April Travel Protection
Overall Rating 4.21 Out of 5
Overall Rating 4.21 Out of 5
613 Reviews Since 2013

  • Overall Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Choice
    Review Received:
    June 21, 2020
    Hing-sheung from TX Verified Squaremouth Customer

    the trip was cancelled due to the COVID but we were offered re-insure for the next trip with the same policy

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Choice
    Review Received:
    April 7, 2020
    Julie from FL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I filed a claim on Mar. 2, 2020. I was able to get refunds on parts of my trip but was filing for the flight cost. As the flight had been rebooked from an original trip it has an expiration date. Due to the coronavirus issues I would be unable to rebook the flight before the deadline. I have yet to hear back from Yani Pascal. I reached out to him again on Mar. 16 to see what the progress was on my claim. I received no reply and have not heard anything since then.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Choice
    Review Received:
    April 6, 2020
    William from NC Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Trip postponed due to virus. Called and was able to extend protection.
    Very helpful customer service

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Trip Cancellation Plan
    Review Received:
    April 5, 2020
    Peter from IL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    OMG!!!

    My trip was cancelled do to Corona virus but your company doesn't care!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Review Updated: 05/03/2020

    I spent over $2000.00 on the trip and got back $237.00 - this is a JOKE.
    I have made BBB complaint, and i am talking with my attorney.

    I will not let this GO.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Choice
    Review Received:
    April 5, 2020
    Kimberly from OH Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I understand now that a pandemic is not covered, but I also have asthma making it a specific medical condition for which we couldn't travel and we cancelled our vacation.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Trip Cancellation Plan
    Review Received:
    April 3, 2020
    Jan from FL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    April did not respond to emails, but does answer the phone. Sent claim form within 2 days, said to expect long wait times for review. Submitted claim online, but expect there to be issues because although I have cancel for any reason, American Airlines is not issuing emailed confirmation of cancellations at this point for all flights, even when you call them and ask for written cancellation proof. Submitted claim with April explaining this. Still pending review.

    Review Updated: 05/01/2020

    I purchased cancel for any reason insurance so I can cancel for any reason. I would like them to pay claim for plane tickets I will not use. I recognize American Airlines says the tickets can be used for credit Before the end of the year, but I will not be using them. Insurance says I need to wait until the credit is no longer valid before I can make the insurance claim on them. I explained that I will not be using them and want to cancel for any reason now and get my insurance claim paid now. Insurance agent was polite, I just do not agree with having to wait till credits expire when I indicate that I will not use those credits. I have three separate cancel for any reason trips that I filed claims for with April, all were handled the same way, so I only received money back for the rental car cancellation fee, I am out the thousands of dollars I put out for flights I will not use and April says I will need to attempt to refill a claim Next year when the credits expire, but with the way things are going, these credits could last till who knows when and I will not be able to recoup any money from my cancel for any reason plan? I think if I can attest that I will not be using the future credits that the claim should be paid now, not in some distant future. I gave 4 stars because they were efficient and professional, I just do not agree with their position.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Choice
    Review Received:
    April 2, 2020
    Sarah from UT Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Dear sirs , when I called to make a claim, the agent said that nothing related to the Coronavirus would be covered!
    I was traveling with a group often people, we few to Entebbe, but were not allowed entry into Uganda on March 17, and we were re-rerouted back to the US 6 days early, so I would like to file a claim for Trip interruption!

    I also had two trip delays - not related to the Coronavirus, It was due to the bad air quality die to the Dragon Storm in Egypt!
    I was with a group of 12 people in Axum, Ethiopia on March 14, we were scheduled to fly to Lalibela, no planes were coming or going from Axum, the same thing happened again on March 15 when we needed to fly back to Addis Ababa. We finally got home on March 16, but we missed a lot of our tours and it costs us a bundle in extra hotels and transportation. We are trying to get some compensation from our travel insurance, but the insurance is asking for : "Documentation from the carrier regarding the date, reason for, and length of the delay". Could you please send us some documentation regarding those delays on March 14 and 15, to see if we an re-coup some of our costs?

    Thanks!

    Review Updated: 05/14/2020

    I keep submitting my claim and I keep getting emails from crawford_apps@us.crawco.com saying that my claim is incomplete but I am not able to upload anything to their site with out getting an error - saying to try later

    its been going on for weeks

    this is all useless!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Choice
    Review Received:
    April 2, 2020
    Sarah from UT Verified Squaremouth Customer

    When I called they said that nothing related to the Coronavirus would be covered!

    Our group 10 were not allowed entry into Uganda on March 17, and we were re-rerouted back to the US 6 days early, so I would like to file a claim for Trip interruption!

    I also had two drip delays - not related to the Coronavirus, It was due to the bad air quality die to the Dragon Storm in Egypt!

    I was with a group of 12 people in Axum, Ethiopia on March 14, we were scheduled to fly to Lalibela, no planes were coming or going from Axum, the same thing happened again on March 15 when we needed to fly back to Addis Ababa. We finally got home on March 16, but we missed a lot of our tours and it costs us a bundle in extra hotels and transportation. We are trying to get some compensation from our travel insurance, but the insurance is asking for : "Documentation from the carrier regarding the date, reason for, and length of the delay". Could you please send us some documentation regarding those delays on March 14 and 15, to see if we an re-coup some of our costs?

    Thanks!

    Review Updated: 05/04/2020

    ive not been able to submit my documents I keep getting an error

    that says to try again later - I've been trying for hours!

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Choice
    Review Received:
    April 2, 2020
    ROBERT from MN Verified Squaremouth Customer

    This recent experience reveal no value in travel Insurance.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Overall Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Choice
    Review Received:
    March 30, 2020
    Katherine from IL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Because my trip was cancelled and I was able to get ALL of my money back, April refunded my entire premium.

    They do not have a good website and are very hard to get through to. I have a second (canceled) trip covered by them and cannot get any answers at all. No website, on hold for over an hour and then get disconnected, no option for a call back.

    Love Squaremouth (have been a customer for years) but will not likely use April for future trips.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

Multi-Award Winning Customer Service Team

Squaremouth’s outside-the-box approach to customer service has been recognized nationally and internationally, with 13 awards in 5 years. Customer service is part of everybody’s job at Squaremouth. Every employee spends time on the phone with customers each week.

Read more

$30,000 Contest Encourages Reading Policy Documents

To highlight the importance of reading policy documents from start to finish, Squaremouth awarded one customer $10,000 in a secret contest for being the first to read hers. Then, we gave another $10,000 to a children’s literacy charity and $5,000 each to two schools.

Read more

$1,000 Tips Shine a Light on Service

Squaremouth, a company that puts a focus on customer service, rewards 20 outstanding customer service providers in St. Petersburg, Florida with $1,000 cash tips. Then, one received an additional $10,000 as the Thank You Campaign’s grand prize winner.

Read more

One of America’s Best and Fastest-Growing Companies

Squaremouth is consistently awarded for its unique company culture and steady revenue growth. This includes national recognition from Inc. Magazine, Fortune, and Entrepreneur, and local recognition from the Tampa Bay Business Journal and Florida Trend.

Read more