Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company
Overall Rating 4.02 out of 5
Overall Rating 4.02 out of 5 576 Reviews Since 2018

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Prime
    Review Received:
    September 27, 2018
    Tandy from NC Verified Squaremouth Customer

    When I called customer service to inquire about filing a claim for lost/stolen glasses on my flight, the customer service representative said “if your glasses were stolen from your baggage, you can file a claim. But first you must file a claim with the airlines which is a lengthy process and then you will file a claim with us- a very lengthy process and the claim will most likely be denied.” At this point, I lost complete faith in this company and realized that my insurance policy was a complete waste of money. I’d never buy travel insurance again with this provider!

    Was this review helpful to you?

    19 out of 19 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    September 26, 2018
    Still Waiting from PA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    File a claim two weeks ago, still have not heard from them.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    September 25, 2018
    Alfred from NY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    just like the efficient way I can find a bunch of policies all at once quickly and compare apples to apples. I dont have time to waste. And I get complete documentation emailed to me with all the pertinent information I need while away. Also had a slight problem that I needed to deal with the insurance company and it was handled easily and quickly (not claim related)

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    September 12, 2018
    Joel from MD Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Due to a serious illness, we had to cancel our trip one month before the trip. We filed our claim on August 6th. We received our refund for the hotel within 2 weeks. We are still waiting for the refund for airfare. We filled out a bunch of forms, provided all the information requested. We received confirmation of paperwork on Aug. 6th and told that review would take 15 business days and if we heard nothing during that time, our refund would follow shortly. Two days ago we received an email asking for another form to be filled out and once that was received, we would be back under review for another 15 business days. We could not open the encrypted form and had to call and get them to resend it as unencrypted. I asked about the 15 business day delay and the representative told me it may not be that long but they are backed up.

    We are experienced worldwide travelers and this was our first experience with travelers insurance. It may be our last.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    September 8, 2018
    Aleksandr from NY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I didn't use my travel insurance now however always buy it before traveling. 1-2 times used. Got a good refund.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    August 31, 2018
    Leonard from OK Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We needed to add coverage and customer service was very nice and helpful.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    August 18, 2018
    Patricia from OH Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I called when I was stranded in Toronto due to cancelled flights and experienced some of the worst customer service I have had in a very long time. The person I spoke with was rude and laughed when I asked her if she could help. She said I had to figure out what to do and could submit a claim later. She said we don't do anything except tell people we cant't help them and then process a claim later. She then laughed again and terminated the call.
    So here I was in a very difficult situation and got laughed at when I called about a policy I thought could help. I understand now that this is a scam to just get money out of people and accept that I was clueless and gullible, but she certainly could have been more professional when dealing with a customer.

    I have been a Nationwide customer for 40 years and have covered every home, auto, boat and possession I have owned through Nationwide. I am rethinking that now and pursuing quotes from other companies.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    50 out of 52 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    August 18, 2018
    David from IN Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I emailed them 2 days ago to ask about documenting my claim. I have not head back yet. That’s not good customer service .

    Was this review helpful to you?

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    August 6, 2018
    B from FL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Terrible customer service. Rude, arrogant. Misleading information provided. Will not use this company again.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    August 4, 2018
    Leah from PA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Our trip was interrupted due to fires in train stations in France. We’ve submitted pages and pages of evidence, as requested, and are waiting for a reply from Nationwide.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    19 out of 22 people found this review helpful