Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company
Overall Rating 4.01 out of 5
Overall Rating 4.01 out of 5 581 Reviews Since 2018

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    December 17, 2023
    John from VA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    My trip to Israel on November 28, 2023 was cancelled due to terrorist activity in cities on our itinerary from October 7 - November 28, 2023. Nationwide Mutual Insurance denied my claim and appeal stating they only cover terrorist acts within 30 days on the trip departure date and October 7 was more than 30 days from the trip departure date of November 28. I appealed the decision as there were other terrorist acts in Jerusalem and Tel Aviv (both cities on my itinerary) in the month of November. There was no further explanation from Nationwide for their denial of my appeal. We will be further appealing this most recent claim denial. If Nationwide had approved our initial claim and made the process smooth, we would have been loyal customers for life as we regularly travel overseas. However, now we will never purchase travel insurance from Nationwide and we will tell everyone our experience and recommend they do NOT use Nationwide for travel insurance.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 1 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    December 8, 2023
    Gayle from TX Verified Squaremouth Customer

    My trip was to Israel, and we purchased insurance to cover our trip. Ill never bother to purchase insurance again. War broke out in Israel, and we were too anxious to pit ourselves in danger of being kidnapped or killed. Insurance would not cover the cost of our trip, so we are out the approximately 4K each we paid. The rep at Nationwide told me that we had no choice but to go or lose the money.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    November 30, 2023
    darron from NJ Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Lost my JR rail pass, which was a travel document, by which they said they do not cover. Disappointing

    Was this review helpful to you?

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Cruise Choice
    Review Received:
    November 24, 2023
    Gary from OH Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Nationwide handled our trip interruption extremely well. The service provided by One Call international was thorough and we were treated well. Our claim after being flown home was handled professionally and to our satisfaction.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Cruise Luxury
    Review Received:
    November 23, 2023
    Linda from NY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Trip was cancelled due to war in the Middle East

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    November 20, 2023
    Luis from LA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I got the coverage I wanted at a reasonable price.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    November 20, 2023
    Elizabeth from NY Verified Squaremouth Customer

    During the purchase process the representative was very helpful explaining the terms. Luckily we did not need to use the policy and enjoyed our vacation. We would purchase this policy again in the future

    Was this review helpful to you?

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 5 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    November 19, 2023
    Charles from NC Verified Squaremouth Customer

    Very easy to set up an account. Although I could not go on the trip due to surgery I was able to get my money back. Thank you!

    Was this review helpful to you?

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 4 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    November 17, 2023
    Patricia from AZ Verified Squaremouth Customer

    I appreciate the ability to directly compare options on the square mouth website. Interacting with Nationwide was solely through the internet and email, which is a little impersonal, but I am tech savvy enough to use the methods. They did pay out our claim - it took about 6 weeks - so the bottom line is I am satisfied.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Rating 3 out of 5
    Policy:
    Essential
    Review Received:
    November 14, 2023
    Arthur from CA Verified Squaremouth Customer

    After purchasing policy was disappointed that i could not name my beneficiary.

    Was this review helpful to you?

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful