Travelex Insurance Services
Overall Rating 4.43 Out of 5
Overall Rating 4.43 Out of 5 1,916 Reviews Since 2004

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Select
    Review Received:
    April 5, 2020
    Remi from MI Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Good

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Basic
    Review Received:
    April 4, 2020
    Leonid Osetinsky from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We had to cancel our trip and contacted Travelex Insurance indicating that we will not go on the trip and would like them to compensate us for the cost of insurance. However, they decline to do so and extended the insurance for our new trip to be completed before the end of this year. My health condition may not allow me to perform the trip before the end of the year and for that reason the paid amount will stay with Travelex.
    Would you please assist in returning our money for the services that never were provided

    Response From:
    Travelex Insurance Services
    Travelex Insurance Services:
    Amber
    Response Received:
    April 7, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns on Squaremouth.

    We have forwarded on your request to our Customer Solutions department.

    They will be reaching out with you directly, via email, to help resolve the situation.

    Kind Regards,
    Amber

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Select
    Review Received:
    April 3, 2020
    Carl from WI Verified Squaremouth Customer

    March 13th, my supervisor shared my concern, that it would be likely I would become stranded in Ireland if I left for the planned two week vacation starting on the 15th. We cancelled and we didn't fit into Aerlingus's refund policy so I tried filling a claim. I couldn't because the trip had not yet begun. I sent an email (which just got a response on Apr2) and Travelex posted verbiage on their website that interruption due to covid-19 was not covered,
    even with work demands. I decided to file the claim anyway after the trip's start and the amount of paperworka normal claim would have taken makes me almost suspect a scam.

    Response From:
    Travelex Insurance Services
    Travelex Insurance Services:
    Marcy
    Response Received:
    April 6, 2020

    Thank you for reaching out to us on Squaremouth.

    We do empathize with your situation and recognize that the coronavirus pandemic has been difficult for travelers.

    It is important to remember that insurance is highly regulated. Claims need to be processed according to the policy details and based on the documentation submitted to the Claim Administrator.

    In the policy details, which were sent to you on October 3, 2019 when the policy was purchased, it explains all the eligible reasons for trip cancellation, including the terms, limitations and exclusions. Which includes the General Exclusion “(d) any government regulation or prohibition”.

    To be of service we can offer you a One-Time Date Transfer on your policy, in order to use it for a future trip. If you would like to apply a One-Time Date Transfer to your policy, you will first need to cancel your claim. Please contact us at TISReviews@TravelexInsurance.com, so we can help process the cancellation of your claim and apply a One-Time Date Transfer to your policy.

    Please note that Travelex Insurance Services Inc. is the marketer of the travel insurance plan and does not make any claim determinations. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance Company (“BHSIC”) is the underwriter and the Claim Administrator. For claim questions or to file a claim, please contact BHSIC at 855.205.6054 or via email at travelex.claims@bhspecialty.com.

    Kind Regards,
    Marcy

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Select
    Review Received:
    April 1, 2020
    Robert from GA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    The purchase of the insurance was simple and quick via the website. After purchasing the policy I was not certain of my travel dates and called TravelEx directly and told me that would not be a problem to change if necessary even though I had already bought the policy. The person on the line was very professional and confident.

    I liked the policy I selected primarily for its medical coverage with the option to double it. The second thing I liked was the repatriation part. These two were the most important to me. Critical especially if you are going to non-developed countries like SE Asia. The other portions of the policy are nice to have.

    I would certainly recommend this policy to others. Not many travel policies include medical insurance and repatriation coverage from what I could see.

    Response From:
    Travelex Insurance Services
    Travelex Insurance Services:
    Amber
    Response Received:
    April 1, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to post!

    We appreciate the excellent rating.

    We are glad to hear that our website was easy to use and navigate, and that our Customer Solutions Representative was able to help answer all your questions.

    We hope you will think of Travelex the next time you are looking to insure your travel!

    Thanks again and have a wonderful day!

    Kind Regards,
    Amber

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Basic
    Review Received:
    March 30, 2020
    Jennifer from VA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Travelex paid the full amount of my claim since the company boat we booked for antarctica went bankrupt. We did not travel and I lost about 4500.00 dollars with the cost of insurance.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Select
    Review Received:
    March 25, 2020
    James from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Covid-19 pandemic created a trip interruption

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Select
    Review Received:
    March 18, 2020
    Richard from NY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I have submitted my paper work - March 13, 2020 - and to date have heard nothing. I know this must be a busy time.

    Response From:
    Travelex Insurance Services
    Travelex Insurance Services:
    Amber
    Response Received:
    March 19, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to post about your situation.

    We do empathize with you and your family and understand that the coronavirus has caused a significant disruption on our society.

    In the wake of the rapidly changing and escalating global impact of the coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak, Travelex Insurance Services Inc. (“Travelex”) is focusing our teams to respond to your questions and inquiries as soon as possible. Our top priority is servicing our clients and we can assure you Travelex is dedicated to maintaining the highest level of professional and ethical standards.

    Please keep in mind, that due to the Coronavirus outbreak, the Claim Administrator is experiencing an increased volume of claims. All claims are being processed in the order in which they are received. We appreciate your patience. Any questions regarding status updates on your claim need to be sent to the Claim Administrator by email at travelex.claims@bhspecialty.com.

    Kind Regards,
    Amber

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Select
    Review Received:
    March 12, 2020
    Robert from MA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Easy and straightforward.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Flight Insure Plus
    Review Received:
    March 10, 2020
    Thomas from IA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I tried filing a claim on line. I could not get a claim number to start the process. So I had a chat on line with a rep of yours. His name was Steve Benna, he tried so hard to help me my I could not get a Claim number from you. So In the next couple of days I will try and file again. But it would be nice if you could e-mail me a Claim number to file with. Thank You, Thomas. M. Mc Anally

    Review Updated: 04/07/2020

    I sent my claim several months ago, i also sent them more info than they really needed to do this claim. The claim was for around $500 . why is it taking so long?

    Response From:
    Travelex Insurance Services
    Travelex Insurance Services:
    Amber
    Response Received:
    March 11, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Squaremouth.

    We appreciate Steve at Squaremouth trying to assist you with completing your claim online.

    We also reached out to our Claim Administrator, Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance Company, on your behalf, to find out the status of your current claim. We were happy to hear that they have contacted you via email with your claim number, and what documentation is needed to adjudicate your claim.

    If you have any additional questions or need further assistance submitting your documentation, please contact the Claim Administrator via phone at 1-855-205-6054 or via email at travelex.claims@bhspecialty.com, Monday – Friday, 7:00am – 7:00pm CST.

    Thank you again, and we hope that you think of Travelex the next time you travel.

    Kind Regards,
    Amber

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Select
    Review Received:
    March 9, 2020
    KC from AK Verified Squaremouth Customer

    So far I've been very disappointed with the claims process with Travelex. After documents are uploaded there's no way to manage what you submitted or review to make sure you included everything. If you're filing a claim with multiple pieces of material it just makes for a cumbersome process since you can't see what you submitted.

    I have also been relatively unimpressed with the responsiveness of Travelex. I was asked to submit additional material for my claim (some of which I believe was already provided in the initial claim) and when I had a follow up question regarding the material I was asked to provide it took Travelex a week for them to answer my question.

    Response From:
    Travelex Insurance Services
    Travelex Insurance Services:
    Amber
    Response Received:
    March 9, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns on Squaremouth.

    We are happy to hear that you have been in touch with our Claim Administrator, Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance Company, earlier today and were able to provide the additional documentation. We will also provide your concerns about the online claim process, to the appropriate department.

    It is important to remember that insurance is highly regulated, and claim documentation, such as itineraries, are an important part of the process as they relate to the policy details, on the policy purchased.

    If you have any additional questions you can contact the Claim Administrator directly at 1-855-205-6054, Monday – Friday, 7:00am – 7:00pm CST.

    Kind Regards,
    Amber

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

Multi-Award Winning Customer Service Team

Squaremouth’s outside-the-box approach to customer service has been recognized nationally and internationally, with 16 awards in 6 years. Customer service is part of everybody’s job at Squaremouth. Every employee spends time on the phone with customers each week.

Read more

$30,000 Contest Encourages Reading Policy Documents

To highlight the importance of reading policy documents from start to finish, Squaremouth awarded one customer $10,000 in a secret contest for being the first to read hers. Then, we gave another $10,000 to a children’s literacy charity and $5,000 each to two schools.

Read more

$1,000 Tips Shine a Light on Service

Squaremouth, a company that puts a focus on customer service, rewards 20 outstanding customer service providers in St. Petersburg, Florida with $1,000 cash tips. Then, one received an additional $10,000 as the Thank You Campaign’s grand prize winner.

Read more

One of America’s Best and Fastest-Growing Companies

Squaremouth is consistently awarded for its unique company culture and steady revenue growth. This includes national recognition from Inc. Magazine, Fortune, and Entrepreneur, and local recognition from the Tampa Bay Business Journal and Florida Trend.

Read more