Travelex Insurance Services
Overall Rating 4.44 Out of 5
Overall Rating 4.44 Out of 5
1,911 Reviews Since 2004

  • Overall Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Basic
    Review Received:
    July 22, 2020
    melinda from IL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Made a claim in May and have not heard a single thing yet. Also have another policy with Travelex purchased via Squaremouth for trip in Sept which has now totally cancelled--am I eligible for a refund from them for that since no travel and no claim??

    Review Updated: 08/19/2020

    It may have been coincidence but it took me contacting Squaremouth before I heard anything back about my claim but I did receive claim made for my trip cancellation for Covid reasons.

    Response From:
    Travelex Insurance Services
    Travelex Insurance Services:
    Travelex
    Response Received:
    July 22, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to post about your concerns on Squaremouth.

    We have contacted the Claim Administrator, Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance Company (“BHSIC”), on your behalf, to find out more about your claim. Due to the unprecedented volume of claims related to the Covid-19 pandemic, the claim process is taking longer than originally communicated. It is approximately 10 weeks, from the time of obtaining final documentation, for BHSIC to adjudicate your claim. It looks like documentation was submitted May 20, 2020, therefore your claim should be reviewed by BHSIC in the next couple of weeks.

    It is important to remember that insurance is highly regulated and documentation, as it relates to the policy purchased, is an important part of the claim process. We appreciate your patience and understanding.

    If you have any claim questions, please contact BHSIC at 1-855-205-6054 or by email at travelex.claims@bhspecialty.com, Monday – Friday, 7:00 am – 7:00 pm CST.

    You also requested information about a policy premium refund for a trip that has been cancelled. We will respond to the email we have on file for you with the requirements for a refund.

    If you have any questions, please contact us at TISReviews@TravelexInsurance.com.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Select
    Review Received:
    June 15, 2020
    Anna from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I file a claim few weeks ago and I have received any reply yet. The web site reports that the claim is "In Progress" but it doesn't acknowledge if they actually received all the documents I upload on their web site

    Response From:
    Travelex Insurance Services
    Travelex Insurance Services:
    Amber
    Response Received:
    June 16, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience on Squaremouth.

    We contacted the claims administrator of the plan you purchased, Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance Company (“BHSIC”). BHSIC indicates that you submitted documentation to support your claim on May 10 and May 12, 2020, and that BHSIC has not yet adjudicated your claim.

    Due to the unprecedented volume of claims related to the Covid-19 pandemic, it is currently taking up to eight (8) weeks for BHSIC to adjudicate claims. We appreciate your patience and understanding.

    We empathize with your frustration regarding the delay. However, your claim is being handled within this timeframe and in the order in which it was received.

    If you have further claim questions, please contact the Claim Administrator, BHSIC at 1-855-205-6054 or by email at travelex.claims@bhspecialty.com, Monday – Friday, 7:00 am – 7:00 pm CST.

    If you have any questions for Travelex Insurance Services Inc., please don’t hesitate to reach out to us at TISReviews@TravelexInsurance.com.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Select
    Review Received:
    June 13, 2020
    ASHLEY ROGERS from NJ Verified Squaremouth Customer

    My trip was postponed due to the COVID-19 virus and I reached out to Travelex Insurance Services customer service about possibly changing the dates scheduled for the insurance. However, I never heard back from them about doing that and my original trip dates have already passed.

    Response From:
    Travelex Insurance Services
    Travelex Insurance Services:
    Amber
    Response Received:
    June 15, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience on Squaremouth.

    We are happy to hear that our Customer Solutions Department was able to reach out and assist you with obtaining a Date Transfer.

    If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to reach out to us at TISReviews@TravelexInsurance.com.

    Kind Regards,
    Amber

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Basic
    Review Received:
    June 13, 2020
    Mike from WA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    They make the claim process intimidating, and you are dissuaded from filing a claim. Their definitions change, their conditions change, they know you don’t have a lawyer so they can always say no. Almost better to not have insurance if it won’t pay a claim.

    Response From:
    Travelex Insurance Services
    Travelex Insurance Services:
    Amber
    Response Received:
    June 16, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience on Squaremouth.

    We acknowledge your frustration regarding the claim process. Insurance is not meant to be intimidating, however it is important to remember that insurance is highly regulated. Documentation is an important part of the policy modification process, as it relates to the Travel Basic plan you purchased.

    We contacted the Claims Administrator, Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance Company (“BHSIC”). BHSIC indicates that you submitted documentation to support your claim on May 21, 2020, an automated response was sent the following day to let you know that they have received the document(s) and have uploaded it to your claim.

    BHSIC has not yet adjudicated your claim, given that no claim determination has been made, we are unsure of the basis of your statements regarding definitions changing. We do not have any notes regarding phone calls to BHSIC or Travelex Insurance Services Inc. (“Travelex Insurance”).

    Due to the unprecedented volume of claims related to the Covid-19 pandemic, it is currently taking up to eight (8) weeks for BHSIC to adjudicate claims. We appreciate your patience and understanding.

    If you have any claim questions, please contact BHSIC at 1-855-205-6054 or by email at travelex.claims@bhspecialty.com, Monday – Friday, 7:00 am – 7:00 pm CST.

    If you have any questions for Travelex Insurance, please contact us at TISReviews@TravelexInsurance.com.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Flight Insure Plus
    Review Received:
    April 12, 2020
    Gail from CO Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Due to Coronavirus pandemic we have not returned to Colorado from San Miguel, MX, so filing this medical emergency claim is delayed. Policy #FIPB08100, Claim #02308189, Case #2005901. Thank you, Gail Turner

    Response From:
    Travelex Insurance Services
    Travelex Insurance Services:
    Amber
    Response Received:
    April 13, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us on Squaremouth.

    We have forwarded your information to our Claim Administrator, so they are aware of the situation.

    Please feel free to submit all the required documentation, as soon as you are able to, or once you return back home.

    If you have any questions about your claim the Claim Administrator can be reached at 855.205.6054 option 2, Monday - Friday: 7:00 am-7:00pm CT or via email at travelex.claims@bhspecialty.com.

    Thank you again, and we hope you think of Travelex the next time you travel.

    Kind Regards,
    Amber

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Select
    Review Received:
    April 8, 2020
    Abbie from MN Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Although my claim process took 8 weeks because of COVID, I was pleased with the outcome. I had a freak accident resulting in immediate surgery while in Cambodia. I’m so glad I went with travelex insurance and will definitely use them next time I travel.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Select
    Review Received:
    April 5, 2020
    Remi from MI Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Good

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Basic
    Review Received:
    April 4, 2020
    Leonid Osetinsky from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We had to cancel our trip and contacted Travelex Insurance indicating that we will not go on the trip and would like them to compensate us for the cost of insurance. However, they decline to do so and extended the insurance for our new trip to be completed before the end of this year. My health condition may not allow me to perform the trip before the end of the year and for that reason the paid amount will stay with Travelex.
    Would you please assist in returning our money for the services that never were provided

    Response From:
    Travelex Insurance Services
    Travelex Insurance Services:
    Amber
    Response Received:
    April 7, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns on Squaremouth.

    We have forwarded on your request to our Customer Solutions department.

    They will be reaching out with you directly, via email, to help resolve the situation.

    Kind Regards,
    Amber

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Select
    Review Received:
    April 3, 2020
    Carl from WI Verified Squaremouth Customer

    March 13th, my supervisor shared my concern, that it would be likely I would become stranded in Ireland if I left for the planned two week vacation starting on the 15th. We cancelled and we didn't fit into Aerlingus's refund policy so I tried filling a claim. I couldn't because the trip had not yet begun. I sent an email (which just got a response on Apr2) and Travelex posted verbiage on their website that interruption due to covid-19 was not covered,
    even with work demands. I decided to file the claim anyway after the trip's start and the amount of paperworka normal claim would have taken makes me almost suspect a scam.

    Response From:
    Travelex Insurance Services
    Travelex Insurance Services:
    Marcy
    Response Received:
    April 6, 2020

    Thank you for reaching out to us on Squaremouth.

    We do empathize with your situation and recognize that the coronavirus pandemic has been difficult for travelers.

    It is important to remember that insurance is highly regulated. Claims need to be processed according to the policy details and based on the documentation submitted to the Claim Administrator.

    In the policy details, which were sent to you on October 3, 2019 when the policy was purchased, it explains all the eligible reasons for trip cancellation, including the terms, limitations and exclusions. Which includes the General Exclusion “(d) any government regulation or prohibition”.

    To be of service we can offer you a One-Time Date Transfer on your policy, in order to use it for a future trip. If you would like to apply a One-Time Date Transfer to your policy, you will first need to cancel your claim. Please contact us at TISReviews@TravelexInsurance.com, so we can help process the cancellation of your claim and apply a One-Time Date Transfer to your policy.

    Please note that Travelex Insurance Services Inc. is the marketer of the travel insurance plan and does not make any claim determinations. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance Company (“BHSIC”) is the underwriter and the Claim Administrator. For claim questions or to file a claim, please contact BHSIC at 855.205.6054 or via email at travelex.claims@bhspecialty.com.

    Kind Regards,
    Marcy

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Select
    Review Received:
    April 1, 2020
    Robert from GA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    The purchase of the insurance was simple and quick via the website. After purchasing the policy I was not certain of my travel dates and called TravelEx directly and told me that would not be a problem to change if necessary even though I had already bought the policy. The person on the line was very professional and confident.

    I liked the policy I selected primarily for its medical coverage with the option to double it. The second thing I liked was the repatriation part. These two were the most important to me. Critical especially if you are going to non-developed countries like SE Asia. The other portions of the policy are nice to have.

    I would certainly recommend this policy to others. Not many travel policies include medical insurance and repatriation coverage from what I could see.

    Response From:
    Travelex Insurance Services
    Travelex Insurance Services:
    Amber
    Response Received:
    April 1, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to post!

    We appreciate the excellent rating.

    We are glad to hear that our website was easy to use and navigate, and that our Customer Solutions Representative was able to help answer all your questions.

    We hope you will think of Travelex the next time you are looking to insure your travel!

    Thanks again and have a wonderful day!

    Kind Regards,
    Amber

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful

Multi-Award Winning Customer Service Team

Squaremouth’s outside-the-box approach to customer service has been recognized nationally and internationally, with 13 awards in 5 years. Customer service is part of everybody’s job at Squaremouth. Every employee spends time on the phone with customers each week.

Read more

$30,000 Contest Encourages Reading Policy Documents

To highlight the importance of reading policy documents from start to finish, Squaremouth awarded one customer $10,000 in a secret contest for being the first to read hers. Then, we gave another $10,000 to a children’s literacy charity and $5,000 each to two schools.

Read more

$1,000 Tips Shine a Light on Service

Squaremouth, a company that puts a focus on customer service, rewards 20 outstanding customer service providers in St. Petersburg, Florida with $1,000 cash tips. Then, one received an additional $10,000 as the Thank You Campaign’s grand prize winner.

Read more

One of America’s Best and Fastest-Growing Companies

Squaremouth is consistently awarded for its unique company culture and steady revenue growth. This includes national recognition from Inc. Magazine, Fortune, and Entrepreneur, and local recognition from the Tampa Bay Business Journal and Florida Trend.

Read more