Travelex Insurance Services
Overall Rating 4.43 Out of 5
Overall Rating 4.43 Out of 5 1,917 Reviews Since 2004

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Basic
    Review Received:
    January 15, 2021
    Charles from AR Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I feel deceived by your referral and this insurance company. I mistakenly thought I was buying a better and cheaper alternative to the "cancel for any reason" policy the DVC rental company through whom I made a lodging stay offered. I know I was not buying cancel for any reason insurance with Travelex, I understand the differences in what I purchased. But what I did not know until AFTER I submitted an application is that the insurance offered by Travelex only covered those who lived in my household, not all my children who lived in their own household and were traveling with me on this vacation. AND stunningly, by excluding my children from coverage, the Travelex premium tripled in price due to my wife and my age. When I called and questioned that with Travelex, I got a rather callus "that's the way it works" response from their customer service rep. You are reading what I just wrote correctly, Travelex charged more for conventional travel insurance to insure fewer people than it did for a larger party. To the tune of same amount of money it would have cost if I had purchased cancel for any reason insurance in the first place. By then it was too late and purchase a "cancel for any reason" policy as those plans have time limits by which they must be bought. Lastly, to add insult to injury the Travelex policy did not provide coverage for COVID related claims. Not only did I lose my nonrefundable DVC rental deposit but I was out another $900 for a worthless travel insurance policy. Using your your company and buying the policy I did is the single biggest financial mistake I've ever made in my life.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Basic
    Review Received:
    January 15, 2021
    LINDA from MA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Hard to get a direct answer when calling the claim company. I had to cancel flight prior to knowing if it would be reimbursed which I did not think was right. But money came in fast.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Select
    Review Received:
    January 10, 2021
    Day from DE Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We bought the policy because of the risk of the pandemic. And when we tried to file a claim, we were told we couldn't because the pandemic is excluded so we couldn't file a claim. I'll never use this company again.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Select
    Review Received:
    July 24, 2020
    I from WA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Took over six months to make any response on the claim, and in the end they denied it. No communication whatsoever.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Basic
    Review Received:
    July 22, 2020
    melinda from IL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Made a claim in May and have not heard a single thing yet. Also have another policy with Travelex purchased via Squaremouth for trip in Sept which has now totally cancelled--am I eligible for a refund from them for that since no travel and no claim??

    Review Updated: 08/19/2020

    It may have been coincidence but it took me contacting Squaremouth before I heard anything back about my claim but I did receive claim made for my trip cancellation for Covid reasons.

    Response From:
    Travelex Insurance Services
    Travelex Insurance Services:
    Travelex
    Response Received:
    July 22, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to post about your concerns on Squaremouth.

    We have contacted the Claim Administrator, Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance Company (“BHSIC”), on your behalf, to find out more about your claim. Due to the unprecedented volume of claims related to the Covid-19 pandemic, the claim process is taking longer than originally communicated. It is approximately 10 weeks, from the time of obtaining final documentation, for BHSIC to adjudicate your claim. It looks like documentation was submitted May 20, 2020, therefore your claim should be reviewed by BHSIC in the next couple of weeks.

    It is important to remember that insurance is highly regulated and documentation, as it relates to the policy purchased, is an important part of the claim process. We appreciate your patience and understanding.

    If you have any claim questions, please contact BHSIC at 1-855-205-6054 or by email at travelex.claims@bhspecialty.com, Monday – Friday, 7:00 am – 7:00 pm CST.

    You also requested information about a policy premium refund for a trip that has been cancelled. We will respond to the email we have on file for you with the requirements for a refund.

    If you have any questions, please contact us at TISReviews@TravelexInsurance.com.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Select
    Review Received:
    June 15, 2020
    Anna from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I file a claim few weeks ago and I have received any reply yet. The web site reports that the claim is "In Progress" but it doesn't acknowledge if they actually received all the documents I upload on their web site

    Response From:
    Travelex Insurance Services
    Travelex Insurance Services:
    Amber
    Response Received:
    June 16, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience on Squaremouth.

    We contacted the claims administrator of the plan you purchased, Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance Company (“BHSIC”). BHSIC indicates that you submitted documentation to support your claim on May 10 and May 12, 2020, and that BHSIC has not yet adjudicated your claim.

    Due to the unprecedented volume of claims related to the Covid-19 pandemic, it is currently taking up to eight (8) weeks for BHSIC to adjudicate claims. We appreciate your patience and understanding.

    We empathize with your frustration regarding the delay. However, your claim is being handled within this timeframe and in the order in which it was received.

    If you have further claim questions, please contact the Claim Administrator, BHSIC at 1-855-205-6054 or by email at travelex.claims@bhspecialty.com, Monday – Friday, 7:00 am – 7:00 pm CST.

    If you have any questions for Travelex Insurance Services Inc., please don’t hesitate to reach out to us at TISReviews@TravelexInsurance.com.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Select
    Review Received:
    June 13, 2020
    ASHLEY ROGERS from NJ Verified Squaremouth Customer

    My trip was postponed due to the COVID-19 virus and I reached out to Travelex Insurance Services customer service about possibly changing the dates scheduled for the insurance. However, I never heard back from them about doing that and my original trip dates have already passed.

    Response From:
    Travelex Insurance Services
    Travelex Insurance Services:
    Amber
    Response Received:
    June 15, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience on Squaremouth.

    We are happy to hear that our Customer Solutions Department was able to reach out and assist you with obtaining a Date Transfer.

    If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to reach out to us at TISReviews@TravelexInsurance.com.

    Kind Regards,
    Amber

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Basic
    Review Received:
    June 13, 2020
    Mike from WA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    They make the claim process intimidating, and you are dissuaded from filing a claim. Their definitions change, their conditions change, they know you don’t have a lawyer so they can always say no. Almost better to not have insurance if it won’t pay a claim.

    Response From:
    Travelex Insurance Services
    Travelex Insurance Services:
    Amber
    Response Received:
    June 16, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience on Squaremouth.

    We acknowledge your frustration regarding the claim process. Insurance is not meant to be intimidating, however it is important to remember that insurance is highly regulated. Documentation is an important part of the policy modification process, as it relates to the Travel Basic plan you purchased.

    We contacted the Claims Administrator, Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance Company (“BHSIC”). BHSIC indicates that you submitted documentation to support your claim on May 21, 2020, an automated response was sent the following day to let you know that they have received the document(s) and have uploaded it to your claim.

    BHSIC has not yet adjudicated your claim, given that no claim determination has been made, we are unsure of the basis of your statements regarding definitions changing. We do not have any notes regarding phone calls to BHSIC or Travelex Insurance Services Inc. (“Travelex Insurance”).

    Due to the unprecedented volume of claims related to the Covid-19 pandemic, it is currently taking up to eight (8) weeks for BHSIC to adjudicate claims. We appreciate your patience and understanding.

    If you have any claim questions, please contact BHSIC at 1-855-205-6054 or by email at travelex.claims@bhspecialty.com, Monday – Friday, 7:00 am – 7:00 pm CST.

    If you have any questions for Travelex Insurance, please contact us at TISReviews@TravelexInsurance.com.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Flight Insure Plus
    Review Received:
    April 12, 2020
    Gail from CO Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Due to Coronavirus pandemic we have not returned to Colorado from San Miguel, MX, so filing this medical emergency claim is delayed. Policy #FIPB08100, Claim #02308189, Case #2005901. Thank you, Gail Turner

    Response From:
    Travelex Insurance Services
    Travelex Insurance Services:
    Amber
    Response Received:
    April 13, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us on Squaremouth.

    We have forwarded your information to our Claim Administrator, so they are aware of the situation.

    Please feel free to submit all the required documentation, as soon as you are able to, or once you return back home.

    If you have any questions about your claim the Claim Administrator can be reached at 855.205.6054 option 2, Monday - Friday: 7:00 am-7:00pm CT or via email at travelex.claims@bhspecialty.com.

    Thank you again, and we hope you think of Travelex the next time you travel.

    Kind Regards,
    Amber

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Select
    Review Received:
    April 8, 2020
    Abbie from MN Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Although my claim process took 8 weeks because of COVID, I was pleased with the outcome. I had a freak accident resulting in immediate surgery while in Cambodia. I’m so glad I went with travelex insurance and will definitely use them next time I travel.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful

Multi-Award Winning Customer Service Team

Squaremouth’s outside-the-box approach to customer service has been recognized nationally and internationally, with 16 awards in 6 years. Customer service is part of everybody’s job at Squaremouth. Every employee spends time on the phone with customers each week.

Read more

$30,000 Contest Encourages Reading Policy Documents

To highlight the importance of reading policy documents from start to finish, Squaremouth awarded one customer $10,000 in a secret contest for being the first to read hers. Then, we gave another $10,000 to a children’s literacy charity and $5,000 each to two schools.

Read more

$1,000 Tips Shine a Light on Service

Squaremouth, a company that puts a focus on customer service, rewards 20 outstanding customer service providers in St. Petersburg, Florida with $1,000 cash tips. Then, one received an additional $10,000 as the Thank You Campaign’s grand prize winner.

Read more

One of America’s Best and Fastest-Growing Companies

Squaremouth is consistently awarded for its unique company culture and steady revenue growth. This includes national recognition from Inc. Magazine, Fortune, and Entrepreneur, and local recognition from the Tampa Bay Business Journal and Florida Trend.

Read more