Travelex Insurance Services
Overall Rating 4.43 out of 5
Overall Rating 4.43 out of 5 1,917 Reviews Since 2004

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Select
    Review Received:
    March 9, 2020
    KC from AK Verified Squaremouth Customer

    So far I've been very disappointed with the claims process with Travelex. After documents are uploaded there's no way to manage what you submitted or review to make sure you included everything. If you're filing a claim with multiple pieces of material it just makes for a cumbersome process since you can't see what you submitted.

    I have also been relatively unimpressed with the responsiveness of Travelex. I was asked to submit additional material for my claim (some of which I believe was already provided in the initial claim) and when I had a follow up question regarding the material I was asked to provide it took Travelex a week for them to answer my question.

    Response From:
    Travelex Insurance Services
    Travelex Insurance Services:
    Amber
    Response Received:
    March 9, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns on Squaremouth.

    We are happy to hear that you have been in touch with our Claim Administrator, Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance Company, earlier today and were able to provide the additional documentation. We will also provide your concerns about the online claim process, to the appropriate department.

    It is important to remember that insurance is highly regulated, and claim documentation, such as itineraries, are an important part of the process as they relate to the policy details, on the policy purchased.

    If you have any additional questions you can contact the Claim Administrator directly at 1-855-205-6054, Monday – Friday, 7:00am – 7:00pm CST.

    Kind Regards,
    Amber

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Basic
    Review Received:
    March 8, 2020
    shadow from PA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    The process was fairly consumer friendly. Inquiries at this time are so delayed that one could not reach customer service. I fear that a claim, none planned incidentally for this trip, might face the same delays. The corona virus is certainly a factor, but then how companies face crises is the true measure of their competency under pressure, isn't it?

    Response From:
    Travelex Insurance Services
    Travelex Insurance Services:
    Amber
    Response Received:
    March 9, 2020

    Thank you for reaching out to us on Squaremouth.

    Due to concerns about Coronavirus, all companies in the travel insurance industry are experiencing higher than normal call volumes, which has resulted in longer hold times. Should you still have additional questions about your policy, you may also contact our Customer Solutions department via email at CustomerSolutions@TravelexInsurance.com.

    While we hope that your trip goes smoothly, in the event that you would need to file a claim, our Claim Administrator, Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance Company is currently adjudicating all claims within their goal of 15 business days, from the time they receive all the required documentation.

    Thank you again, and we hope you think of Travelex the next time you travel.

    Kind Regards,
    Amber

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Flight Insure Plus
    Review Received:
    February 29, 2020
    Pablo from VA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Excellent customer service

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Basic
    Review Received:
    February 28, 2020
    Anonymous from ME Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I was specifically looking for coverage for travel delay due to weather and it took some digging to get clear information about this.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Select
    Review Received:
    February 26, 2020
    ANRU from TX Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Square mouth was deceptive with its advertisement of Travelex. They are poor and overrated. Claim's reasons are not clearly defined. Only after It was too late to cancel my insurance or
    have a claim paid just because I did not receive a legal letter through the mail. legally stating the terms of the contract that were different than advertised Their claims department customer service phone does not answer with a human rather a recording and hang up. Sharon Henry the claims dept. gives out fault telephone numbers and claims processing is months rather than weeks. Berkshire Hathaway cannot receive phone calls in emergencies and because I did not receive a letter mailed to me my claim was denied.. I still can't get a refund because of their emergency telephone lines do not work. Please help me

    Response From:
    Travelex Insurance Services
    Travelex Insurance Services:
    Amber
    Response Received:
    March 4, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us on Squaremouth.

    We have forwarded your concerns about the phone numbers and claims processing to our Claim Administrator.

    In the meantime, as an exception and to be of service, we have refunded the insurance premium. This refund will be issued back to the credit card you used to purchase the policy, within the next 5 to 10 business days, depending on your banking institution.

    For future travel, please contact our Customer Solutions Department, about receiving a Visa Letter, to take to the Consulate. Customer Solutions can be reached at 1-800-228-9792, or CustomerSolutions@TravelexInsurance.com, Monday – Friday, 8:00am to 7:00 pm CST.

    Kind Regards,
    Amber

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Select
    Review Received:
    February 16, 2020
    Rich from PA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    The travelex folks don’t respond in any sort of timely manner unless you get them on the phone. Their messages say it’s a temporary issue but, it’s been going on for years. Once you get them on the phone, it’s a great experience.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Select
    Review Received:
    January 21, 2020
    Kiran from IL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Satisfactory. They should procure summary insurance coverage card of pocket size for handy reference. Other insurance company do provide such card.

    Thanks

    Response From:
    Travelex Insurance Services
    Travelex Insurance Services:
    Amber
    Response Received:
    January 22, 2020

    Thank you for your review on Squaremouth.

    The policy details were sent to you via email on 03/06/2019 at 3:37 pm, when you purchased the Travel Select plan.

    Attached in the email is the Confirmation of Coverage (COC), with your personal and trip information listed.

    The COC does have the benefit schedule and phone numbers in case of an emergency, at the bottom of the page, so you can cut it out and carry it with you.

    This gives you the convenience of having a pocket-size, portable version of the policy information, while you are traveling.

    Thank you again for reaching out and we hope you think of Travelex the next time you travel.

    Kind Regards,
    Amber

    Was this review helpful to you?

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Basic
    Review Received:
    January 10, 2020
    Kathleen from MN Verified Squaremouth Customer

    The cost of the insurance was a good value in order to have the peace of mind that all was not lost in case something went wrong on our trip. Winter travel from cold climate states can be "iffy" because it can be clear one day and a storm the next. I would use Travelex Insurance Services again.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Select
    Review Received:
    December 31, 2019
    Walter from FL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Berkshire Hathaway insurance handled my claim efficiently and promptly.
    The key is proper documentation and submission of requested documents.
    I would highly recommend this carrier.

    Response From:
    Travelex Insurance Services
    Travelex Insurance Services:
    Marcy
    Response Received:
    December 31, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, we appreciate the excellent rating!

    We are happy to hear that your experience with our Claim Administrator (Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance) was efficient and reimbursement for losses were received promptly.

    Thanks again, have a wonderful day and a Happy New Year!

    Kind Regards,
    Marcy

    Was this review helpful to you?

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Select
    Review Received:
    December 21, 2019
    Joanie from NH Verified Squaremouth Customer

    The travel insurance is useless and I will never purchase it again. My return flight needed to be changed and the insurance was not really insurance.

    Response From:
    Travelex Insurance Services
    Travelex Insurance Services:
    Marcy
    Response Received:
    December 26, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns on Squaremouth. We take all complaints very seriously and we are sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction of services.

    After reviewing the details of the discussion on 12/13/19 with the Travelex Customer Solutions representative, we have determined that the focus of the call was how to extend the coverage on your existing insurance policy. The Travelex representative advised and clarified the process to extend your coverage.

    While Travelex can assist the insured travelers with questions relating to their insurance coverage, Travelex does not have the authority or capacity to change an airline ticket.

    In the event, you need to file a claim please contact the Claim Administrator by phone at 1-855-205-6054, Monday – Friday, 7:00am – 7pm CST, online at www.travelclaims.bhspecialty.com or by email at travelex.claims@bhspecialty.com.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful

Multi-Award Winning Customer Service Team

Squaremouth’s outside-the-box approach to customer service has been recognized nationally and internationally, with 16 awards in 6 years. Customer service is part of everybody’s job at Squaremouth. Every employee spends time on the phone with customers each week.

Read more

$30,000 Contest Encourages Reading Policy Documents

To highlight the importance of reading policy documents from start to finish, Squaremouth awarded one customer $10,000 in a secret contest for being the first to read hers. Then, we gave another $10,000 to a children’s literacy charity and $5,000 each to two schools.

Read more

$1,000 Tips Shine a Light on Service

Squaremouth, a company that puts a focus on customer service, rewards 20 outstanding customer service providers in St. Petersburg, Florida with $1,000 cash tips. Then, one received an additional $10,000 as the Thank You Campaign’s grand prize winner.

Read more

One of America’s Best and Fastest-Growing Companies

Squaremouth is consistently awarded for its unique company culture and steady revenue growth. This includes national recognition from Inc. Magazine, Fortune, and Entrepreneur, and local recognition from the Tampa Bay Business Journal and Florida Trend.

Read more