Sales & Service Data

TOTAL SALES
23,909
Since 2014
MONTHLY SALES
371
Average Monthly Sales Since 2014
REVIEWS
1,117
Since 2014
Overall Rating
4.49 Out of 5
Detailed Ratings
  • Customer Service Before Trip
  • Customer Service During Trip
  • Customer Service During Claim
Overall Rating

23,909
policies sold

0.2%
negative reviews

0.2% (43) negative reviews to sales
Average on Squaremouth is 0.6%

  • 5 stars
    767
  • 4 stars
    209
  • 3 stars
    98
  • 2 stars
    37
  • 1 stars
    6
Top Providers
RoamRight
4.52/5
Tin Leg
4.49/5
HTH Travel Insurance
4.49/5

Tin Leg Reviews


  • Overall Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Standard
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    In the end we were satisfied that the claim was paid unde the cancel for any reason provision of the policy. Claim agents were helpful.

    Two issues:
    1. Regular customer service hours are too limited--just business hours on weekdays. We had some specific questions about coverage over the weekend and had to wait for a definitive answer until Monday morning. We did try the 24 hour emergency number but were provided only limited and vague answers about coverage details. (We specifically needed to know exactly how the 3 day deadline for cancel for any reason was defined, since it is not clear in the policy language.)
    2. Claim form we were provided by email was not the correct form, but the company accepted it anyway. We later found a more appropriate form on-line but did not submit that since the other one was already under way.

    Overall it was a good experience and we recommend Tin Leg. Their prices are good and they have a 75% cancel for any reason option--many other insurers only provide a 50% policy.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Had a 24 hour flight delay, submitted ALL required paper work to start claim and after 2 weeks of hearing nothing I called to see how we were progressing.
    They put me on hold for 15 minutes and then proceeded to tell me they never received anything from me, funny I have a USPS receipt of delivery to their location 3 days after I mailed it. Re-sent the entire package again but this time to reduce the size ( 14 pages ) I made 2 sided copies ( 7 pages ) also got a USPS receipt of delivery to their location! Called again after 2 weeks to see the progress of my claim and they said they received it and it is in the system with the claims reviewers.
    Nothing again for almost 3 weeks, called again placed on hold until they located someone who was handling the case, the said they have been trying to reach me because page 2,4,6,8,10,12 and 14 were missing. I told them to turn the pages over, Oh the person said this information is on my computer and they scan all claim information into the computer data base.and no longer have any paperwork. Looks like someone did not scan the back sides of the documents. Now this time I emailed the missing pages to the claims agent, finally they confirmed they had all the necessary documents.
    Again 3 weeks passed and I had not heard anything. Made contact with claims, and they said that they were working on it.
    This claim took from August 18th 2015 when I submitted it to Today December 15th 2015 when I finally got the 3rd of 3 checks. ( we had 3 travelers ) and they screwed that up too. Almost 16 weeks to process a claim for $333.00.
    Communication on their side was non existent. They had all of my contact information, phone and email but they never contacted me once.
    I would not recommend Tin Leg to handle your travel insurance needs.

    Response From:
    Tin Leg
    Tin Leg:
    Kelly Calkins
    Response Received:

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

    I apologize for your negative experience while processing your claim with us.

    I confirmed with the claims department that your final documentation was received on 11/11/2015 and payments were issued for the claim on 11/24/2015. I apologize for the initial oversight when scanning the documentation which was two-sided.

    Again, please accept my sincerest apologies for your negative experience. We appreciate your feedback because it allows us to improve our customer service.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Standard
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Filed claim 9-11-15. Followed up 9-30-15 when did not get notification that it had been received. Spoke to Amanda and was told claim was there and in review should hear in 2-3 weeks. It is now almost 4 weeks later and have not heard from anyone except for this request to review the quality of your service. Irma Mottley

    Response From:
    Tin Leg
    Tin Leg:
    Kelly Caulkins
    Response Received:

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

    I am sorry for your negative experience.

    Typically, the claims department will contact you within 5 -7 business days of receiving your documentation.

    I apologize we did not contact you in a timely manner.

    I confirmed with our administrative department that the travel dates on the policy were changed. We were contacted on 6/1/2015 with this request.

    Unfortunately, the claim that was submitted did not occur within the policy’s updated travel dates. A letter with further explanation will be mailed out by the end of the week. Please allow 7-10 business days for this to arrive in the mail.

    Please contact us directly at 866-887-7108 if you have any questions. We are delighted to help.

    Again, please accept my sincerest apologies for the delay in processing your claim and we appreciate your feedback.

    Response From:
    Squaremouth
    Kasey Krueger
    Response Received:
    November 2, 2015

    Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for making us aware of your complaint with Tin Leg.

    A member of our Zero Complaint Team will follow-up with you by the end of the business day tomorrow to discuss your claim further.

    Alternatively, you may reach us at 800-240-0369.

    Thank you.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I tried to fully explain why our trip had to be canceled but did not require a doctor visit but was asked again to provide a physicians statememnt. Still waiting for a response to my response.

    Response From:
    Tin Leg
    Tin Leg:
    Kelly Calkins
    Response Received:

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

    I apologize for the frustration this has caused you.

    We understand an illness was the cause for you to cancel your trip. Unfortunately, a licensed physician must prohibit or recommend canceling your trip in order to be eligible for coverage. This is standard for all travel insurance companies.

    Again, we apologize for the frustration this has caused and we appreciate your feedback.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Economy
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    First time I made a travel insurance claim. This was for an emergency hospital visit in Lucerne. I provided all the information I could think of, but I still thought the claims dept would require more. Not the case. They approved and closed the case much quicker than I expected and with absolutely no fuss or hassle.
    Excellent choice of carriers, excellent service far beyond my expectations.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Economy
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We had our baggage lost for six days going and 1 piece lost for 1 day returning. We went to Papua New Guinea and had to travel 4+ hours to retrieve our luggage on not very nice conditions and all they reimbursed us was $19.02 the actual money outlaid to travel to get our luggage. Not any reimbursement for doing without our things for 6 days or the time it took to retrieve them.
    I was very dissapointed and would not use this insurance company again or recommend them to anyone else!!!!!

    Response From:
    Tin Leg
    Tin Leg:
    Kelly Calkins
    Response Received:

    Thank you for taking the time to submit a response.

    I apologize for the frustration this caused you.

    The $19.02 payment was for the expenses that were incurred to obtain your luggage. I understand you spent hours traveling to retrieve your luggage. Unfortunately, the baggage delay benefit does not provide coverage for loss of time.

    The baggage delay benefit is designed to provide reimbursement for out of pocket expenses that are incurred to replace necessary personal items while waiting for delayed luggage to arrive at your destination. This is standard in the travel insurance industry.

    We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused and we appreciate your feedback.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    My complaint is with Tin Leg and Seven Corners. I had a trip delay which was not accepted because delays have to be caused by a common carrier. Tin Leg's Schedule of Benefits shows a Trip Delay being a minimum of 6 hours delay. Because we missed our flight because of a accident to the airport this was not covered. This is a typical insurance scam, don't pay and see what happens. Because the loss to me was missing one night at Secrets in Cancun, $606.39 in does not pay to use my lawyer, but small claims court might be the answer.

    Response From:
    Tin Leg
    Tin Leg:
    Kelly Calkins
    Response Received:

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your claims experience with Tin Leg.

    I am sorry to hear of your negative experience.

    I understand there was an accident on the roadway en route to the airport which resulted in a delay of your trip.

    In order to be covered under the Travel Delay benefit, you must either be involved in an accident while en route to your trip resulting in a delay, or there must be a delay of the common carrier of at least 6 hours.

    We reviewed your claim, and unfortunately, since you were not involved in the accident, we cannot provide reimbursement under the Travel Delay benefit. I understand your frustration as this accident was out of your control.

    Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience this has caused you.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Economy
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    My husband became ill while we were traveling and looked as through we may need to seek medical attention. While, thankfully, we did not need to do, I was comforted by the detailed information in our policy that guaranteed that we would have been well taken care of. The premium for the policy was absolutely worth the peace of mind we had and will certainly buy again!

    Was this review helpful to you?

    22 out of 42 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Standard
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I purchased trip insurance through Squaremouth because I used them on a previous trip, and I found insurance that was less expensive with better coverage than the insurance offered by my tour company. I found the process to be easy. Unfortunately, my wife was hospitalized 3 days before we were scheduled to depart, so I filed a claim. The Tin Leg web site explained the process well, and filing the claim was not particularly difficult because I had only two expenses to claim for -- the tour company's and the air ticket agency. Once I documented the claim properly and submitted it, I received full payment within a few weeks.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Economy
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Excellent service. Received refund for cancelled trip in two weeks

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

$1,000 tips shine a light on service

Squaremouth, a company that puts a focus on how to treat customers, rewards 20 who do the same.

BY KATHERINE SNOW SMITH
Times Staff Writer

See what happened

Silver Stevie Winner for Customer Service

Squaremouth wins national award for Customer Service Team of the Year by the American Business Awards.

Read more

Safe with our Zero Complaint Guarantee

Every travel insurance policy purchased through Squaremouth comes with the Zero Complaint Guarantee.

In the event of a complaint, Squaremouth will mediate with the insurance provider on behalf of our client.

Unless the complaint is resolved to Squaremouth's satisfaction, the provider will be removed from the website.

Read more

One of Florida’s Best Companies to Work For in 2015

Headquartered in St. Petersburg, Florida, Squaremouth’s unique work environment and core values have led to consistent recognition for company culture, outstanding office space and rapid growth.

In 2015, Florida Trend magazine named Squaremouth the 18th best small company to work for in Florida, highlighting the company’s exceptional culture in a special feature article.

Read More