out of pocket expenses that are incurred to replace necessary personal items while waiting for delayed luggage to arrive at your destination. This is standard in the travel insurance industry.

    We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused and we appreciate your feedback.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Economy
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    The site is excellent! The side by side comparisons of the different policies saved me a lot of time and made my decision making relatively easy.

    I called before purchasing the policy and got extremely good service. The representative was very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful.

    The policy was issued very quickly.

    Fortunately we didn't need to file a claim so I can't comment on that.

    Thank you for the relatively painless experience in buying travel insurance!

    Was this review helpful to you?

    17 out of 37 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Easy to access; easy to compare prices; reasonable prices

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    The companies both responded quickly when I couldn't find my travel card with insurance details just before I was leaving. Tin Leg was more reasonable than other options.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Economy
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Very easy to use.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    17 out of 46 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Standard
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I purchased trip insurance through Squaremouth because I used them on a previous trip, and I found insurance that was less expensive with better coverage than the insurance offered by my tour company. I found the process to be easy. Unfortunately, my wife was hospitalized 3 days before we were scheduled to depart, so I filed a claim. The Tin Leg web site explained the process well, and filing the claim was not particularly difficult because I had only two expenses to claim for -- the tour company's and the air ticket agency. Once I documented the claim properly and submitted it, I received full payment within a few weeks.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I have submitted the paperwork and have been waiting for a call. I scheduled for a call last week but did not receive the call at scheduled time or at other tim. I am still waiting to get paid for the medical visit.

    Response From:
    Tin Leg
    Tin Leg:
    Kelly Calkins
    Response Received:

    Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your experience. I apologize for the negative experience you have had with our claims team.

    I can confirm our customer service team emailed a request to schedule a claim interview with you on 1/11/2016 after receiving your notification of claim by email on 1/09/2016. We emailed another request on 1/13/2016.

    When we did not receive a response to our claim interview request, a claims agent contacted you directly by phone on 1/19/2016 and completed the claim interview and emailed you a claim form for your signature. Once we receive this form, we will immediately process your claim. The claim process typically takes 10 days.

    Our standard process is to conduct a claim interview with our customers and email a pre-filled claim form that includes the information provided during the interview. In order to do so, we email a request to schedule an interview within 2 business days of receiving notification of a claim.

    Again, I am sorry for any frustration we caused you during this process.

    You may contact me directly at 727-431-6591 if you have any questions. I am happy to help.

    Thank you for the opportunity to assist you.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

$1,000 tips shine a light on service

Squaremouth, a company that puts a focus on how to treat customers, rewards 20 who do the same.

BY KATHERINE SNOW SMITH
Times Staff Writer

See what happened

Silver Stevie Winner for Customer Service

Squaremouth wins national award for Customer Service Team of the Year by the American Business Awards.

Read more

Safe with our Zero Complaint Guarantee

Every travel insurance policy purchased through Squaremouth comes with the Zero Complaint Guarantee.

In the event of a complaint, Squaremouth will mediate with the insurance provider on behalf of our client.

Unless the complaint is resolved to Squaremouth's satisfaction, the provider will be removed from the website.

Read more

One of Florida’s Best Companies to Work For in 2015

Headquartered in St. Petersburg, Florida, Squaremouth’s unique work environment and core values have led to consistent recognition for company culture, outstanding office space and rapid growth.

In 2015, Florida Trend magazine named Squaremouth the 18th best small company to work for in Florida, highlighting the company’s exceptional culture in a special feature article.

Read More