Generali Global Assistance
Overall Rating 4.41 out of 5
Overall Rating 4.41 out of 5 3,349 Reviews Since 2004

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Standard
    Review Received:
    April 5, 2020
    William B from MA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    under the circumstances with covert19 and the cancellation of all our travel plans, we tried to receive a refund of our $49 + policy. They would not even return an E-mail request.
    My wife and I are seniors(73 and 71) plan to travel again when all returns to normal but will not use this service again.

    Response From:
    Generali Global Assistance
    Generali Global Assistance:
    Generali
    Response Received:
    April 6, 2020

    We're sorry to hear about the circumstances surrounding your experience, and for not meeting your expectations. Letting us know how we are doing is the best way to ensure the best possible service to all of our customers. Unfortunately, we have been experiencing a higher than normal claim volume as a result of the Coronavirus escalation and we are currently experiencing a 30-40 day turn time for processing. We have reached out to our customer service team and you will be receiving their response soon. Thank you for your continued patience and understanding.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Preferred
    Review Received:
    April 5, 2020
    Ernest from AR Verified Squaremouth Customer

    They have not returned my call. My hotel reservation was cancelled after we arrived in Cabo and the airlines cancelled our return flight so we had to leave a day early. Trying to claim our loss.

    Response From:
    Generali Global Assistance
    Generali Global Assistance:
    Generali
    Response Received:
    April 6, 2020

    We're sorry to hear about the circumstances surrounding your experience, and for not meeting your expectations. Letting us know how we are doing is the best way to ensure the best possible service to all of our customers. Unfortunately, we have been experiencing a higher than normal claim volume as a result of the Coronavirus escalation and we are currently experiencing a 30-40 day turn time for processing. We have reached out to our customer service team and you will be receiving their response soon. Thank you for your continued patience and understanding.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Premium
    Review Received:
    April 3, 2020
    Wandra from FL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Overall excellent service. There was a delay in processing my claim but not overly long. I can understand due to the outbreak. Once everything was received they processed my claim quickly. I will definitely use both services for trip insurance again. It may a bit more expensive but cancel for any reason coverage is a 100% worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Preferred
    Review Received:
    March 30, 2020
    Graham from FL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We cancelled our trip the day before departure because of the COVID-19 news here in the US and South Africa, our trip destination. We filed a claim for trip cancellation but it was refused. Generalli is maintaining the position that our reason for cancellation is NOT covered.

    They did acknowledge the "difficult circumstances" and will be sending us a voucher for the price of the travel insurance for a future trip.

    Response From:
    Generali Global Assistance
    Generali Global Assistance:
    Generali
    Response Received:
    March 31, 2020

    We're sorry to hear about the circumstances surrounding your experience, and for not meeting your expectations. Actually, our plans can help if you are diagnosed with Coronavirus before or during your trip. You just need to meet the standard requirements for coverage due to sickness, and our plans can assist you with Trip Cancellation, Trip Interruption, Travel Delay, Medical & Dental, and Emergency Assistance & Transportation. If you have questions about these coverages, please reach out to us at (800) 348-9505 or via email at customerservice@generalitravelinsurance.com.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Standard
    Review Received:
    March 30, 2020
    Joel from FL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    They did not answer their phones for days!!!

    Response From:
    Generali Global Assistance
    Generali Global Assistance:
    Generali
    Response Received:
    March 31, 2020

    We're sorry to hear about the circumstances surrounding your experience, and for not meeting your expectations. Letting us know how we are doing is the best way to ensure the best possible service to all of our customers. Unfortunately, we have been experiencing a higher than normal call volume as a result of the Coronavirus escalation. A dedicated team member is looking into this further and will be reaching out to you very soon.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Standard
    Review Received:
    March 29, 2020
    Robert from IL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    The insurance was for my husband. We were supposed to return to the US on March 12 but were delayed due to weather. The next day, March 13, was the last day we could fly out and the plane was oversold. We got a new reservation for April 15. Consequently I needed to extend my husband's insurance. E-mail contacts with Customer Service did not get a response at all, even as of todayäs date March 29.. Luckily we were able to get a new one-way ticket back to the US on March 15. Filed a claim with the insurance and have not heard anything back but conflicting information. Filed everything and now I get back info showing different informations. Would not recommend this company. And who are they? Bought from Generali and get responses back from CSA.

    Response From:
    Generali Global Assistance
    Generali Global Assistance:
    Generali
    Response Received:
    April 3, 2020

    We're sorry to hear about the circumstances surrounding your experience, and for not meeting your expectations. Letting us know how we are doing is the best way to ensure the best possible service to all of our customers. Unfortunately, we have been experiencing a higher than normal claim volume as a result of the Coronavirus escalation and we are currently experiencing a 30-40 day turn time for processing. Your claim number is 20021956 and a claim representative will be reaching out shortly. Thank you for your continued patience and understanding. Your travel insurance plans are administered by Customized Services Administrators, Inc., (CSA), CA Lic. No. 0821931, located in San Diego, CA and doing business as Generali Global Assistance & Insurance Services.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Preferred
    Review Received:
    March 29, 2020
    joseph from SC Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Policy is worthless during a pandemic

    Response From:
    Generali Global Assistance
    Generali Global Assistance:
    Generali
    Response Received:
    April 1, 2020

    Thank you for your purchase. Our plans can help if you are diagnosed with Coronavirus before or during your trip. You just need to meet the standard requirements for coverage due to sickness, and our plans can assist you with Trip Cancellation, Trip Interruption, Travel Delay, Medical & Dental, and Emergency Assistance & Transportation. If you have questions about these coverages, please reach out to us at (800) 348-9505 or via email at customerservice@generalitravelinsurance.com.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Premium
    Review Received:
    March 28, 2020
    anonymous from SC Verified Squaremouth Customer

    As to the question "Did you interact with Generali Global Assistance customer service?", we TRIED on several occasions, but have had no reply from the company. So, that question was answered "YES", but actual interaction did not occur.

    The following email was sent to customerservice@generalitravelinsurance.com on March 12th at 3:23 PM EST. As of March 28th, we have had no reply.

    Generali Policy #20015W3804
    This policy was issued for a cruise on the Carnival Sunshine sailing March 16th and returning on March 21. Given a chance to reschedule by Carnival, the same trip and itinerary will now be taking place beginning March 20 through March 25, 2021. This is a request to please transfer the policy that has been paid for to this rescheduled trip. If this is not possible, we request a refund.
    A request for a return phone call was left on Monday March 9th at 3:03 PM Eastern time. An automated message stated that the call would be returned within 24 to 48 hours, however, that time period has long passed.
    We request that an acknowledgement to this message be sent or a phone call returned.
    Thank you.
    (names omitted)

    Response From:
    Generali Global Assistance
    Generali Global Assistance:
    Generali
    Response Received:
    March 30, 2020

    We're sorry to hear about the circumstances surrounding your experience, and for not meeting your expectations. Letting us know how we are doing is the best way to ensure the best possible service to all of our customers. Unfortunately, we have been experiencing a higher than normal call volume as a result of the Coronavirus escalation. A dedicated team member is looking into this further and will be reaching out to you very soon.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Standard
    Review Received:
    March 28, 2020
    Deborah from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    The trip was cancelled due to coronavirus yet we still had to pay the insurance. Not fair.

    Response From:
    Generali Global Assistance
    Generali Global Assistance:
    Generali
    Response Received:
    April 1, 2020

    We’re sorry to hear of your frustration. Airline or cruise changes to schedules and destinations due to virus outbreaks are not one of the covered events listed in our policies. Like other insurance plans you may have, travel insurance cannot cover everything, so it’s important that you read and understand your Description of Coverage/Policy, made available to you before and after purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Standard
    Review Received:
    March 26, 2020
    Florence from FL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Sent several notes stating I did not take the trip due to the virus. I have never heard back from your company. I feel a refund should be made for my health policy. You were notified before the start of the policy Policy#20058W0957 Cost $57. Terrible customer support.

    Response From:
    Generali Global Assistance
    Generali Global Assistance:
    Joseph
    Response Received:
    March 27, 2020

    We're sorry to hear about the circumstances surrounding your experience, and for not meeting your expectations. Letting us know how we are doing is the best way to ensure the best possible service to all of our customers. Unfortunately, we have been experiencing a higher than normal call volume as a result of the Coronavirus escalation. A dedicated team member will be reaching out to you very soon.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful