Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company
Overall Rating 4.01 out of 5
Overall Rating 4.01 out of 5 581 Reviews Since 2018

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    January 21, 2024
    Gale from NC Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I had to contact Squaremouth to push the claim along which they were very helpful. Squaremouth is a great company that is not afraid to step into a situation to assist. I appreciate their help.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Prime
    Review Received:
    January 17, 2024
    Merri from IN Verified Squaremouth Customer

    It's always a great experience.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    January 14, 2024
    TODD from MI Verified Squaremouth Customer

    As of all good. Will see how it goes when I get my claim sent in. Just gathering info up.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    January 14, 2024
    Gaylynn from TX Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I tried to cancel my insurance since I knew I wasn't going to take the trip well in advance of the departure but they wouldn't allow it. This is just wrong and I will not be using your insurance again!!

    Was this review helpful to you?

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    January 13, 2024
    Steve from NY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    waiting for their response

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    January 5, 2024
    Lynn from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    My experience with Squaremouth and Nationwide travel insurance was positive. My travels went well and did not need to use my policy but I felt secure knowing that I had it in case anything went wrong.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    December 26, 2023
    Annie from OR Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Filed claim on their website on 12/09/23. Did not receive a confirmation email. On 12/14/23, I emailed claim information to the company. On 12/20/23, I phoned and spoke with Angelo and he supposedly assigned a claim number. He stated it could take 3-4 weeks. I have not heard or received anything from the company. A bit disconcerting.

    Review Updated: 01/23/2024

    In late December (after waiting several weeks) I received an email requesting additional information needed in order to complete the claim. I promptly sent the information and have heard nothing back! I have filled out the login information three times and it does not work. I have no idea what the status is. I can't login to find out because it doesn't work. The coordinating company hasn't worked well for me since the claim started back in mid-December. The money involved is becoming a hardship. I have purchased travel insurance through SquareMouth numerous times and have been satisfied. Unfortunately, I may need to reconsider next time.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    December 26, 2023
    ACB from NJ Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We are trying to get the cancellation fee for our Holy Land tour (Israel, Jordan, Egypt) from Nationwide. Trip was cancelled due to the act of terrorism and the on going war in that region. Nationwide is citing all sorts of irrational policies on what they deem a terrorist incident. Per this disreputable insurance company: The act must be deemed an act of terrorism by U.S. Department of State or the law enforcement organization in charge at the location of the Terrorist Incident.” The US government has deemed 100723 a Terrorist Incident but no other incident was deemed a terrorist incident by the Us government. War was declared after this incident and the policy has and exclusion which applies “4. war, invasion, acts of foreign enemies, hostilities between nations (whether declared or not), civil war. This is an on-going act of terrorism, and this insurance company is doing everything they can to get out of their customer obligations. Disreputable! The travel agency refunded the whole amount of the tour with the exception of a non-refundable fee of $400, which we are claiming from Nationwide. Even this amount they refuse to reimburse us, but we are rebutting their decision and will continue to fight this claim. This is not just for the money but for the principle involved! I would stay away from this company since they are disreputable. They severely fail to perform as an insurance company and function primarily as the recipient of insurance fees while projecting the illusion
    that your travel fees are covered!

    Was this review helpful to you?

    25 out of 25 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    December 18, 2023
    WHAdministrstor from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Upon arrival at CUN airport we were informed of “serious delays” and after some stress called Nationwide International Help desk. They were polite and attempted to inform but overall we felt we were on our own. Booked an alternate flight home at great expense and now awaiting process of our claim submitted on 12/12/23. Not a word beyond an auto reply email acknowledgement so far.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    December 18, 2023
    Joseph from NY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Happy that claim for $1500 was fully paid within 2 weeks of filing, with no negotiation.

    The claim submission process could have been smoother and that led to some confusion.

    The claims website allowed for electronic submission of materials, but only accepted one document for each "type" of information. For example it was necessary to put all the medical documents in one file in order to upload them. After filing we learned there is a general email address for further document submission.

    We received a few confirmation emails. But it was never clear if a response to that email would be read or used. I sent some documents to that email by mistake. They need to clearly state "don't submit documents here" if the email is purely a notice.

    I got a very ambiguous answer to the email question "have you received all the required documents". The response was a letter listing all the filing requirements and a section bolded related to the the explanation of benefits of another insurer. I guessed the response meant "you still need to submit the EOB" but they should have just come out and said "We have these five things, you don't need to send your credit card statements, and we are still waiting for the EOB".

    It sounds like growing pains as this TPA migrates to an electronic platform. It would have been very stressful to do all this by mail.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful