Travelex Insurance Services
Overall Rating 4.43 out of 5
Overall Rating 4.43 out of 5 2,058 Reviews Since 2004

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Flight Insure Plus
    Review Received:
    January 22, 2024
    Sebastian from PA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Claim was properly handled, we received the expected medical expenses refund in a relatively short timeframe, and the process was relatively straightforward and painless. Worked better than I was expecting. Feedback from them could have been better, though. When I sent my first email asking about submitting a claim, I got an automated reply right away to confirm they got it, and got a reply the next day explaining the claims process to be followed by email. That was all good. But after sending the claim details by email that same day, I never heard back from them till more than a month later. There was no automated reply, nor any confirmation they were processing the claim. When I wrote more than 3 weeks later to ask about it, I just got the automated reply and no actual reply. But the week after that, we got a separate email confirming the result of the claim, and then around a week later we got the refund in the mail. All in all a good experience, but they should provide better feedback during the claim processing procedure.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Select
    Review Received:
    January 5, 2024
    Oliver from NC Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Great experience working with them

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Basic
    Review Received:
    January 2, 2024
    Kelley from LA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Waiting on doctor to complete medical form

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Basic
    Review Received:
    December 27, 2023
    Tim from NE Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Travelex is the best travel insurance provider I’ve ever used

    Response From:
    Travelex Insurance Services
    Travelex Insurance Services:
    Marcy
    Response Received:
    December 27, 2023

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, we appreciate the excellent rating!

    We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with the Travel Basic policy, for your trip.

    Thanks again, have a wonderful day and a Happy New Year!

    Travelex Insurance Services, Inc.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Flight Insure Plus
    Review Received:
    November 20, 2023
    Patricia from FL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Are the travelers I showed this to you thought it was a good price and they asked for the name

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Flight Insure Plus
    Review Received:
    November 9, 2023
    Karen from FL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I have just started the claims process. The person I spoke on the phone was helpful in terms of beginning the process. I am waiting to see how long it takes,

    Was this review helpful to you?

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Select
    Review Received:
    November 2, 2023
    Joey from AR Verified Squaremouth Customer

    My wife could not accompany me on our flight/trip to Germany due to medical reasons. Travelex said that I have to show expenses occurred because of her unable to go. Since we were able to "bank" her Delta Airlines miles until May 2024, there was no immediate reimbursement. This puts a burden on us to travel again and I think Travelex should reimburse us for her not being able to fly.

    Are there any trip insurance companies you represent that are more responsive to this type situation?

    I doubt that I will ever use Travelex again. I used them in the past on a trip where I made a claim and it was like using forensic accounting to get reimbursed.

    Joey Baker

    bakerarkansas@gmail.com

    Review Updated: 12/02/2023

    Travelex responded positively after Squaremouth intercession.

    Response From:
    Travelex Insurance Services
    Travelex Insurance Services:
    Marcy
    Response Received:
    November 10, 2023

    Thank you for reaching out to Travelex Insurance Services, on Squaremouth.com review site, we take all concerns very seriously and appreciate your feedback.

    We have contacted our Customer Solutions department and understand that a representative has been in contact with you in regard to the documentation that is needed to request an exception for a premium refund for Mrs. Baker outside of the 15-day review period allotted by the policy.

    Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance Company (“BHSIC”) is the underwriter and claim administrator for the policy you purchased. Travelex Insurance does not make claim determinations.

    It is important to remember that insurance is highly regulated, and the policy purchased is a reimbursement policy for documented out of pocket financial losses incurred.

    To receive further clarification please contact us at 800-228-9792 and refer to your confirmation number. For claim questions, you may contact BHSIC at 855-205-6054 option 2, Monday - Friday: 7:00 am-7:00pm CT, or by email at travelex.claims@bhspecialty.com.

    Thank you again for your feedback.

    Sincerely,
    Travelex Insurance Services, Inc.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Select
    Review Received:
    October 16, 2023
    Maureen from MA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I developed COVID shortly before my scheduled trip departure and had to cancel a nonrefundable trip. I reached out via telephone to initiate a claim. Had I not spoken directly to a representative as soon as I became ill, I would not have known of the requirement to have a COVID test performed at a testing facility since that detail was not mentioned anywhere, and I would not have had an official test result since I tested positive at home. In the current status of the pandemic, requiring a facility test vs home test is asking a lot. It was hard to find a site to get it done and I was quite sick and had no one to assist me. I was exposed to a lot of sick people coughing a lot during the hours' long wait to get the test, which made no change to my care. Perhaps a rethinking of policies and an upfront notification that if claim is due to COVID, an official test result is required, might be in order.

    Review Updated: 11/13/2023

    Overall quite smooth. My only issue is that I had to cancel because I caught COVID. When I called to initiate the claim, and in the paperwork I received, it was not clear that I needed a test result from an independent lab (as opposed to my at home test). Had this not become clear during my discussion, I would never have gotten the test and my claim would likely have been denied. This bit of information needs to be made much clearer as most folks only do at home tests, unless hospitalized.

    Response From:
    Travelex Insurance Services
    Travelex Insurance Services:
    Travelex
    Response Received:
    October 19, 2023

    Thank you for reaching out to us Squaremouth.com. Travelex Insurance Services (“Travelex Insurance”) makes every effort to review all concerns.

    Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance Company (“BHSIC”) is the underwriter and claim administrator for the policy you purchased. Travelex Insurance does not make claim determinations. The Travel Select policy you purchased does state for Trip Cancellation, Trip Interruption and Medical claim types, all must be certified by a physician.

    It is important to remember that insurance is highly regulated, and all claims are determined based on the required documentation submitted and the policy details for the policy you purchased. However, we have provided your recommendation to BHSIC for consideration.

    Thank you again for reaching out to us.

    Sincerely,
    Travelex Insurance Services, Inc.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Flight Insure Plus
    Review Received:
    October 12, 2023
    KT from CO Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Smooth, easy and no questions asked with foreign currency receipt claim.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Travel Select
    Review Received:
    October 10, 2023
    Jeannine from AZ Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Called to increase our trip coverage. Process was simple, I paid an additional fee for the increased coverage and went on my trip

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful