Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection
Overall Rating 4.29 out of 5
Overall Rating 4.29 out of 5 447 Reviews Since 2016

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    June 30, 2017
    Deb from MD Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I have had medical claims before but was never asked for the amount of information being requested by Berkshire Hathaway. My departing air boarding pass from a month long trip -- really? A month later? Much more medical info than my primary medical insurance calls for.
    This policy was a more expensive policy because it seemed to have better coverage. I doubt I would buy BH again.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    35 out of 37 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    June 28, 2017
    Robert from WA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We had 2 visits to hospitals in India, the second one overnight. For the first one, BHTP paid directly as I called and got a hospital name from them. That went very smoothly. The second one, we basically got off the plane in Mumbai and went straight to a hospital without calling BHTP. When I filed the claim the paid everything.

    Due to the seriousness of the illness of my wife we cut the vacation short and flew home on the next available plane. As we had booked 90% of our flights as business class, we took business class on that flight. Again, BHTP paid in full.

    After having our Travel Organizer and the Flight Organizers itemize the skipped tours and flights, BHTP paid everything in full.

    I filed on a Saturday and on Monday evening BHTP sent an email to inform us that they were paying!

    Was this review helpful to you?

    116 out of 116 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    June 18, 2017
    Tom from SC Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I needed to make a change to the date of return. It was not an easy process.

    I had to call both companies for something that was in my opinion very simple but It was an administrative challenge and required me to make the call to both 800 numbers and took quite a while

    Was this review helpful to you?

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    May 22, 2017
    Charles from NJ Verified Squaremouth Customer

    great experience...will be doing business with you again in the future

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    May 19, 2017
    S from FL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We had an unusual situation. Our tour was cancelled, due to the travel ban to Iran. Before the U.S. Court stayed the ban, Iran retaliated with the same ban against U.S. citizens visiting its country. We contacted BH to see if we could claim in a portion of the airfare change fee, and we were told that our claim would be denied. Yes, it was an unusual situation. BH didn't regard the situation to be pertinent to its lists of guidelines. So, we lost on both the insurance premiums and the airfare change/cancellation fee.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    127 out of 128 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    May 17, 2017
    Patricia K from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Very impressed! Claim settled in one day!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    April 21, 2017
    Phyllis from CO Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I contacted Berkshire Hathaway to assist me in finding a clinic for a urinary tract infection. The agent transferred me to a medical assistant agent, and he found a nearby clinic for me, and he fax'd the paperwork to the clinic. I asked him what information I would need to have in order to file a claim. He said I needed nothing, because the clinic would bill Berkshire Hathaway directly. Everything went smoothly at the clinic and I was delighted that I chose Berkshire Hathaway. However, over the next 3 months, I was continuously billed by the clinic. I had to make many, many calls to Berkshire Hathaway to resolve the situation. I spoke to a supervisor numerous times. Each time, I was offered an apology and was assured that the claim would be paid right away, but the claim did not get paid until more than 3 months of my constant phone complaints. I will not use or recommend Berkshire Hathaway travel insurance again.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    145 out of 147 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    February 12, 2017
    Eleanor from NY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I have purchased policies through square mouth for many years. This is my first experience with BHT and it will be my last
    Their paperwork requirement was onerous. And unnecessary. For a simple claim like mine they required an on inch of documentation.
    .

    Was this review helpful to you?

    100 out of 107 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    February 11, 2017
    Kathy from IL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    No problems. Very professional service. I liked that I could purchase medical insurance only without purchasing cancellation insurance.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    January 20, 2017
    Joe from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Before the trip had even started, but after buying the policy, highly
    incompetent persons at Berkshire Hathaway kept giving me conflicting,
    erroneous information. It took emails and calls to finally get them to
    admit the info was wrong. They then corrected the mistakes.

    I have the emails saved for future reference.

    What I'm concerned about: if its so difficult to get anything done BEFORE
    a claim even shows up, imagine how hard it would be to get them to pay on
    a legitimate claim!!!!

    Insurance? Dream on! No reduction in personal stress by buying this policy
    as the company does not inspire confidence. So its fingers crossed and hope
    there will be no need for a claim.

    Travel Insurance appears to be a Donation picnic for Insurance companies.

    Joseph Dantas :)

    Was this review helpful to you?

    45 out of 50 people found this review helpful