Sales & Service Data

TOTAL SALES
23,833
Since 2014
MONTHLY SALES
363
Average Monthly Sales Since 2014
REVIEWS
1,115
Since 2014
Overall Rating
4.49 Out of 5
Detailed Ratings
  • Customer Service Before Trip
  • Customer Service During Trip
  • Customer Service During Claim
Overall Rating

23,833
policies sold

0.2%
negative reviews

0.2% (43) negative reviews to sales
Average on Squaremouth is 0.6%

  • 5 stars
    766
  • 4 stars
    208
  • 3 stars
    98
  • 2 stars
    37
  • 1 stars
    6
Top Providers
RoamRight
4.52/5
Tin Leg
4.49/5
HTH Travel Insurance
4.49/5

Tin Leg Reviews


  • Overall Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I have submitted the paperwork and have been waiting for a call. I scheduled for a call last week but did not receive the call at scheduled time or at other tim. I am still waiting to get paid for the medical visit.

    Response From:
    Tin Leg
    Tin Leg:
    Kelly Calkins
    Response Received:

    Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your experience. I apologize for the negative experience you have had with our claims team.

    I can confirm our customer service team emailed a request to schedule a claim interview with you on 1/11/2016 after receiving your notification of claim by email on 1/09/2016. We emailed another request on 1/13/2016.

    When we did not receive a response to our claim interview request, a claims agent contacted you directly by phone on 1/19/2016 and completed the claim interview and emailed you a claim form for your signature. Once we receive this form, we will immediately process your claim. The claim process typically takes 10 days.

    Our standard process is to conduct a claim interview with our customers and email a pre-filled claim form that includes the information provided during the interview. In order to do so, we email a request to schedule an interview within 2 business days of receiving notification of a claim.

    Again, I am sorry for any frustration we caused you during this process.

    You may contact me directly at 727-431-6591 if you have any questions. I am happy to help.

    Thank you for the opportunity to assist you.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    cancelled trip because of medical emergency; your staff - Chelsey Crossland - helped us handle and expedite claim for total trip costs

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I was very happy with how our interactions with Tin Leg went during our trip. I broke a bone in my foot, and the support and assistance was great. I had somewhat of a difficult time getting someone the first few calls to get assistance, but once we got a competent customer service representative, the service and responses were wonderful. Wesley Smith was incredible. He was prompt, thorough, and helpful in all of our interactions. He booked the flight upgrade for me, and he was clear and prompt in all of our communications. From letting us know what we needed to do to assisting us with getting our expenses reimbursed, we were happy with our service. Thank you. I will use the insurance again when we travel!

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    After one month without any response I contacted them and was advised that I needed the medical statement signed by my physician. They also indicated my documentation from VBT was inadequate since it had the refund documented in pencil.

    I sent the additional documentation request to my MD and the VBT information to the ins 10/8/15 and awaiting their reply.

    I am awaiting the outcome for a rating.

    Review Updated: 11/24/2015

    they were a little difficult about the documentation. The request for a MD note seemed reasonable but I initially sent in documentation of the partial refund of our deposit for the trip we had to cancel and they needed "additional " documentation. Not a huge deal but just an additional hassle.

    Response From:
    Tin Leg
    Tin Leg:
    Kelly Calkins
    Response Received:

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

    I apologize for your negative experience.

    The claims process can take 30 - 45 days once all the necessary documentation is submitted.

    I can confirm the outstanding amount for your claim has been paid.

    You may contact us at 866-887-7108 if you have any questions, we are happy to help.

    Again, we are sorry for any frustration this has caused you and we appreciate your feedback.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    My friend fell and broke her leg before we were scheduled to leave for Australia. Tin Leg was great I got my refund very fast I'm very satisfied and would suggest Tin Leg to anyone.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Economy
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I got very sick on our trip and on the second trip to the German doctor he thought it would be a good idea to go home and get medical attention from my local doctor. We called your 24 hour line and your rep told us what we needed to do to terminate our trip early. I am home now and under local care. I have mailed our claim to you and it should be in your hands in a day or two. The 24 hour assistance was very helpful in our time of need. If you have questions about our claim please contact me.

    Review Updated: 01/11/2016

    Getting the required statement from the doctor in Germany was very hard to do. I am not sure why it was required after sending in 2 statements from two different doctors I am seeing here in California for the condition.
    Also I never received anything that showed how the amount that was paid was calculated. While the total was in the ballpark I do not know how it was arrived at.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I had to cancel my trip due to medical issues. I submitted all the requested documentation by e-mail and received a full refund within 3 weeks for the amount claimed.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    The policy was easy to purchase but everything after that was difficult. I have purchased 6 prior policies from Squaremouth and never previously needed to file a claim. I filed a claim for the first time after a recent trip and after a number of weeks without a response I called Tin Leg. The customer service representative informed me that they had misplaced my paperwork. A few weeks later I called back and received contradictory information from another representative. A few weeks later and after multiple phone calls my claim was rejected. I filed an appeal and this was also rejected after an inordinate amount of time and phone calls. I contacted the Zero Complaint team, and found no effective advocacy. I have since started purchasing travel insurance through a different company and no longer use Squaremouth.

    Response From:
    Tin Leg
    Tin Leg:
    Brandi Morse
    Response Received:

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

    We are very sorry for your negative experience. We understand it is frustrating when you do not receive the service you expected.

    Unfortunately, your claim was not payable due to the fact your condition started before your trip began. Your travel insurance policy is designed to provide coverage for a condition that starts after you depart for your trip.

    It typically takes 30 days to process an appeal. I confirmed with our claims department you submitted an appeal on 7/10/2015. The denial was upheld on 8/10/2015.

    Again, we are sorry for the frustration this has caused you and we appreciate your feedback.

    Response From:
    Squaremouth
    Kelly Calkins
    Response Received:
    September 4, 2015

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

    We are very sorry for your negative experience during the claim process.

    Our Zero Complaint team member worked to get your claim expedited after you contacted us. We also addressed your concerns with the lack of customer service you received when contacting Tin Leg.

    Unfortunately, your claim was not payable under the policy language.

    We understand your situation was frustrating, however, we agree with Tin Leg’s decision to deny the claim as it was not covered within your policy.

    Again, we are sorry for any inconvenience this has caused you and we appreciate your feedback.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Your policy was more reasonable than the one offered by the travel company. However, there's has a cancellation policy for any reason before the trip. Some countries like Chek Republic have minimum insurance amounts and certain coverage required for repatriation. I couldn't easily find those requirements on your web site. Yes, I would recommend your insurance to other travelers unless they already have a serious medical condition that might require them to cancel before the trip.

    Response From:
    Tin Leg
    Tin Leg:
    Kelly Calkins
    Response Received:

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

    Your policy includes Trip Cancellation coverage that provides reimbursement if your trip is cancelled prior to departure for an unexpected covered reason within the policy, such as a sickness or injury. This is considered standard coverage.

    The policy also includes an option to add the Cancel For Any Reason benefit. This is an upgrade to the policy that allows a traveler to cancel their trip for a reason that is not covered within the policy.

    We recommend at least $50,000 emergency medical and $100,000 medical evacuation coverage when traveling internationally. Some countries may recommend specific coverage amounts when applying for a travel visa. Unfortunately, our website does not include the requirements for every country. We recommend contacting the embassy to determine specific travel requirements.

    We appreciate your feedback and are always looking for ways to improve our website.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Luxury
    Review Received:
    From: Verified Squaremouth Customer

    1. We planned our trip to East Africa before the Ebola outbreak in West Africa. I called customer service in October 2014 and asked if the policy would be in effect if the US State Dept issued a travel advisory for Tanzania. I called and spoke immediately with an agent. I was told that the policy would cover that possibility. Fortunately, Ebola is not an issue in Tanzania and our trip went without a hitch.
    2. In 2012 we had a trip planned to Asia. Shortly before our departure, a health issue led to cancellation. After I submitted documentation, the policy quickly covered travel expenses in full according to the policy.
    I am pleased with service and have continued to use it.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

$1,000 tips shine a light on service

Squaremouth, a company that puts a focus on how to treat customers, rewards 20 who do the same.

BY KATHERINE SNOW SMITH
Times Staff Writer

See what happened

Silver Stevie Winner for Customer Service

Squaremouth wins national award for Customer Service Team of the Year by the American Business Awards.

Read more

Safe with our Zero Complaint Guarantee

Every travel insurance policy purchased through Squaremouth comes with the Zero Complaint Guarantee.

In the event of a complaint, Squaremouth will mediate with the insurance provider on behalf of our client.

Unless the complaint is resolved to Squaremouth's satisfaction, the provider will be removed from the website.

Read more

One of Florida’s Best Companies to Work For in 2015

Headquartered in St. Petersburg, Florida, Squaremouth’s unique work environment and core values have led to consistent recognition for company culture, outstanding office space and rapid growth.

In 2015, Florida Trend magazine named Squaremouth the 18th best small company to work for in Florida, highlighting the company’s exceptional culture in a special feature article.

Read More