Sales & Service Data

TOTAL SALES
22,873
Since 2014
MONTHLY SALES
381
Average Monthly Sales Since 2014
REVIEWS
1,075
Since 2014
Overall Rating
4.4 Out of 5
Detailed Ratings
  • Customer Service Before Trip
  • Customer Service During Trip
  • Customer Service During Claim
Overall Rating

22,873
policies sold

0.3%
negative reviews

0.3% (70) negative reviews to sales
Average on Squaremouth is 0.6%

  • 5 stars
    720
  • 4 stars
    190
  • 3 stars
    95
  • 2 stars
    38
  • 1 stars
    32
Top Providers
HTH Travel Insurance
4.57/5
RoamRight
4.52/5
InsureandGo USA
4.5/5

Tin Leg Reviews


  • Overall Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We filed a claim for emergency medical for both my husband and I while we were in China. While the original claim was processed in a reasonable amount of time, the amount we received for our claim was just over $180 for over a $1750.00 claim. We had to process more paperwork for an appeal and wait again. Finally, an agent from Seven Corners called and we discussed the difference in the claim. She kept insisting that we had received the correct amount for our claim and they had used a conversion rate of .01111 something. The conversion rate we used while we were in China was something like 6.5555 or something like that. She kept insisting that we had received the correct amount and finally said the "Japanese Yen" converted to ..... at that point, I told her we were in CHINA and the conversion was for a "Chinese Yuan"!! That is where our insurance policy was issued for. If she had not mentioned Japanese, I doubt that the issued would have ever been resolved and I would have been out about $1550 for my valid claim. A check is in the mail now (I hope), but I was not happy with the entire situation and the many months to get our claim processed.

    Response From:
    Tin Leg
    Tin Leg:
    Kelly Calkins
    Response Received:

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

    We apologize for your negative experience.

    I confirmed with the claims department that there was an error during the conversion process and additional payment was sent out on 1/04/2016.

    Again, we sincerely apologize for our error and we appreciate your feedback.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Had a 24 hour flight delay, submitted ALL required paper work to start claim and after 2 weeks of hearing nothing I called to see how we were progressing.
    They put me on hold for 15 minutes and then proceeded to tell me they never received anything from me, funny I have a USPS receipt of delivery to their location 3 days after I mailed it. Re-sent the entire package again but this time to reduce the size ( 14 pages ) I made 2 sided copies ( 7 pages ) also got a USPS receipt of delivery to their location! Called again after 2 weeks to see the progress of my claim and they said they received it and it is in the system with the claims reviewers.
    Nothing again for almost 3 weeks, called again placed on hold until they located someone who was handling the case, the said they have been trying to reach me because page 2,4,6,8,10,12 and 14 were missing. I told them to turn the pages over, Oh the person said this information is on my computer and they scan all claim information into the computer data base.and no longer have any paperwork. Looks like someone did not scan the back sides of the documents. Now this time I emailed the missing pages to the claims agent, finally they confirmed they had all the necessary documents.
    Again 3 weeks passed and I had not heard anything. Made contact with claims, and they said that they were working on it.
    This claim took from August 18th 2015 when I submitted it to Today December 15th 2015 when I finally got the 3rd of 3 checks. ( we had 3 travelers ) and they screwed that up too. Almost 16 weeks to process a claim for $333.00.
    Communication on their side was non existent. They had all of my contact information, phone and email but they never contacted me once.
    I would not recommend Tin Leg to handle your travel insurance needs.

    Response From:
    Tin Leg
    Tin Leg:
    Kelly Calkins
    Response Received:

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

    I apologize for your negative experience while processing your claim with us.

    I confirmed with the claims department that your final documentation was received on 11/11/2015 and payments were issued for the claim on 11/24/2015. I apologize for the initial oversight when scanning the documentation which was two-sided.

    Again, please accept my sincerest apologies for your negative experience. We appreciate your feedback because it allows us to improve our customer service.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    cancelled trip because of medical emergency; your staff - Chelsey Crossland - helped us handle and expedite claim for total trip costs

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Very unhappy with Tin Leg. To date I haven't received a refund or explanation of settlement.
    I sent in claim on 8-25-2015. To date I haven't received a refund or explanation of settlement
    After one month I sent an email because they had not contacted me in any way to acknowledge receipt of claim.
    They claimed to have sent a letter to me on Sept. 22, 2015, to date not received.
    I contacted them again and they shot a curt email saying that they are evaluating claim. Really, does it take almost 3 months to evaluate a claim?

    I am very dissatisfied with the service of this company.

    Kay Donald
    10-31-2015

    Response From:
    Tin Leg
    Tin Leg:
    Kelly Caulkins
    Response Received:

    Thank you for taking the time to submit a review.

    Typically, the claims department will contact you within 5 -7 business days of receiving your documentation.

    I apologize we did not contact you in a timely manner.

    I can confirm your claim was processed on 09/21/2015 and an items needed letter was sent on 09/22/2015 requesting proof of payment as well as confirmation of refund.

    If you have this information, please forward it to tinlegclaims@sevencorners.com.

    Please contact us at 866-887-7108 if you have any questions before sending in your documentation. We are delighted to help.

    Again, I apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you and we appreciate your feedback.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I was very happy with how our interactions with Tin Leg went during our trip. I broke a bone in my foot, and the support and assistance was great. I had somewhat of a difficult time getting someone the first few calls to get assistance, but once we got a competent customer service representative, the service and responses were wonderful. Wesley Smith was incredible. He was prompt, thorough, and helpful in all of our interactions. He booked the flight upgrade for me, and he was clear and prompt in all of our communications. From letting us know what we needed to do to assisting us with getting our expenses reimbursed, we were happy with our service. Thank you. I will use the insurance again when we travel!

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Cancellation for reasons of illness was expeditiously handled once forms were submitted.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    After one month without any response I contacted them and was advised that I needed the medical statement signed by my physician. They also indicated my documentation from VBT was inadequate since it had the refund documented in pencil.

    I sent the additional documentation request to my MD and the VBT information to the ins 10/8/15 and awaiting their reply.

    I am awaiting the outcome for a rating.

    Review Updated: 11/24/2015

    they were a little difficult about the documentation. The request for a MD note seemed reasonable but I initially sent in documentation of the partial refund of our deposit for the trip we had to cancel and they needed "additional " documentation. Not a huge deal but just an additional hassle.

    Response From:
    Tin Leg
    Tin Leg:
    Kelly Calkins
    Response Received:

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

    I apologize for your negative experience.

    The claims process can take 30 - 45 days once all the necessary documentation is submitted.

    I can confirm the outstanding amount for your claim has been paid.

    You may contact us at 866-887-7108 if you have any questions, we are happy to help.

    Again, we are sorry for any frustration this has caused you and we appreciate your feedback.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    My friend fell and broke her leg before we were scheduled to leave for Australia. Tin Leg was great I got my refund very fast I'm very satisfied and would suggest Tin Leg to anyone.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Claim has not been processed

    Response From:
    Tin Leg
    Tin Leg:
    Kasey Krueger
    Response Received:

    I confirmed with our claims department your notice of claim was received on 10/9/15, a claim interview was conducted on 10/12/15, and your claim form and requested documentation was received on 10/16/15.

    Currently, your claim is being processed. Please keep in mind, it typically takes 10 days to process the claim once all the required documentation is received.

    We appreciate your feedback and apologize for any frustration this has caused.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Had to cancel trip 9 months before departure because wife developed an consuming aversion to a European vacation, due to repeated incidents of terrorist violence there. Contacted Squaremouth, who refused to consider a refund.
    In contrast, the travel company refunded both airfare, and cruise fees. As a result, I would not recommend Squaremouth to anyone contemplating travel.

    Response From:
    Tin Leg
    Tin Leg:
    Kelly Calkins
    Response Received:

    Thank you for taking the time to submit a review.

    I apologize for your negative experience. I know it is frustrating when you do not receive the service you expected.

    Every policy purchased through Squaremouth comes with a money back guarantee period that allows a customer to cancel and receive a full premium refund. The money back guarantee policy for your Tin Leg policy was 14 days after the purchase.

    Unfortunately, the cancellation request was received outside of the money back guarantee period. This is why Tin Leg was unable to provide a refund. This is standard for all of the providers on Squaremouth’s website.

    I apologize our customer service agent did not explain this process to you. We have provided additional training to ensure this does not happen again.

    Again, please accept my sincere apologies for the frustration this has caused you. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to improve our processes and procedures.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

$1,000 tips shine a light on service

Squaremouth, a company that puts a focus on how to treat customers, rewards 20 who do the same.

BY KATHERINE SNOW SMITH
Times Staff Writer

See what happened

Silver Stevie Winner for Customer Service

Squaremouth wins national award for Customer Service Team of the Year by the American Business Awards.

Read more

Safe with our Zero Complaint Guarantee

Every travel insurance policy purchased through Squaremouth comes with the Zero Complaint Guarantee.

In the event of a complaint, Squaremouth will mediate with the insurance provider on behalf of our client.

Unless the complaint is resolved to Squaremouth's satisfaction, the provider will be removed from the website.

Read more

One of Florida’s Best Companies to Work For in 2015

Headquartered in St. Petersburg, Florida, Squaremouth’s unique work environment and core values have led to consistent recognition for company culture, outstanding office space and rapid growth.

In 2015, Florida Trend magazine named Squaremouth the 18th best small company to work for in Florida, highlighting the company’s exceptional culture in a special feature article.

Read More