AXA Assistance USA
Overall Rating 4.22 out of 5
Overall Rating 4.22 out of 5 953 Reviews Since 2015

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    November 22, 2015
    Carol from WI Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Thank you for being prompt with my request for a change in the cost of my travel--this was a request made pre-travel. Thank goodness I didn't need to make a claim. Having your insurance gave me peace of mind during my trip.

    Response From:
    AXA Assistance USA
    AXA Assistance USA:
    Samantha
    Response Received:
    July 3, 2023

    Thank you for sharing your feedback, Carol. We're sorry to hear about the circumstances surrounding your claim submission. We take customer service and the claims review process very seriously. We're pleased to advise that your claim has been received, and our goal is to process claims within 30 days from the time that they're received, however, some cases can take longer to resolve. Please feel free to reach out to us at (800) 348-9505 or via email at claims@generalitravelinsurance.com with any additional questions or concerns.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    November 20, 2015
    John from KS Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I learned a hard lesson purchasing this travel insurance.

    Our very best friends daughter unexpectantly passed away. We REALLY did want to return for the funeral. However, our policy only allowed for immediate family members. I learned a hard lesson in not getting insurance effective for "Any Reason". If I recall correctly, the agent I dealt with did not question an "Any Reason" policy. Like I said, "Hard lesson learned".
    .

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    November 12, 2015
    Rebecca from IL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Very good overall experience. Price and service were both good and met my needs. I would recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    November 12, 2015
    JohnN, from FL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    After a 3+ hr delay on my initial Delta flight I missed my connection for my O'seas flight... But my baggage went so it got separated and bags were delayed 36 hrs in arriving at final destination (India)- AND with a camera missing out of it.
    Not having the receipt from when I bought it (it got lost in a move) resulted in my getting $269 after about 2 months- an overall frustrating experience with Delta but the AXA claims handling was fair considering depreciation & the premium cost $25.
    JohnN,

    Was this review helpful to you?

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Gold
    Review Received:
    November 12, 2015
    Ray from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Claim process was very short and form very user friendly as well as customer service assistance people very helpful .

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    November 7, 2015
    MARCUS from SC Verified Squaremouth Customer

    It would be helpful to be able to contact AXA by email instead of phone. It's not always possible or convenient to make a phone call.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    November 6, 2015
    Kathleen from NC Verified Squaremouth Customer

    We had to cancel our trip for medical reasons.
    We contacted AXA Assistance USA on the same day that the health emergency occurred.
    We were treated cordially and received the claim forms via email promptly.
    Our doctor filled out the medical portion of the forms and we sent the packet of all completed material within 8-9 days of the medical emergency.
    The first time we heard anything from AXA Assistance USA was today. Via an email we have been informed that our claim materials have been received and are being processed.
    It is unclear why three weeks have elapsed before this notification was sent to us.
    Apparently the 30 day processing time begins today, although we have no way of knowing where the claim has been for three weeks.
    We will be able to give more complete feedback about our experience with AXA Assistance USA after our claim is processed.

    NOTE: We selected 1 star to answer the question about our experience "during" the trip - which we never took. There was no way to correctly answer this question.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    180 out of 186 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Gold
    Review Received:
    November 2, 2015
    Paul from LA from LA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    The AXA 24 x 7 service touted does not exist. I spent more than 20 minutes on hold during 7 calls from China over the from October 16-19th finally reaching them on the 3rd day. There is no option to leave a message. AXA was of NO assistance translating verbal or written Chinese to English, not in real time, nor in written emails. What translation they offered (weeks later) sounded like what I got from Google.

    AXA was not available from the Xi'an China emergency room via cell phone. Later AXA asked if the doctor recommended leaving the tour to return home. I don't even think the doctor (who did a good job) ever understood that I was on a tour. He did put me in a splint, with two crutches, and told me that I could not put weight on the ankle for four weeks. That made touring impossible. The translator was my tour guide who gave me the basic interpretation, but was unable to translate medical terms. The translator told me, after the fact, that she did not mention the tour as she was afraid that the tour company would then have to pay for the treatment.

    While I was in China. I reached AXA twice on my cell phone(P.S. Collect calls were impossible). They did one follow up call for which I had to leave my cell connected in roaming at great expense). The follow up call had no content, no diagnosis, no medical suggestions, no travel suggestions, nor had the Chinese Emergency room been contacted.

    AXA was of no help making suggestions about policy coverage of changes and interruptions in travel plans. They did not inform me of the option to have a doctor travel to me to review my medical situation. AXA gave me suggestions for my injury that came almost word from word from WebMD. AXA offered no help in making evacuation plans. I would have to book my own vehicle, accommodations, airlines, and wheelchair assistance. They said that if I used the lowest cost methods to do something, then they might reimburse some of the costs once I got home if I had proper documentation of the injury (I had provided 100% all medical info to the days before this comment) . . .and guess what . . . if you don't speak Chinese, then there is no way to make those arrangements. I had local travel companies phone numbers for emergency purpose. . . they don't speak English and/or don't answer the phone. The hotel manager suggested calling the American Embassy located 700 miles away.

    Once home, I filed a Trip Interruption claim on file with AXA. They offered no p[hone guidance on what might or might not be covered.

    I would not recommend this policy to other travelers. If you are injured, then you are on-your-own. If you survive, then maybe you can claim some benefits. You will get NO help deciding how to best reduce the costs, to change travel plans, or to return home.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    49 out of 50 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 2 out of 5
    Policy:
    Gold
    Review Received:
    October 31, 2015
    lars from VA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Unless you lose an arm or a leg...or miss your flight...your insurance is useless due to so many exclusions.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Gold
    Review Received:
    October 29, 2015
    Suzan from AZ Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Will always use Squaremouth -- best rating and rates!

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful