AXA Assistance USA
Overall Rating 4.22 out of 5
Overall Rating 4.22 out of 5 929 Reviews Since 2015

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    September 22, 2015
    James from MO Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Tried, unsuccessfully, to get a copy of the actual policy to weeks prior to departure to make sure we understood what was covered and what was not. Got no response from inquiries. As it turned out there were no problems, but I'm not sure how responsive they would have been if we had problems.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    106 out of 114 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Gold
    Review Received:
    September 18, 2015
    Steven from HI Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I purchased this insurance because it included rental car coverage. When I got to Ireland, I was told I needed proof that my policy covered Ireland specifically. My policy paperwork didn't specifically say this, so I called AXA internationally and spent about 20 minutes at $2/min while the representative kept putting me on hold, only to find out that he couldn't figure out if Ireland was covered or not. He said he had nothing that indicates which countries are covered, so I was forced by the rental company to buy a $400 policy. (The rental was prepaid so I couldn't cancel & shop around either). I can't understand how a travel insurance company wouldn't be able to say which countries are or are not covered. Useless.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    220 out of 228 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    September 17, 2015
    Sandra from VA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Here is a copy of the email I sent to AXA Assistance:

    I received a check for $5255.00 for claim # AX25489923. Why was it not for $6000.00, the amount of insurance I took out? As my reservation confirmation letter proves, the cost of the rental was $5955.00 ($5500 rent, $385 taxes, and $70 processing fee). My claim was for the rental cost plus non-refundable $50 early check in fee for Southwest Airlines.

    No one called my or sent me an email that the amount I claimed was in dispute. Is this your company policy?

    The representative I talked to today had no way to access my information and give me a timely answer to my question. I this company policy?

    Please call me today (703-239-1073) with an answer to these questions.

    (end of email I sent)

    Was this review helpful to you?

    81 out of 88 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Platinum
    Review Received:
    September 2, 2015
    n.a. from OH Verified Squaremouth Customer

    There were some technical issues purchasing the plan. Otherwise, service was good and Squaremouth called to fix the problem.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Gold
    Review Received:
    September 1, 2015
    Ch from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    No comments

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    August 18, 2015
    Charles from GA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    To make a long story as short as possible, my wife and I purchased trip insurance for what for us was a trip of a lifetime. It was to be an anniversary celebration as well as a birthday celebration for us and our friends. Meticulous planning went into a three week adventure through the Scottish highlands. Plans and money spent was all worked out in advance, including the cost of trip insurance. Because we are older now, experience has taught us to expect the unexpected so we purchased trip insurance through this website with AXA Assistance USA. We got to Squaremouth through research on the web. We ended up with AXA after a telephone conversation with Squaremouth advising us to go with the company giving the lowest rate for what we needed.

    One week into our three week trip, our son calls to tell us that my Mother has died. We dropped out plans to rush home but convinced our companions to continue on.

    Our policy calls for 100% coverage for trip interruption. The death of a family member counts as a valid reason for trip interruption. We purchased $13,000 worth of trip insurance at a cost of $508.00. We put in a claim for $9316.49 along with a detailed explanation and all valid receipts and proof. We received a check for $547.52 with no explanation of what was and wasn't paid.

    A phone call to Squaremouth resulted in a breakdown for payment from the provider that simply is not acceptable.

    As with any policy, the ***** is in the details which are too numerous to go into in this review. Suffice it to say this matter is not over.

    My advice to any reader of this review is to 1) Do not purchase insurance from AXA Assistance USA. 2) In purchasing trip insurance, it is probably best to go through someone you know locally and understand exactly what it is you are paying for. We were never provided a detailed policy, only a one page Summary of Coverage.

    Please understand, my beef is not with this website. They have been supportive by contacting the provider on my behalf and getting the breakdown of payments and pleasant to work with but....I should have known better than to buy insurance over the internet. From now on I will handle trip insurance just like my car or home insurance...I will only deal with someone I know.

    My beef is with AXA Assistance USA who appears unwilling to support their product.

    If there is any change in this case, I will try to update on this site.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    675 out of 697 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Gold
    Review Received:
    August 12, 2015
    Lea from FL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I just submitted my claim 2 days ago. It would have been nice if I received confirmation that they received the claim.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    12 out of 21 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Gold
    Review Received:
    August 7, 2015
    Matthew from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I felt the limits and exclusions for items in baggage were a bit excessive. For example, they will cover a $250 digital camera but not a $180 dollar pair of sunglasses. Both are expensive, personal and deal with optics. So why one and not the other? Probably has to do with your odds of losing Sunglasses are higher than the camera. And if you really read the exclusions list, it almost reads as though it could be anything that would ever possibly be in your bag. In the end, they paid out half my claim. It was alright I guess. I still feel like they should have covered the sunglasses.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    47 out of 56 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Gold
    Review Received:
    July 27, 2015
    Elizabeth from NJ Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I ordered the insurance but did not receive the confirmation email. Even though I had the policy info from the point of sale I wanted the email to confirm. Ink called the AXA 800 assistance and the rep was very helpful. She confirmed the terms of the policy and determined that I had entered my email address incorrectly. She corrected it and I had the email confirm within a few hours. We never needed the insurance, but it was necessary for us to book the trip. I highly recommend travel insurance peace of mind. Square mouth was a great tool to compare and learn about the options available.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    71 out of 77 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Gold
    Review Received:
    July 23, 2015
    Candace from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Overall, it was an easy system to use and the customer service person I spoke with was pleasant and helpful. I liked being able to easily and effectively compare a wide variety of offerings for my insurance needs. I did have to figure out with customer service how to input the application when I did not have a flight component to my trip - i.e., I was travelling by car so didn't have a booking date as such. It would be very helpful if you built a road trip component into your coverage so we could tailor the travel insurance more closely to our needs.

    I would recommend this policy or similar to others in the future.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    14 out of 19 people found this review helpful