Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection
Overall Rating 4.3 out of 5
Overall Rating 4.3 out of 5 454 Reviews Since 2016

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    February 11, 2017
    Kathy from IL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    No problems. Very professional service. I liked that I could purchase medical insurance only without purchasing cancellation insurance.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    January 20, 2017
    Joe from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Before the trip had even started, but after buying the policy, highly
    incompetent persons at Berkshire Hathaway kept giving me conflicting,
    erroneous information. It took emails and calls to finally get them to
    admit the info was wrong. They then corrected the mistakes.

    I have the emails saved for future reference.

    What I'm concerned about: if its so difficult to get anything done BEFORE
    a claim even shows up, imagine how hard it would be to get them to pay on
    a legitimate claim!!!!

    Insurance? Dream on! No reduction in personal stress by buying this policy
    as the company does not inspire confidence. So its fingers crossed and hope
    there will be no need for a claim.

    Travel Insurance appears to be a Donation picnic for Insurance companies.

    Joseph Dantas :)

    Was this review helpful to you?

    45 out of 50 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    December 21, 2016
    John from VA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    The agents were courteous. My only concern was the confusion with coverage. The way I read the policy, I would receive $500 for the first lost item and $250 for any there after. I did not understand that jewelry was handled differently.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    December 3, 2016
    TRJ from CO Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Just a heads-up for people considering this insurance. It's very economical compared to other policies, but a few things are at issue. One is that they do not provide an insurance card (that I've found invaluable in foreign countries that may be hesitant to even admit you as a patient) and expect you to print out either the coverage page or the 38-page policy (that is stamped with "Sample" in the back ground). I've used HCC and HTH in the past without problems as they issue a plastic, very professional looking insurance card that most places smile at and accept. At least to get initial treatment. After they fix your broken bones, THEN they might ask about finances, but won't send you away without treatment as they'll assume you have 1st world insurance coverage.

    Anyway, BH does not provide that and will put you at risk for being rejected for treatment at the door (unlike the US and such, most 3rd-world countries don't HAVE to treat you at all and can refuse you outright if they think they won't get paid).

    For triple the cost, it seems steep to have to go to another carrier solely for the insurance card, but with my experiences with injuries, the few bucks more is better paid now, than struggling to pull your wallet when half-conscious from an accident, hoping an ER will be satisfied that you might actually have insurance and treat you...

    Fair warning. Hope BH has enough common sense to change this policy, but till then, I'm not hauling around pages of policy documents in my pocket everywhere I go in hopes someone will think it means I'm covered. Even a totally FAKE med card from somewhere would be better for getting you treated than a crumpled 8-1/2x11 paper policy you keep stuffed in a pocket...

    Come to think of it? Just get a fake plastic card made in a 3-rd world country, then get the BH insurance. Use the card for emergency, immediate treatment, then get it paid for later by the BH insurance. Brilliant. ;-)

    Was this review helpful to you?

    69 out of 76 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    November 8, 2016
    No name from CT Verified Squaremouth Customer

    No feedback

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    October 4, 2016
    Kent from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Excellent customer service, I will be using them again.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    13 out of 23 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    September 29, 2016
    Denise from GA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Thankfully no issues on my trip.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    7 out of 18 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    September 2, 2016
    KAY from HI Verified Squaremouth Customer

    The only time I needed to interact with Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection customer service was a correction to my travel dates. The travel dates were correct when input into Squaremouth, but somewhere along the way, the dates shifted backward by one day. I e-mailed BHTP customer service with my request for date correction along with screenshots of the original dates input into Squaremouth, and they responded within a short time and e-mailed me a corrected copy of the policy within 24 hours of my request.

    I was very impressed with BHTP customer service's quick response and action to complete the updates before my trip. Although, I did not need to submit any claims, I was very happy to have trip insurance that included first-payer medical coverage as my medical insurance only reimburses claims once they determine a claim meets their coverage criteria.

    For any future trips, I would, again, purchase Berkshire Hathaway Travel Protection insurance, and would recommend purchase of this insurance through Squaremouth to my friends.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    46 out of 53 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    ExactCare
    Review Received:
    August 15, 2016
    Jane from IN Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Very easy to acquire the policy that we needed through you rep.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    9 out of 25 people found this review helpful