Sales & Service Data

TOTAL SALES
24,249
Since 2014
MONTHLY SALES
412
Average Monthly Sales Since 2014
REVIEWS
1,127
Since 2014
Overall Rating
4.5 Out of 5
Detailed Ratings
  • Customer Service Before Trip
  • Customer Service During Trip
  • Customer Service During Claim
Overall Rating

24,249
policies sold

0.2%
negative reviews

0.2% (42) negative reviews to sales
Average on Squaremouth is 0.6%

  • 5 stars
    778
  • 4 stars
    211
  • 3 stars
    96
  • 2 stars
    36
  • 1 stars
    6
Top Providers
RoamRight
4.52/5
Tin Leg
4.5/5
HTH Travel Insurance
4.48/5

Tin Leg Reviews


  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Standard
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Needed to contact Tin Leg customer service several times prior to the trip. They were prompt in getting back with us, informative, helpful and generally outstanding to work with. The trip went well, so we have no need to file a claim.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Standard
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    The Squaremouth site provides a convenient and user friendly tool to compare the travel insurance policies of several different companies and select the appropriate coverage for the trip. We selected the Tin Leg Standard policy for our trip to South America. We had to cancel our trip due to medical reasons. When I contacted customer service to get assistance and instructions on filing a claim, the representative sent an e-mail stating that the claim forms were attached, but there was no attachment. I wrote back to her, again requesting the forms, and this time she sent the wrong forms (Seven Corners vs Tin Leg, although the forms seemed identical except for the logos). During a phone call to customer service, I was instructed to download and complete the proper Tin Leg forms. I completed the claim forms, sent the claim by registered mail, and received confirmation from the postal service that the claim was delivered on September 21. I received nothing from Tin Leg. In early October, I contacted customer service by e-mail and provided our change of address, as we were returning to our winter home in Arizona. I received an e-mail response advising that our claim had been updated with the address change. For the next 5 weeks I heard nothing from Tin Leg.....no request for more information, no status of the claim, nothing. It was very disconcerting to hear nothing for such a long period when dealing with what for us, was a very large amount of money and a straight forward claim. A simple, short e-mail advising that no additional information would be required and the claim was being processed would have been appreciated and appropriate. On November 6 a check for half of the claim amount arrived. It had been mailed to our old address and then was forwarded to our Arizona home. Three days later, a second check for the rest of the claim arrived, also forwarded from the old address. The EOBs attached to both checks state in the remarks section: "Letter has been sent under separate cover." It is a week later, and no letters have been received.
    The comments above are not serious complaints, just my observations and concerns. It may be that in today's impersonal, digital way of doing business, customer service and keeping the customer informed are not a priority.

    Response From:
    Tin Leg
    Tin Leg:
    Kelly Calkins
    Response Received:

    Thank you for submitting your review.

    What we found:

    Your claim was received on 9/21/2015. You were not contacted because all the required documentation was received to process your claim initially. It was finalized on 10/17/2015.

    What we are doing about it:

    We are using your feedback to improve our claims processes.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Standard
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Unfortunately, we were unable to take the planned trip due to emergency surgery (triple bi-pass) on my husband several weeks before departure.
    While still recovering from shock of this medical emergency, I contacted Tin Leg and explained the situation. Carmen, in Customer Support, was very
    helpful and sent me a link to your claim forms. They were straight forward and simple to complete. The refund was promptly processed.
    My husband is recovering nicely and it was great that Tin Leg did not add stress to the situation. Unfortunately, you only hear about the bad
    experiences people have with insurance claims. That cannot be said for your company.

    I would use your services again and will certainly recommend you to fellow travelers. Thank you, Mary McCurdy

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Very unhappy with Tin Leg. To date I haven't received a refund or explanation of settlement.
    I sent in claim on 8-25-2015. To date I haven't received a refund or explanation of settlement
    After one month I sent an email because they had not contacted me in any way to acknowledge receipt of claim.
    They claimed to have sent a letter to me on Sept. 22, 2015, to date not received.
    I contacted them again and they shot a curt email saying that they are evaluating claim. Really, does it take almost 3 months to evaluate a claim?

    I am very dissatisfied with the service of this company.

    Kay Donald
    10-31-2015

    Response From:
    Tin Leg
    Tin Leg:
    Kelly Caulkins
    Response Received:

    Thank you for taking the time to submit a review.

    Typically, the claims department will contact you within 5 -7 business days of receiving your documentation.

    I apologize we did not contact you in a timely manner.

    I can confirm your claim was processed on 09/21/2015 and an items needed letter was sent on 09/22/2015 requesting proof of payment as well as confirmation of refund.

    If you have this information, please forward it to tinlegclaims@sevencorners.com.

    Please contact us at 866-887-7108 if you have any questions before sending in your documentation. We are delighted to help.

    Again, I apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you and we appreciate your feedback.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Cancellation for reasons of illness was expeditiously handled once forms were submitted.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I had to file a claim for illness before departure date. My experience if filing claim and receiving my money for it was excellent! It approximately 2 weeks for the full payment reimbursement to be received. Thanks Square Mouth for the great service.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Most excellent. The claim was processed in a timely manner.

    I have already used them again.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Standard
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Well it subject to review. We were unable to travel as my 85 father had urgent surgery.
    I let them Tin Leg know 3 days before trip. Faxed all info on the 8/28. Waited a week called and told them I received no acknowledgement of fax. Told to wait. Called back 8 days later at which time they acknowledged fax but told to wait again. So if they come through I would be willing to change review.

    Response From:
    Tin Leg
    Tin Leg:
    Kelly Calkins
    Response Received:

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

    We apologize for your negative experience and understand it is frustrating when you do not
    receive the service you expected.

    The claims process can typically take 30-45 days. I confirmed with our claims department your claim was received on 8/31/15 and was paid on 9/18/15.

    Please contact us directly at 866-887-7108 if you have any questions. We are delighted to help.

    Again, we are sorry for any frustration this has caused and we appreciate your feedback.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Policy was very easy to understand, with clear single sheet summary and access to other info (i.e. definitions, terms). Customer service was good - got a human on the phone quickly who promptly answered questions. I would recommend them...I've used TinLeg more than once.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    My trip was cancelled by the tour company due to insufficient number of travelers. The policy had no provision for this, so my claim was denied. I think that cancellation by tour company should be part of every policy, even if the cancellation is not due to weather, political unrest etc.

    Response From:
    Tin Leg
    Tin Leg:
    Kelly Calkins
    Response Received:

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

    I apologize for your negative experience. Unfortunately, lack of member participation within your tour group is not a covered reason for cancellation. This is standard with all travel insurance policies.

    Again, I am sorry for any frustration this has caused you and we appreciate your feedback.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

Multi-Award Winning Customer Service

Squaremouth’s customer service team has been recognized nationally for its excellence. In 2016, Squaremouth received its second Stevie Award for Customer Service Department of the Year in the American Business Awards, the nation’s premier business awards program.

Read More

Safe With Our Zero Complaint Guarantee

Every travel insurance policy purchased through Squaremouth comes with our Zero Complaint Guarantee. In the event of a complaint, we will mediate with the insurance provider on your behalf. If the complaint is not resolved to our satisfaction, we will remove the provider from our website.

Read more

$1,000 tips shine a light on service

Squaremouth, a company that puts a focus on how to treat customers, rewards 20 who do the same.

BY KATHERINE SNOW SMITH
Times Staff Writer

See what happened

One of America’s Best Workplaces

Squaremouth is consistently recognized, both locally and nationally, as one of the best places to work. Fortune Magazine named Squaremouth one of America’s Best Small Workplaces and the No. 2 Best Workplace for Women in the nation.

Read More