AXA Assistance USA
Overall Rating 4.22 out of 5
Overall Rating 4.22 out of 5 945 Reviews Since 2015

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Gold
    Review Received:
    December 2, 2015
    Joy from AZ Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Easy site to navigate and to assist in making a decision as to which policy is best suited for my needs.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Gold
    Review Received:
    December 1, 2015
    Mark from NC Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Highly recommended and would definitely use AXA again.
    Our bags didn't make the flight on our return home, so when we got home from our 3 week trip to Europe we didn't have any of our daily needs or even our underwear and socks since we had been gone so long. We waited 24 hrs and still no bags and no word from the airline so we went out and bought our necessities. The bags finally arrived 80 hours late, fortunately, because we would have lost much more than the insurance would have covered in our AXA Gold policy. I say this, because you don't really realize how much your clothes are worth until you sit down and itemize them. Plus, if you tried to replace everything immediately you'd have to pay full price for items you may have bought on sale. Additionally, my wife was very upset at the thought of having to shop for all her clothes because women's clothes are such a hassle to buy since everything fits differently.
    We submitted a claim for our purchases and we just received a letter stating that we will be reimbursed for our full claim.
    I am very pleased with this service and will definitely use AXA in the future, however, I will probably increase my coverage from Gold to Platinum because when we thought our bags had been lost by the airlines we read that 24 million bags are lost each year.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    44 out of 49 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Gold
    Review Received:
    November 28, 2015
    Katherine from FL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    They were unable to tell me if the policy would cover upgraded airline tickets to get me home after a spinaI fracture. I made the reservations by phone and don't have good documentation as to how much extra I paid. The VISA bill came with a different company name than the airline plus extra fees. Will I be able to collect? We will see.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    November 26, 2015
    Linda from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    It's nice to have Bec.Emergency Happens.and Unpredictable.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    November 22, 2015
    Carol from WI Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Thank you for being prompt with my request for a change in the cost of my travel--this was a request made pre-travel. Thank goodness I didn't need to make a claim. Having your insurance gave me peace of mind during my trip.

    Response From:
    AXA Assistance USA
    AXA Assistance USA:
    Samantha
    Response Received:
    July 3, 2023

    Thank you for sharing your feedback, Carol. We're sorry to hear about the circumstances surrounding your claim submission. We take customer service and the claims review process very seriously. We're pleased to advise that your claim has been received, and our goal is to process claims within 30 days from the time that they're received, however, some cases can take longer to resolve. Please feel free to reach out to us at (800) 348-9505 or via email at claims@generalitravelinsurance.com with any additional questions or concerns.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    November 20, 2015
    John from KS Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I learned a hard lesson purchasing this travel insurance.

    Our very best friends daughter unexpectantly passed away. We REALLY did want to return for the funeral. However, our policy only allowed for immediate family members. I learned a hard lesson in not getting insurance effective for "Any Reason". If I recall correctly, the agent I dealt with did not question an "Any Reason" policy. Like I said, "Hard lesson learned".
    .

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    November 12, 2015
    Rebecca from IL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Very good overall experience. Price and service were both good and met my needs. I would recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    November 12, 2015
    JohnN, from FL Verified Squaremouth Customer

    After a 3+ hr delay on my initial Delta flight I missed my connection for my O'seas flight... But my baggage went so it got separated and bags were delayed 36 hrs in arriving at final destination (India)- AND with a camera missing out of it.
    Not having the receipt from when I bought it (it got lost in a move) resulted in my getting $269 after about 2 months- an overall frustrating experience with Delta but the AXA claims handling was fair considering depreciation & the premium cost $25.
    JohnN,

    Was this review helpful to you?

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Gold
    Review Received:
    November 12, 2015
    Ray from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Claim process was very short and form very user friendly as well as customer service assistance people very helpful .

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Silver
    Review Received:
    November 7, 2015
    MARCUS from SC Verified Squaremouth Customer

    It would be helpful to be able to contact AXA by email instead of phone. It's not always possible or convenient to make a phone call.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    0 out of 0 people found this review helpful