Travelex Insurance Services
Overall Rating 4.42 out of 5
Overall Rating 4.42 out of 5 1,983 Reviews Since 2004

  • Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Flight Insure Plus
    Review Received:
    August 4, 2022
    Mary from TX Verified Squaremouth Customer

    When I submitted my claim via the on-line upload page, I never got any kind of confirmation that my claim was received. I did not know the status of the claim until I received the EOB about six weeks later.
    Suggestion: an automated email confirmation that the claim was received would have made me feel confident that it was in the works. I know I could have called to check on it, but I really did not want to wait on hold just for someone to tell me that.

    Response From:
    Travelex Insurance Services
    Travelex Insurance Services:
    Marcy
    Response Received:
    August 10, 2022

    Thank you for taking time to post on Squaremouth.com, Travelex Insurance makes every effort to review all concerns.

    Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance Company’s (“BHSIC”) is the underwriter and claim administrator for the policy you purchased. Travelex Insurance Services (“Travelex Insurance”) does not make claim determinations. However, we have contacted BHSIC and have been advised that the claim system does generate an automated email, the same day the claim is received or initiated online. The automated email was sent to you on May 13, 2022, to the email provided on the policy.

    If you have any claim questions, please contact BHSIC at 855.205.6054 option 2, Monday - Friday: 7:00 am-7:00pm CT, or by email at travelex.claims@bhspecialty.com.

    We hope this reply resolves your inquiry. Should you have any additional questions you may contact Travelex Insurance at TISReviews@TravelexInsurance.com.

    Sincerely,
    Travelex Insurance Services Inc.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Select
    Review Received:
    July 22, 2022
    D B frustrated from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I wanted to upgrade the membership because I added a few things on my trip. I tried calling the phone number and I was on hold for more than 1 hour. I WILL NEVER AGAIN SIGN UP WITH TRAVELEX. I'm glad NOTHING happened to us and we went on the trip. However if something happened, I would not be able to be compensated fully because I was unable to add. I can only understand the NIGHTmare if I ever have to claim during a trip overseas. Here I was waiting a LONG time just for regular customer service, IF i had to make a claim IT would probably be next to impossible. I felt like they just took my money. CUSTOMER SERVICE SUCKS!! never again.

    Response From:
    Travelex Insurance Services
    Travelex Insurance Services:
    Marcy
    Response Received:
    July 28, 2022

    Thank you for reaching out to us on Squaremouth. Travelex Insurance Services takes all customer concerns seriously.

    We have notified our Customer Solutions team of your feedback related to your experience. We would like to further research your specific experience and will be reaching out to you directly via email to gather additional information in order to improve your future customer experience with Travelex.

    Thank you again for your feedback.

    Sincerely,
    Travelex Insurance Services, Inc.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Select
    Review Received:
    July 19, 2022
    Amanda from KY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I would recommend letting ppl make changes to their policy online vs. having to phone in. Wait times were terrible just to make a small change that most companies allow you to do online. Until that issue is resolved, I will be hesitant to purchase from Travelex again.

    Response From:
    Travelex Insurance Services
    Travelex Insurance Services:
    Marcy
    Response Received:
    July 20, 2022

    Thank you for reaching out to us on Squaremouth.

    We have notified our Customer Solutions team of your feedback related to your experience in requesting a change to your policy over the phone. In the future, we do have the ability to request a plan change on our website https://www.travelexinsurance.com/customer-service/request-a-plan-change or you can also email us directly at customersolutions@travelexinsurance.com with your request.

    If you have any further questions, do not hesitate to contact our Customer Solutions Department at customersolutions@travelexinsurance.com or 1-800-819-9004, Monday-Friday: 8:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m., CT.

    Thank you again for your feedback.

    Sincerely,
    Travelex Insurance Services, Inc.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Select
    Review Received:
    July 18, 2022
    Levi from MD Verified Squaremouth Customer

    no issues, easy to document/upload, just wish process was faster

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Basic
    Review Received:
    July 11, 2022
    Jack from VA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    My outgoing flight got cancelled and I had to rebook. I took my trip 4 days after originally scheduled and tried to change the coverage dates with Travelex. They took almost a week to respond to my request and asked me to send the updated itinerary. I did so. 5 days later, they asked me to send me an updated itinerary. I responded that I already did and they wanted me to resend it and then jump through a bunch of hoops. All they really wanted was to ensure that I would not file a claim. Well, I will not be using them for travel insurance again.

    Response From:
    Travelex Insurance Services
    Travelex Insurance Services:
    Marcy
    Response Received:
    July 20, 2022

    Thank you for contacting us on Squaremouth.com. Travelex Insurance makes every effort to review all concerns from our insureds.

    We have contacted our Customer Solutions Team Lead (CSTL) and have been advised that the link you provided with the updated itinerary only linked to the Delta website and not the itinerary. The CSTL did attempt to contact Delta Airlines Customer Service for the updated itinerary and was unsuccessful. As the link is proprietary to your Delta access, we would like to ask you to provide the screenshot of the new itinerary so we can update your insurance coverage or you can print to PDF your new itinerary and send it to the email below.

    It is important to remember that insurance is highly regulated, and documentation is required to change the travel dates on your policy, after the original departure date.

    If you have any questions or if you are able to submit the updated itinerary, please contact Customer Solutions and refer to your Confirmation# at 1-800-819-9004 or by email at customersolutions@travelexinsurance.com.

    Sincerely,
    Travelex Insurance Services, Inc.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Basic
    Review Received:
    June 27, 2022
    Arthur from CT Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Pre-travel emails and information were excellent and made me feel connected to the company and more comfortable about the protection.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Flight Insure Plus
    Review Received:
    June 23, 2022
    Eric from WA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Nice to have the coverage in case we needed it. We DID get COVID on the trip but fortunately we did not need any significant medical care. Good value, glad we did not need it.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Select
    Review Received:
    May 10, 2022
    Eugene from NV Verified Squaremouth Customer

    The filing a claim experience was ok. I just wish the process is a lot quicker and the updates is consistent.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Select
    Review Received:
    May 4, 2022
    Angela from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I filed a claim a while ago because I could not make my trip. I submitted all documents and never heard from travelex. They claim to review and contact within 6 weeks but it’s been longer and I haven’t heard anything.

    Review Updated: 06/23/2022

    It did take longer than expected (>6wks) for my case to be closed. Satisfied with how easy it was but wish it processed quicker. Good customer service, would use them again.

    Response From:
    Travelex Insurance Services
    Travelex Insurance Services:
    Marcy
    Response Received:
    May 13, 2022

    Dear Angela,

    Thank you for contacting us on Squaremouth.com. Travelex Insurance makes every effort to review all concerns from our insureds.

    We have contacted the Claim Administrator, Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance Company, Inc. (“BHSIC”), and have been advised your claim was processed and payment was issued on May 11, 2022.

    If you have any questions, please contact BHSIC at 855.205.6054 option 2, Monday - Friday: 7:00 am-7:00pm CT, or by email at travelex.claims@bhspecialty.com.

    We trust this reply resolves this inquiry.

    Sincerely,
    Travelex Insurance Services, Inc.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    28 out of 28 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Select
    Review Received:
    April 25, 2022
    Kathy from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I requested documented proof that my medical coverage included Covid care for entry to Chile and received a letter to that effect promptly. The claim process was online and seemed a bit cumbersome. The claim is a little over $100. I trust it will be resolved to my satisfaction.

    Response From:
    Travelex Insurance Services
    Travelex Insurance Services:
    Marcy
    Response Received:
    April 29, 2022

    Thank you for reaching out on Squaremouth.com

    We have contacted the Claim Administrator, Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance Company, Inc. (“BHSIC”), and have been advised your claim was initiated on April 19, 2022, and a claim payment was issued April 27, 2022.

    If you have any questions, please contact BHSIC at 855.205.6054 option 2, Monday - Friday: 7:00 am-7:00pm CT, or by email at travelex.claims@bhspecialty.com.

    We trust this reply resolves this inquiry.

    Sincerely,

    Travelex Insurance Services, Inc.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful