Sales & Service Data

TOTAL SALES
34,012
Since 2014
MONTHLY SALES
969
Average Monthly Sales Since 2014
REVIEWS
1,392
Since 2014
Overall Rating
4.54 Out of 5
Detailed Ratings
  • Customer Service Before Trip
  • Customer Service During Trip
  • Customer Service During Claim
Overall Rating

34,012
policies sold

0.1%
negative reviews

0.1% (43) negative reviews to sales
Average on Squaremouth is 0.6%

  • 5 stars
    986
  • 4 stars
    261
  • 3 stars
    102
  • 2 stars
    37
  • 1 star  
    6
Top Providers
RoamRight
4.54/5
Tin Leg
4.54/5
Travelex
4.45/5

Tin Leg Reviews


  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I changed my vacation from a 10 day to a 15 day and forgot to call and change the length of insurance needed. I did not realize this until the evening before I was to leave. I called customer service and was told that the evening staff could not do anything for me and that I should call the next morning. I called the next morning and customer service was able to extend my trip duration to the 15 days so that I would be covered for my entire trip to Spain and England. Great service and excellent handling of a problem that I created!! I highly recommend Tin Leg to everyone.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    This is the third trip for which we've used Tin Leg insurance. Each time we have been pleased with the quote and purchase process and service received when we contacted Customer Service with questions. As we paid for each trip in installments spread out over a period of several months, Tin Leg made it easy to add coverage monthly. I simply sent an email message to Customer Service indicating the increased trip cost and I received a new quote the same day. Because I had a credit card on file with Tin Leg, Customer Service simply applied the new premium to my card each month and sent me all of the proper paperwork reflecting each month's change. While we did not have a claim on two of our trips, we did file a claim on one. That claim was substantial as it involved an emergency air medical evacuation from the Serengeti, a ground ambulance and hospitalization; all of which affected our prepaid lodging and meals. When we returned home and filed the claim, Tin Leg handled it quickly and efficiently. We supplied the paperwork requested and within three weeks had two settlement checks in hand, with no questions asked. We were extremely pleased with their service, the coverage provided and the end result. We would not hesitate to recommend Tin Leg to any traveler and will certainly use them again ourselves. Their premiums are competitive, they offer excellent service, and you can't beat having the peace of mind they provide you when traveling far from home.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Very unhappy with Tin Leg. To date I haven't received a refund or explanation of settlement.
    I sent in claim on 8-25-2015. To date I haven't received a refund or explanation of settlement
    After one month I sent an email because they had not contacted me in any way to acknowledge receipt of claim.
    They claimed to have sent a letter to me on Sept. 22, 2015, to date not received.
    I contacted them again and they shot a curt email saying that they are evaluating claim. Really, does it take almost 3 months to evaluate a claim?

    I am very dissatisfied with the service of this company.

    Kay Donald
    10-31-2015

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    The policy was easy to purchase but everything after that was difficult. I have purchased 6 prior policies from Squaremouth and never previously needed to file a claim. I filed a claim for the first time after a recent trip and after a number of weeks without a response I called Tin Leg. The customer service representative informed me that they had misplaced my paperwork. A few weeks later I called back and received contradictory information from another representative. A few weeks later and after multiple phone calls my claim was rejected. I filed an appeal and this was also rejected after an inordinate amount of time and phone calls. I contacted the Zero Complaint team, and found no effective advocacy. I have since started purchasing travel insurance through a different company and no longer use Squaremouth.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Standard
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    No strike coverage? Air France had a work dispute and cancelled our flight. Have your attorney read the cryptic policy and understand the doublespeak. When they have to explain to you how a strike is not covered you know the language is intentionally suited to not have to pay your claim. My parents where on the trip with us on the exact same flight yet bought Allianz and had no issue with their claim for the exact same flight and issue. Do trust this company or use their insurance. Maybe I am old but who ever heard of not covering an airline strike?

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I got under 50% of my medical bills reimbursed (210 out of 500+).
    I got rejected the first time, for a reason which wasn't true, re-submitted my claim and got it accepted.
    Never got notified of the rejection, so I had to call to get the case re-opened.
    The second case got stalled at a step, so I had to call to follow up again.

    And I'm still waiting to get my claim cheque. So really it's still unfulfilled.

    Whole process felt like, and still feels like you're trying to **** over the customer.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We planned an paid for a Seabourn cruise to So. East Asia, departing 2/14/17. On 1/11/17 my husband broke his leg, and two weeks later learned that he required surgery on torn ligaments and separated ankle bones, which caused the doctor to mandate that he could not go on the cruise. In the latter part of January, we filed a claim with Tin Leg, for $14,000.00 (to recover some, but not all costs of the trip that we were forced to cancel.)
    The lady was nice on the phone...but we haven't heard any more about our claim since then. I should have asked how long it takes to process a claim, since it has been about 7 weeks since we filed. I will call and ask how the claim is proceeding.

    Review Updated: 04/10/2017

    It took a little while but it was handled professionally and to our satisfaction..
    Thank you.. and thank you for the follow up!

    Response From:
    Tin Leg
    Tin Leg:
    Kelly Calkins
    Response Received:

    What we found:
    Your claim was received on 1/27/17 and there was a delay in processing your claim.

    What we did about it:
    A member of our claims team contacted you to confirm your claim was approved and checks were mailed out on 3/23/17.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Extremely quick resolution to my claim. Very satisfied and would purchase through them again without a doubt.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Economy
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    My husband became ill while we were traveling and looked as through we may need to seek medical attention. While, thankfully, we did not need to do, I was comforted by the detailed information in our policy that guaranteed that we would have been well taken care of. The premium for the policy was absolutely worth the peace of mind we had and will certainly buy again!

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Standard
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Tin Leg was immediately contacted upon our return home. My husband's luggage was delayed more then 24 hours.
    The customer representative gave us incorrect information as to the required forms. We were not told we had to
    have receipts for any replacement purchases. We filled out the forms and submitted the paperwork to Tin Leg.
    It was a nightmare having to deal with American Airlines to give us the documentation of a delayed bag; we even
    had to contact our hotel in Bogata, Columbia, to support our claim of a delayed bag. Over three weeks w.et by
    wihout any communication from Tin Leg. We called and were told they had not received the receipts. By this time
    receipts had not been kept. Customer Service was not pleasant and said that without the receipts, we would not
    be reimbursed. Needless to say we have Tin Leg for the next two trips but will not ever do business with this company.
    We have used other companies and when a claim was submitted, the claim was quickly and efficiently handled.
    Tin Leg needs to properly train its representatives and communicate with its policy holders.
    Sandra & Roy Aders

    Was this review helpful to you?

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful

Multi-Award Winning Customer Service

Squaremouth’s out-of-the-box approach to customer service was recognized internationally in 2017, earning a Gold Stevie Award for Customer Service Department of the Year. This was Squaremouth’s first international Stevie and fourth customer service award overall.

Read more

Customer Service is Everybody’s Job

“Customer service is not a department, and Squaremouth knows it. Every employee spends time on the phone with customers.” New York Times and Wall Street Journal best-selling author, Shep Hyken, explains four core components of Squaremouth’s exceptional customer service.

Read more

$1,000 tips shine a light on service

Squaremouth, a company that puts a focus on how to treat customers, rewards 20 who do the same.

BY KATHERINE SNOW SMITH
Times Staff Writer

See what happened

One of America’s Best Workplaces

Squaremouth is consistently recognized, both locally and nationally, as one of the best places to work. Fortune Magazine named Squaremouth one of America’s Best Small Workplaces and the No. 2 Best Workplace for Women in the nation.

Read more